Do you like online Videos?
View or Add videos on Zerotohundred.com! It is also compatible with Most Video sites. Try it now! Click Videos |
 |
|
06-21-2006, 11:41 AM
|
|
350bhp Nitrous Member
|
How They Do That!
|
|
Wonder, Wira 1.6 Auto. This engine did not have o2 sensor for close loop. When tunning, they only allow to adjust the VR,variable resistor ( Lean or Rich ). My question is, how the stock ecu know that the a/f in range ( 14.7 ) ?
Those who drive on Toyota, SEG ( Malaysia ), also do not have o2 sensor. Only VR to adjust. How they do that ?
Any Si fu.......
Thank you.
|
|
|
06-21-2006, 04:18 PM
|
|
200bhp Stage II Member
|
No closed loop, no need loh.:regular_smile:
|
|
|
06-21-2006, 04:40 PM
|
|
1000bhp Senior
|
take a few of the same engine (perhaps hundreds or thousands). Run them on the same map and figure out the distribution. Alter fuel map to accomodate MOST of the motors, apply compensation for barometric pressure and temperature.
Keep ignition timing at a very conservative value so nothing blows up (and allowance for lower octane rating fuel)...
my 2sen, and how i would have done it xD
|
|
|
06-21-2006, 08:20 PM
|
|
600bhp Member
|
i think they have the CO instrument fitted to the exhaust when tuning the VR
|
|
|
06-22-2006, 06:38 PM
|
|
50bhp Junior
|
ecupro,
u the sifu la....
my poor 2 cents assumption....
factory obtains economy and power maps (assumed 2 maps) under testing conditions. hence there is a need to determine the point of switching between these two maps. i think the <TPS> and the <actual indicated airflow> would be the determining inputs. to ensure that the output is achieved, a gas analyzer would first need to be used to preset the CO output from the VR screw. i believe that only after presetting all base points, only can desired results be obtained. Just as we need to preset the ignition timing for the ecu by the strobe lamp for older generation cars before we can obtain optimum torque.
sorry if i am muttering nonsense :P
cheers.
|
|
|
06-23-2006, 09:57 AM
|
|
600bhp Member
|
co2 sensor??
|
|
|
06-23-2006, 10:20 AM
|
|
350bhp Nitrous Member
|
Well, to make this more wonder, like joeker say, stoich( 14.7 ) at idle, lean at cruising and rich at WOT.
My wonder will be, how the ecu know that you are cruising ( engine run on lean )!
How They Do That ?
|
|
|
06-23-2006, 10:34 AM
|
|
1000bhp Senior
|
if map based, then based on the load (pressure) seen. if afm based, well then based on the volume of air entering. Either that or tps based
|
|
|
06-23-2006, 11:15 AM
|
|
350bhp Nitrous Member
|
Bro, most ecu have loading feed back sensor (Map,Hot-Wire...Tps....)
In this case, only don't have o2 sensor.
When come to cruising, how the ecu know that you are cruising ? ( lean on engine ) How They Do That!
|
|
|
06-23-2006, 02:13 PM
|
|
50bhp Junior
|
sigh...
my assumption...(at per instance)
condition 1:
if tps=30%, airmass=30kg/h, ecu to output "lean map"
condition 2:
if tps=30%, airmass=20kg/h, ecu to output "rich map"
makes sense?
rgds
|
|
|
06-23-2006, 03:58 PM
|
|
350bhp Nitrous Member
|
Si Fu Brian, I think the air mass flow wrong lah.
If air mass flow more air, the volume should be more, right! ( 30kg/hr , and not 20kg/hr ), in this case, more fuel will be added.( Rich )
Correct me if i am wrong, Si fu Brian, where are you attach to ? Look time did not see you!
|
|
|
06-23-2006, 05:10 PM
|
|
50bhp Junior
|
correct me if i am wrong sifu leow...
if we are at crusing speed (lets assume TPS=30%), the airmass would always be at a fixed value (lets assume 30kg/hr, with maybe +/- 5% tolerance due to other external factors i.e air temp, baro press, coolant temp, etc).
if we jab the throttle instantaneously (lets assume TPS=30%), the airmass would not be 30kg/hr, not will it fall in the tolerance of +/- 5%. i might be wrong here to say airmass is less (at the instance), i am thinking that the sudden opening of the throttle valve decreases vacuum in the manifold. therefore airmass is less? Or maybe as long as the airmass measured has a great positive or negative difference from 30, then output is extra fuel?
but i am thinking again maybe the Wira 1.6 Auto is more straight forward. The VR just increases or decreases the multiplication factor for fuel. Therefore setting it correct at idle will have a high chance to produce close to 14,7 at light driving conditions.
i am working in KL now. sent u a short PM. yes long time no see. will contact u if i am heading up north to ipoh.
regards
|
|
|
06-23-2006, 06:46 PM
|
|
600bhp Member
|
Sifu..
The ecu knows the car is cruising from the sensors,vehicle speed,rpm and manifold pressure.If this 3 parameters is deviating not more than 5% or stays constant for a certain period of time,the ecu assumes the car is cruising and enter closed loop leans the mixture a bit.
If sudden throttle opening,accel enrichment comes in thats why it becomes rich for a certain period or time (or rpm) and decay after that.Then if the 3 parameters stabilize again,the cruising mode comes in..
The time in and time out determines how fast the ecu go into closed loop and start leaning the mixture during cruising.Thats why short trip increases fuel consumption .
correct me if i'm wrong
|
|
|
06-23-2006, 08:35 PM
|
|
700bhp Member
|
hm.. my engine doesnt have o2 sensor too.. turbo summore.. hahha :_:
|
My Signature |
|
Car stuffs for sale:
flickr.com/photos/gtti_max
zerotohundred.com/newforums/all-other-stuff/180844-wts-some-stuffs-for-sale.html
06-24-2006, 09:11 AM
|
|
350bhp Nitrous Member
|
cuscostrutbrace,
No bad at all, you are upgrade to Si Fu level.....ha..ha..ha
Time is very important factor.
|
|
|
06-27-2006, 09:30 AM