Zerotohundred.com    
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Engine Management / Monitoring

Tags
coil, plug, problem

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2007, 11:35 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

2000bhp Senior

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Plug Coil Problem

Dear All,
Hope that someone can assist me on this as my car is using independent plug coil (coil on each plug). The problem is when ever i start to accelerate the plug coil will explode no matter how many boost I have set (even 0.5bar also the same). I have change 2sets of coil as I though is the coil problem but currently I am using new coil yet still the same problem.. Is it the ECU problem whom cause all this kind of thing?
I have start to headache hope some can assist me on my problem as keep on like this my poket will koyak oh. :retarded:
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 01:34 PM   #2

350bhp Nitrous Member

mag9556,
Bro, you did not mention what engine or car you are using.
Is it stock ecu.
For your story, you are driving Toyota Vios or Myvi which is upgrade to bolt on turbo.
If yes, i also think that you are using piggy pack euc like e-management, "The Blue" or may be others brand.
If yes, i thing to much charge ( ms ) or dwell ( angle ) on the ignitor which is buit inside the coil.
Because to much of charge, the "heat" will destroy the igitor.
Just reduce the charge to normal.

Good Luck.
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 02:57 PM   #3

2000bhp Senior

:mouth_closed: actually i just brought the car.. hehe..
its rb20turbo... in cefiro a31...:_:
totally stock as engine just put in...

Last edited by mag9556; 02-09-2007 at 03:07 PM.
Old 02-09-2007, 03:37 PM   #4

350bhp Nitrous Member

mag9556,
Oh..oh....Sorry to inform you....Yes, i heard a lot of complain on this model,RB20T.
Yes, it burn the coil and not the ignitor.
So, i have to ask some Si Fu for this, see got any help there.

Good Luck.
Old 02-09-2007, 06:28 PM   #5

2000bhp Senior

awaiting for your soonest reply with thousand thanks...
Old 02-09-2007, 08:00 PM   #6

2000bhp Senior

Send a message via MSN to lan evo

make sure your spark plug and plug cable is in good condition.problem from the spark plug and plug cable will spoil a good coil

another thing is earthing,earth the valve cover or near the coil area
Old 02-10-2007, 09:21 AM   #7

2000bhp Senior

Bro,
Thanks a lot will try to do it and revert the outcome...
ah.. this time my rb is safe..
Old 02-13-2007, 03:44 PM   #8

2000bhp Senior

Bro evo,
I have tried to change to coil and plug as well as check the plug cable but the sad things is the problem still the same..hehe..
Dun know wht to do and start mad liao set the boost to 1.2bar..
1.2bar ok aready but when at 0.4 to 0.5 bar car slightly jerk a bit after that very power oh!!

Bro ECU,
Can this be the ECU problem ah? please advice?

Hope that anyone whom face this b4 can advice me..
hehe..
Old 02-13-2007, 03:58 PM   #9

350bhp Nitrous Member

mag9556,
Bro, i wonder which RB20T you have now!
You mention on "plug cable", i think the spark coils is plug on top of ecch cylinder.( of cause, plug on the spark plug ).

If this engine have plug cable, that mean you have "old" RB20T, right ?

Please confirm.

Good Luck.
Old 02-13-2007, 04:02 PM   #10

2000bhp Senior

hehe.. sorry ya.. not cable but wire only...
it is independent coil on each plug means the engine got 6coil..
but the wire still ok..

Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Engine Management / Monitoring