Zerotohundred.com    
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Engine Management / Monitoring

Tags
advises, managementneed, mivec, sifu

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2008, 12:57 AM   #41
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

1000bhp Senior

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Re: 1.8 mivec management?need advises from all sifu

aiyah, v-manage, e-damage, afc Neo Anderson...just wire up a standalone lah! hardcore. hehe.
Depends on what you're after lah. And don't forget the extra MIVEC stickers. Extra 5hp.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 10:21 AM   #42

50bhp Junior

After reading all post, I'm very keen to know how much money have you guys dump in your engine in order to achieve 160-200whp on 1.6 Mivec? Fuel Consumption wise? Mine is standard stock 1.6 blacktop Mivec. Currently running 410km max mileage and 360km minimum with 33litre full tank.

I'm planning to change my block to 93t very soon. How much money should i need to prepared and what engine management should i need to install? I heard ppl spent around 6-7k for 1.6 to 1.8 including changing their piston, cam, and rechipped ecu plus labour charge, new timing belt etcetc... iszit that expensive? How many whp will i get for above modification?

Thanks guys
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 10:29 AM   #43

600bhp Member

Reborn,

last saturday i went to 1 'kedai potong' at USJ...
i was asking for 4G93T 'enjin kosong' ( head + block only )...
u know how much the price?...rm3200 !!!
Old 01-29-2008, 11:58 AM   #44

50bhp Junior

Bro SRF,

Do we need 93t head parts for 1.8 mivec conversion? I thought we just need its block...correct me if i'm wrong. By the way for 93p putra or gti block is only rm5xx- rm6xx, labour charge hew hundred. I got quote rm1.5k by my frens mech for 1.6mivec - 1.8mivec conversion. (including belt + oil + etc) but then he didnt suggest me to upgrade my ecu... do you guys think that remaining OEM mivec ecu after 1.8 block changed will not damage the engine during high rev?
Old 01-29-2008, 01:38 PM   #45

400bhp Turbo Member

Send a message via MSN to deacon

I think if you already have a 1.6 mivec blacktop why not just bore it out and use 82mm pistons and then get a full piggy back or standalone. I'm sure you'll see similar gains.

Stock 93 pistons with mivec head and ecu should get you 155 whp.
Old 01-29-2008, 02:11 PM   #46

600bhp Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reborn View Post
Bro SRF,

Do we need 93t head parts for 1.8 mivec conversion? I thought we just need its block...correct me if i'm wrong. By the way for 93p putra or gti block is only rm5xx- rm6xx, labour charge hew hundred. I got quote rm1.5k by my frens mech for 1.6mivec - 1.8mivec conversion. (including belt + oil + etc) but then he didnt suggest me to upgrade my ecu... do you guys think that remaining OEM mivec ecu after 1.8 block changed will not damage the engine during high rev?
no need 93T head la when u want to mod to 1.8 mivec...
then if u want to use 93P block doesn't matter...but to me better get 93T engine block...it more tougher...

currently i'm using same conversation also...mivec head with 1.8 93NA japan engine block + flat 81 mm piston + OEM mivec ecu & wiring...already 3 years..
i'm very sure that my a/f ratio was too lean when over than 5k of the rpm...
but i'm not so worry coz i just driving my car like my old father...hehehehhe

u need to use piggy back or stand alone ecu if u want to get max power from your mod machine...
Old 01-29-2008, 02:17 PM   #47

50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by deacon View Post
I think if you already have a 1.6 mivec blacktop why not just bore it out and use 82mm pistons and then get a full piggy back or standalone. I'm sure you'll see similar gains.

Stock 93 pistons with mivec head and ecu should get you 155 whp.
Did you mean 93 standard piston? I thought heard from my mech that either remain the oem piston or buy a new oversize mivec piston would produce better result during 1.6 to 1.8 conversion? By the way what is the size of 93 standard piston?

Thanks man
Old 01-29-2008, 02:55 PM   #48

400bhp Turbo Member

Well there's always a danger of having too high a compression ratio for your conversion. Using mivec pistons in a mivec 1.8 hybrid may not be best for your engine. You might be looking at a 12:1 compression.

