Zerotohundred.com    
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Engine Management / Monitoring

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2007, 12:05 PM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Stock

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default e manage tuner for 4AG wif AE101 4 throtle

hi all sifu out there,im looking for a turner/work shop that can turn e manage in 4AG (N/A) wif AE101 4 throtle....what i face problem now is im using standard ecu wif AFC.....but my machanic cant or dont knw hoe to turn it....so...d performance now are worse then kancil 660 turbo....OMG...anyone can help me....plz...n thx..
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 11:18 PM   #2

50bhp Junior

Default links mutiara

Buddy, take it to Links Mutiara, N1, or any of the dyno tune places to fix it up properly.
Old 07-12-2007, 12:23 PM   #3

1000bhp Senior

Send a message via MSN to e39a

4AGE-16v with 101 throttle and SAFC.....IMHO, SAFC is not suitable to tune...u need an ECU which can change the complete mapping....
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 01:20 PM   #4

5bhp Stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by foolat View Post
Buddy, take it to Links Mutiara, N1, or any of the dyno tune places to fix it up properly.
are u wif mutiara or any shop u list..?...no la....all this name i think we all know....but im not that rich to go to pro shop like this....my engine only 4AG only in a ....more then 20 years old car...hehehe...so...i need any cheap cheap turn can help me....i dont care if tis turner are work under the three n not famous...as long as he can do a good job...anyway...thx for ur infor.
Old 07-12-2007, 09:38 PM   #5

1000bhp Senior

u've made a mistake in plonking a 4 throttle onto the 16v. This mod
require a fully remapped ecu to match the 4 Throttle intakes. It is
an expensive mod to get it fully working. U need to spend money on
a programmable ecu, 4 throttle intake manifold adapter, the 4 throttle
itself plus tuning... & after all the mod & tuning, u'll be passed by a
stock 16v 4age with a pair of 264s... lol....
Old 07-13-2007, 02:25 AM   #6

150bhp Tuned Member

i know a tuner that don have any dyno or shop......he tune my car before..his fren all drive toyota..... the tune fee i don know...but last time he tune for my car for 4 hours then charge me 300.....nice guy......he will recommand wat u need to do also....
Old 07-13-2007, 12:59 PM   #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by sexycar View Post
There is some truth to sexy's post.

4 thrortle mod need lot of other items to make power.

Just 4 throttle and piggyback will not enough.

And I think e-manage has no affect on 4AGE 16V ECU. Last time had a fren using e-manage on his KE with 4AGE and he said it was useless

According to him, emanage intercepts signal from engine sensors to ECU.

The problem is 4AGE ECU is not "fooled" by e-manage input, the 4AGE goes back to stock maps regardless of the e-amange inputs/settings.

Whereas SAFC intercepts the signals from the ECU. ECU signal is altered by SAFC and then despatched to the injectors.

Also with 4 thorrtle, MAP & MAF mapping is useless (maybe except for iddling in case of street cars). Will rely mainly on RPM vs. TPS

Last edited by Joeker; 07-13-2007 at 01:09 PM.
Old 07-13-2007, 01:03 PM   #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by heefmy View Post
i know a tuner that don have any dyno or shop......he tune my car before..his fren all drive toyota..... the tune fee i don know...but last time he tune for my car for 4 hours then charge me 300.....nice guy......he will recommand wat u need to do also....
4 hours just for tuning? why did you fren need so long to tune?

If dyno tune, maybe need a hour or so because cool down need to prevent heat saturation.

But road tune is much easier and faster (also more precise)
Old 07-14-2007, 10:55 AM   #9

1000bhp Senior

gold_teeth,

Read the article below, taken from club4ag.com. I really think this mod is
the worst cost to performance mod. I've never seen a 16v with 4 throttle
that has the stable idling of the original 16v. Even a 20v engine doesnt
have the stable idling & smoothness of the 16v.

Individual Throttle Body - 20V 4-throttle on 16V 4A-GE

Another popular topic these days is adapting the individual throttles from the 20V onto the 16V..."Can this be done?" You bet! But there are many obstacles which may hinder your attempt and here's some of them. NO! you will not be able to use the 16V ECU to run the throttle as fuel map requirements are vastly different for the 20'v throttle unit. The lower rpm ranges require much less fuel while in the upper ranges the throttle needs significantly more fuel. Since the whole idea of making precise fuel maps are the key to making the difficult and sensitive 4 throttle to work well, it is not a matter of backyard tuning by simply shifting AFM or Vacuum Sensor signals or shuffling fuel pressures. You must almost always use an aftermarket or re-computed ECU get anywhere near the operation you need...even to match the original spec of the single throttle you tossed in the garbage. Second, since the 20V's idle is controlled not by the TPS and the throttle body, but rather a secondary port called ISCV which leaks idle air in a controlled manner aft of the fully closed throttles. Since the 16V engines never had this, you have to figure out a way to devise a similar tactics through your own ingenious method. The throttle in any case must be fully closed to get idle mixture control on. The manifold will not bolt on to the 16V's intake so an adapter should be used or fabricated. Overall, not many of the private shops have successfully made such setups perform better than what can easily be done with the single throttle, even though almost all of them have succeeded in getting a car to run decently. That said, there are a handful of shops that did make things work wonderfully (all in Japan that I have seen) with the 20V throttle mechanism and kits are available. Be cautioned that they are NOT cheap and greatly exceeds the cost of swapping the entire 20V instead, because it will require a fully programmable ECU and their research results in the form of software. For many of us, a set of side draft carburetor will be a more effective and much cheaper option than grafting the individual throttles on the 16V.
Old 07-14-2007, 01:26 PM   #10

5bhp Stock

MMMM....thank you all sifu out there....i really regrat what i have did....the mod has put me in alot of trouble n wast alots of $$$...i think i shot swift back to standard intake...how about if i used the standard intake ...is e-manage help to improve anything...coz i already buy a e-manage...so dont want to wast it just keep in or sell of...any private turner can help..?
Old 07-14-2007, 11:11 PM   #11

1000bhp Senior

I got a good suggestion for you. Sell your e-manage.
Old 07-16-2007, 01:00 AM   #12

50bhp Junior

Send a message via ICQ to awitgg Send a message via Yahoo to awitgg

hi,

dont do anything yet, maybe u can go to this shop in SIJANGKANG, KLANG. there is one WORKshop near Mobil gas station called FINE TUNE. ask for owner named Anuar. he is very good w/ toyota especially this kind of 20v and similar and the fee is reasonable.

cheers!
Old 09-30-2007, 09:14 PM   #13

600bhp Member

Default Re: e manage tuner for 4AG wif AE101 4 throtle

Quote:
Originally Posted by sexycar View Post
My mechanic have been doing a few 16v with 4 throttle,all use standard ecu with no issues.In term of performance,slightly better at top end,drivability like stock,idles ok.But if really want to extract more,then have to play with the ecu(piggy or standalone).To say that 4 throttle cannot work with 16v stock ecu,i would say that's not true.
Old 11-20-2007, 02:01 PM   #14

900bhp Member