Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufaturers > Subaru

Tags
4wd, awd, diffrent, fanswhat, subaru

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2006, 12:27 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Stock

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Subaru Fans..(what Diffrent 'awd' & '4wd'?)

DEAR BRO'S SUBARU FANS, OWNER, IMPREZA, STI, SIFUS

I HAVE QUESTION HERE.
WHAT IS DIFFRENT THE 'AWD' (ALL WHEEL DRIVE) & 4WD (FOUR WHEEL DRIVE)?

DEEPLY THANKS FOR YOUR REPLY ME :cry_smile:
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 01:20 AM   #2

5bhp Stock

i dont think there is a difference
Old 02-11-2006, 01:31 AM   #3

150bhp Tuned Member

I think AWD is just the term commonly used by Subaru... there's no difference between that and 4WD... the engine is powering all wheels..
Old 02-13-2006, 12:39 AM   #4

5bhp Stock

hello guys, i think dunno izzit true or not
the 'AWD' & '4WD' is still difference, some people said the 4WD will function when was 60kmph or ....., (izzit EVO),
Old 02-13-2006, 02:37 PM   #5

50bhp Junior

Subaru's AWD is permanently on 50front/50rear at all speeds, except for WRX STi, where you can change the torque split on the move between 50front/50rear to 35front/65rear.

Most passenger cars meant for slippery tarmac or dirt / gravel track use (WRC conditions) like the Impreza, Evo, Audi Quattro, etc. will use AWD systems. Most "real" offroad cars like Landrover Defender, Toyota Landcruiser, Mitsubishi Pajero, etc. will use 4WD systems.

The main difference is in the type of differentials used. The differential system transfers torque to the wheels which are not slipping, relative to each other. In real offroading situations, you will need differentials which can fully "lock" the torque to be transmitted to the non-slipping wheels, meaning, if one wheel is slipping, then 100% of the torque goes to the other 3 wheels. You can see this in operation during serious very slow speed 'camel trophy' situations in the jungle. Most manufacturers call these systems 4WD.

In WRC-like conditions, the cars will be racing on tarmac, dirt or gravel tracks or snow, which is still very fast, but very rough or slippery. These kind of situations dont need differentials which can fully "lock" the torque, but is actually faster for the car to shift only part of the power from wheel to wheel as required. Most manufacturers call these systems AWD.

For example, the WRX STi has 3 viscous coupling differentials (front, centre and rear) which does exactly that.
Old 02-13-2006, 11:35 PM   #6

5bhp Stock

thanks alot wetsprocket for information.

however i have one more question which one is better performance off road 'AWD' or 4WD?
Old 02-14-2006, 12:54 AM   #7

50bhp Junior

Depends on what kind of 'offroad'.

If Camel Trophy type offroad - very slow, very rough, going through jungles and mud, etc., then 4WD better.

If WRC rally type offroad - very fast, gravel track, wet tarmac, snow, etc., then AWD better.
Old 02-14-2006, 07:22 PM   #8

5bhp Stock

thanks again wetsprocket for imformation

my friends here he brought new subaru car asking me...
where i can find subaru workshop?(not include Dataran AWD)
for the check wheel alignment n services
Old 02-15-2006, 01:40 AM   #9

600bhp Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenlee27
thanks again wetsprocket for imformation

my friends here he brought new subaru car asking me...
where i can find subaru workshop?(not include Dataran AWD)
for the check wheel alignment n services
Please visit mysubaruclub.com for more info
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 04:22 AM   #10

350bhp Nitrous Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by wetsprocket
Subaru's AWD is permanently on 50front/50rear at all speeds, except for WRX STi, where you can change the torque split on the move between 50front/50rear to 35front/65rear.

Most passenger cars meant for slippery tarmac or dirt / gravel track use (WRC conditions) like the Impreza, Evo, Audi Quattro, etc. will use AWD systems. Most "real" offroad cars like Landrover Defender, Toyota Landcruiser, Mitsubishi Pajero, etc. will use 4WD systems.

The main difference is in the type of differentials used. The differential system transfers torque to the wheels which are not slipping, relative to each other. In real offroading situations, you will need differentials which can fully "lock" the torque to be transmitted to the non-slipping wheels, meaning, if one wheel is slipping, then 100% of the torque goes to the other 3 wheels. You can see this in operation during serious very slow speed 'camel trophy' situations in the jungle. Most manufacturers call these systems 4WD.

In WRC-like conditions, the cars will be racing on tarmac, dirt or gravel tracks or snow, which is still very fast, but very rough or slippery. These kind of situations dont need differentials which can fully "lock" the torque, but is actually faster for the car to shift only part of the power from wheel to wheel as required. Most manufacturers call these systems AWD.

For example, the WRX STi has 3 viscous coupling differentials (front, centre and rear) which does exactly that.
excellent explaination. thanks dude.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote

Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufaturers > Subaru