They say you can use 4g92p pistons which are domed but not as aggressive as mivec pistons.

As far as over sized pistons go... get them and you better make sure your mech does a damn good job boring out your engine walls.

Just be sure when you do perform a Mivec 1.8 conversion you aren't surprised that your peak HP only comes in at 7000rpm.
Old 01-29-2008, 02:58 PM   #49

50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRF Racing View Post
no need 93T head la when u want to mod to 1.8 mivec...
then if u want to use 93P block doesn't matter...but to me better get 93T engine block...it more tougher...

currently i'm using same conversation also...mivec head with 1.8 93NA japan engine block + flat 81 mm piston + OEM mivec ecu & wiring...already 3 years..
i'm very sure that my a/f ratio was too lean when over than 5k of the rpm...
but i'm not so worry coz i just driving my car like my old father...hehehehhe

u need to use piggy back or stand alone ecu if u want to get max power from your mod machine...
how is your fc bro? if drive like normal like 70% highway and 30% town and mayb open mivec few times in a week? Mind to share how many km can you achieve? Mine if damn heavy foot all time whenever i cruse only can achive 260only.....

but normal drive can go 410 the max. Very concern that the fc will go worst after modification so i need to do some survey b4 going to mod my engine
Old 01-29-2008, 03:19 PM   #50

50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by deacon View Post
Well there's always a danger of having too high a compression ratio for your conversion. Using mivec pistons in a mivec 1.8 hybrid may not be best for your engine. You might be looking at a 12:1 compression.

They say you can use 4g92p pistons which are domed but not as aggressive as mivec pistons.

As far as over sized pistons go... get them and you better make sure your mech does a damn good job boring out your engine walls.

Just be sure when you do perform a Mivec 1.8 conversion you aren't surprised that your peak HP only comes in at 7000rpm.
Thanks for the info man, will ask my mech make which piston more suit for 1.8 conversion. I've tested a putra 1.8 mivec. power kicks in after 5.5rpm. can feel some g-force when mivec kicks in.

According from your statement is it normal if hp only comes in at 7k rpm? When is the best rpm to shift gear for 1.8?
Old 01-29-2008, 03:24 PM   #51

1000bhp Senior

Trader Ratings: (1)

its still safe for a mivec piston to be used in a 1.8 Mivec, provided u dun skim ur cylinder head at all n dun use thin metal gaskets......yes compression might be abit high but still manageable.....did a compression test n its only approx. 240 per cylinder, the same as an 18CR compression which is 11.1 stock........have mine running on mivec piston for 2++ years wifout any problems n tuning was only by AFC+ITC.......now i've already sold it off for a year n the engine is still running pretty faultless.........just pay more attention to the ignition timing, its essential in a 1.8 Mivec......=)
Old 01-29-2008, 03:58 PM   #52

400bhp Turbo Member

Mmmm. That means its time for my mivec pistons!

7000 rpm is where peak hp occurs on most 1.8 mivecs, unless of course you have cams or some other mod.
Old 01-29-2008, 05:00 PM   #53

600bhp Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reborn View Post
how is your fc bro? if drive like normal like 70% highway and 30% town and mayb open mivec few times in a week? Mind to share how many km can you achieve? Mine if damn heavy foot all time whenever i cruse only can achive 260only.....

but normal drive can go 410 the max. Very concern that the fc will go worst after modification so i need to do some survey b4 going to mod my engine
for sure if i'm driving like my father of course mivec doesn't activate at all...gear shifting all under 3k rpm...hahahhahahahaa

i'm not sure la my mivec working or not coz sometimes doesn't hear anything like mivec open coz i'm using std exhaust muffler...low profile maa...hahahahaha....even mivec sticker also nothing at my car body

fuel consumption was better than std 1.8 4G93...for normal driving in town i can go up to 450km with 45 litres of fuel...

Last edited by SRF Racing; 01-29-2008 at 05:03 PM.
Old 01-29-2008, 08:08 PM   #54
Send PM    Add to friends