Zerotohundred.com    
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Tech: Engine Management / Monitoring

Tags
change, ecu, plss

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2007, 08:27 PM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Stock

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Help plss.. just change ecu..

I just changed my Ford lynx 1.6 manual ecu.. and got a mazda ecu from chop shop.. what i noticed after changed the ecu.. timing a bit lariii.. sometime almost down to 0 ... and my car pickup also not so good... when i changed gear .. example from 4 to 5.. eventhough i already press all down the paddle.. still like cannot go to high speed... but after for a while then ok ... if not like (tersenggut-senggut)... is this the effect after changing ecu? What sholud i do...

Otaimers.. plss advise..
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 08:42 PM   #2

2000bhp Senior

Send a message via ICQ to b00n Send a message via MSN to b00n Send a message via Yahoo to b00n

why did u change ecu in the first place? mine was exactly the opposite. got problem than i change. took 4 ecu to test it out. found the right one and plug it in. so far no major problem after a year. only thing is felt that the ecu is no reading correct fuel ratio as fc is higher. btw, am driving a lantis 1.8! things from chop shop cant guarante one. sometimes depends on luck. try drive to authorised ford workshop and ask them to check it out. good luck!
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 09:07 PM   #3

5bhp Stock

i changed my ecu because already kong.. my car cannot start.... so got one from chop shop and can start... do i need to test another ecu.. or can go to Ford service centre to check and retune? Or any good workshop to go?

Last edited by wan_grunge; 02-05-2007 at 09:38 PM.
Old 02-05-2007, 10:02 PM   #4

2000bhp Senior

Send a message via ICQ to b00n Send a message via MSN to b00n Send a message via Yahoo to b00n

i think recommended to go to a ford workshop cos they would have the neccesary tools...
when I got mine; got 4 sets. Asked a friend to help me loan back. 2 doesn't match the socket. 1 got 1 socket pin spoilt. Luckily the last one matches and can start....so I stuck with it.
Haven't went to C&C (authorised Mazda workshop) to re-tune yet...
Old 02-06-2007, 09:21 AM   #5

5bhp Stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by b00n View Post
i think recommended to go to a ford workshop cos they would have the neccesary tools...
when I got mine; got 4 sets. Asked a friend to help me loan back. 2 doesn't match the socket. 1 got 1 socket pin spoilt. Luckily the last one matches and can start....so I stuck with it.
Haven't went to C&C (authorised Mazda workshop) to re-tune yet...
what do you mean doesn't match the socket... do you mean the cable cannot fit? The ecu that you tested and got 1 socket pin spoilt... can you start your car with that one?
Old 02-06-2007, 10:15 AM   #6

2000bhp Senior

becaue mazda 1.6 and 1.8 has different ECU. 2 is for 1.6 so cannot match the socket as it's totally different.
Another 2 is for 1.8 cos has the same socket. But 1 spoilt already the pins. So never tested that 1.
Plugged in the other one; the car start...test drive can drive; so pay and took that one lor.
Cost me RM900. DAMN!.....but like I said before, FC is high after that...wonder whether or not is because of the ECU. Thinking of installing e-manage. Don't know whether or not it would help.
Old 02-06-2007, 01:26 PM   #7

5bhp Stock

Thanks boon... i will try to send to Ford SC to tune the ecu...... what actually is e manage?
Old 02-06-2007, 01:56 PM   #8

2000bhp Senior

E-manage is an engine management product by GReddy.
It helps to tweak the ECU's fuel mapping and stuffs to give optimum A/F ratio to produce torque and BHP increase at appropriate timming.
If you search around this forums you'll find a lot regarding e-manage.
Old 02-06-2007, 03:48 PM   #9

5bhp Stock

thanx boon... now i know a new thing ... :shades_smile:
Old 02-07-2007, 07:33 AM   #10

Send a message via Yahoo to jinkl

wan grunge , i doubt u can tune the ecu , is it chipable ? even can its gonna cost a bomb, emanage would be a better choice
Old 02-07-2007, 09:12 AM   #11

2000bhp Senior

i don't know how they're going to tweak ECU and stuffs....
but at least in "big" workshop they could do proper testing to see whether or not the ECU is working.
maybe some minor tuning or resetting. No idea.
But i never went....tooo lazy..hahaha
Old 02-07-2007, 11:19 AM   #12

g88
3000bhp Senior

mostly they can reset since most of the ECU is not programmable
Old 02-07-2007, 04:52 PM   #13

5bhp Stock

yes.. i gone to FORD SC.. and they reset the ecu .... but still same problem.. they suspect air flow sensor prob.. so maybe have to change i piece of that ...:confused_smile:
Old 02-08-2007, 08:19 AM   #14

g88
3000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by wan_grunge View Post
yes.. i gone to FORD SC.. and they reset the ecu .... but still same problem.. they suspect air flow sensor prob.. so maybe have to change i piece of that ...:confused_smile:
Like i told you, ECU can be use doesn't mean everything 100% compatible...

Good luck to you la.
Old 02-08-2007, 09:16 AM   #15