Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufaturers > Subaru

Tags
expensive, maintain, subaru

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2005, 09:46 PM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

400bhp Turbo Member

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Subaru expensive to maintain....

i always dream of driving a subaru. for my kinda lifestyle and the income i earn, i can afford to buy a subaru version 2 second hand. but i always have the fear of

difficult to finding spare parts
price for spare parts is expensive
petrol consumtion is high
resale value

with all this kinda fears, am i better off sticking to my current toyota corolla AE100 (4age) instead?. i hope someone here can let me know how is it like to own and maintain a subaru. i hope i can get a honest answer instead from the sales guy who is trying to sell his subaru off (everything also ok... spare parts easy, cheap low consumtion).

Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 04:44 PM   #2

150bhp Tuned Member

Send a message via MSN to Andy Ng

read this thread first for some feelers, then you can comment further...

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforu...ad.php?t=39609

The subaru is not really expensive to maintain...but if compared to any NA car, it will be more expensive...petrol is the main reason...other than that, use only synthetic oils, and the rest just change according to schedule.

parts are a bit on the expensive side, yet still cheaper than evo. but yo hardly need to change parts...they really last...timing belt is safe to 80000km, some use to 100000km...i haven't heard a single case of a broken timing belt. the belt bearings and tensioners and water pump also can last a long time...basically, the car is hardy...

finding parts can be a problem if you don;t know where to find...but i myself have got no problems with this. if you frequent singapore, then buy there...cheaper.

resale value...very stable if direct transaction from seller to buyer...the ver2 have like hit rock bottom in prices and are maintaining it's value because of the GC8's cult status...

just expect to pay more to maintain a turbo car compared to an NA car...

you so happen to be someone who hangs out at Taipan Syed Ariff mamak on Friday nights?

BTW, i drive a ver2...
Old 10-28-2005, 06:03 PM   #3

400bhp Turbo Member

nope.. i guess i won't be hanging out there tonight. bit tired after a long days work. but i appreciate your information andy. it's really tempting to buy the subaru especially when i have the money in hand.

i guess i won't be buying it afterall.. maybe i was abit excited for a while.. but when i think about it, i better save the money for a house. my gf is pressuring me to buy one or else i might lose her. so... i think i will choose the house rather then the car. ..... how i wish i was born rich.
Old 10-28-2005, 10:18 PM   #4

1000bhp Senior

parts are readily available in Singapore...

its requires some attention but is not as lehcheh as you think..

For me, my gc8 petrol bill is cheaper, compared to my honda prelude which drinks petrol like hell...
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2005, 09:02 AM   #5

150bhp Tuned Member

lose the girlfriend, get a small house, and buy the subaru...

Petrol - RM70 gets me about 350km

and a subaru gets u a feeling like no other car...i swear i will buy a subaru turbo car for my next car...i cannot imagine myself buying another brand as my "driving" car anymore...
Old 10-30-2005, 01:36 AM   #6

1000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Ng

and a subaru gets u a feeling like no other car...i swear i will buy a subaru turbo car for my next car...i cannot imagine myself buying another brand as my "driving" car anymore...

subaru hardcore fan...
hahaha...
yes, me too....
i love my subaru...
Old 10-30-2005, 04:23 AM   #7

300bhp Nitrous Member

hmm piggybacked and properly tuned scooby will be less hungry isnt it?
i heard the stock scooby is running a little rich, is it?
Old 10-30-2005, 01:41 PM   #8

150bhp Tuned Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by kinki_kidz®
hmm piggybacked and properly tuned scooby will be less hungry isnt it?
i heard the stock scooby is running a little rich, is it?
running rich is better than running lean...too rich at most will foul up combustion chamber with carbon...too lean will just blow up the engine...

one word of caution...when tuning, a little rich is safer...especially when driving hard, need the extra fuel to cool down the combustion chamber...

so run it slightly towards rich from the optimum mixture...

stock ecu on almost any car will run a little rich to make it safe for the engine in case of extreme conditions like heavy load, bad petrol, hard driving, etc...
Old 10-30-2005, 05:33 PM   #9

900bhp Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Ng

wakakak thats rite..MAYBE u can get more than 1 gf if u drive subaru leh.....
Old 11-02-2005, 02:16 AM   #10

Marketplace Merchants

Trader Ratings: (5)

Send a message via MSN to huakenny

not so expensive to maintain actualy....

use it so far...nothing big problem occur..hope wont hapen la for sure....

Petrol not tat expensive if u less whack....if compare to my fren car.....my car is saver petrol than him..but his driving patern is difer wit mine la..i drive slow slow only..hehe
Old 11-02-2005, 03:00 AM   #11

500bhp Stage 3 Member

i heard many people say Sti fc is better than Evo fc although both is 2.0 turbo and Sti wont so lag than Evo
Old 11-02-2005, 03:08 AM   #12

Marketplace Merchants

Trader Ratings: (5)

Send a message via MSN to huakenny

Quote:
Originally Posted by WBH8668
i heard many people say Sti fc is better than Evo fc although both is 2.0 turbo and Sti wont so lag than Evo
if stock, both r bout the same la...not tat huge different....

these two model oso take into comparison but who is the winner is hard to judge la....
Old 11-02-2005, 09:16 AM   #13

400bhp Turbo Member

ok i dump my gf now. wait i call her. .... no reply. :(

another day lah i tell her. :P
Old 11-03-2005, 05:30 PM   #14

50bhp Junior