LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2005, 05:15 PM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Stock

Trader Ratings: (0)

Send a message via MSN to 0339975 Send a message via Yahoo to 0339975

Default driving emotions

hi all scooby owners,
new here.kinda interested in turbocharged flat 4 engine.
-how's the handling of the car?usual complain mostly about the torque steer.is it true?is it tend to understeer when entering corners?
-the fuel consumption?equall or much more better than mitsu's evolutions?
-any turbo lag experienced?
-special features to be compare to its competitor?
-BOV recommended?recirculated or not?
-which is ur choice?top mount i/c upgrade or front mount i/c?i heard in order to fit the front mount it involves some mad carving off the bumper.is it true?

thanx 4 the help...
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 01:02 PM   #2

Marketplace Merchants

Trader Ratings: (5)

Send a message via MSN to huakenny

if u like subaru...go n get one....then be a member of subaruclub...then sifu sifu there wil teach u wat to do....ehaheheh

basically....subaru n mitsubishi almost d same in performance.....but subaru ekzos sound bubble lo.....unique
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 10:10 PM   #3

5bhp Stock

it's not that easy lar....i need to know as much as i can first b4 i get one.....those info i got might help me knowing the car n cope with my driving style n wat so ever......neway thanx 4 the quick reply dude...
Old 07-08-2005, 12:05 AM   #4

Marketplace Merchants

Trader Ratings: (5)

Send a message via MSN to huakenny

bro...login to www.mysubaruclub.com so tat u can understand more bout subaru...anyway...im driving subaru oso but old version la....regards
Old 07-08-2005, 01:41 AM   #5

50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0339975
-how's the handling of the car?usual complain mostly about the torque steer.is it true?is it tend to understeer when entering corners?
Are you asking about the Impreza or Forester or Legacy? Different handling characteristics for each. Anyway, the Impreza has fantastic grip, but will still understeer if you enter a corner too fast. The Impreza requires slow in, fast out. However, compared to FF, you can floor the throttle much earlier when exiting the corner, and thus much faster exit speeds. BTW, I've never experienced torque steer with the Impreza. Maybe becoz of the AWD.

Quote:
-the fuel consumption?equall or much more better than mitsu's evolutions?
All depends on the driver. If you were to drive equally in either car, then consumption should be the same.

Quote:
-any turbo lag experienced?
Compared to the Evo, v.7 STi has greater lag. However, v.8 STi has reduced the lag with a twin scroll turbo. hardly any lag now.

Quote:
-special features to be compare to its competitor?
nothing can compare to the scooby's boxer engine music. However note that v.8 STi with equal length headers has greatly reduced the boxer sound.

Quote:
-BOV recommended?recirculated or not?
For the evo, the first mods people usually do are BOV and intake. However, the STi has a far more sensitive MAF sensor. Therefore if you want to put BOV or change the intake, you'd need to have some sort of engine management, like piggy back ECU or re-map of stock ECU, if not, you'll screw up your idling and boost. For STi, BOV is not recommended for first mod, because the stock recirc valve is already enough up to 400hp or more.

Quote:
-which is ur choice?top mount i/c upgrade or front mount i/c?i heard in order to fit the front mount it involves some mad carving off the bumper.is it true?
Because FMIC will increase lag, I would only change the TMIC if I want to go above 350hp. And yes, to fit FMIC, you'd need to modify the front bumper beam. But not difficult.
Old 07-08-2005, 03:30 PM   #6

5bhp Stock

dude...thanx a lot.that would answer most of my questions effectively....thanx again...now i'm more interested in buying a scooby.....bout the BOV on evo,i've tested,i seem to have a little lag too when changed to aftermarket bov(i tested hks ssqv).it coz the air is not recirculated back to turbine,hence when shifting gears/releasing throttle,the turbbine takes 1/2 second of time than stock.i guess the effect would be the same on subaru as well.boxer sound sure is tempting aite?thanx alot bro....
Old 07-09-2005, 03:29 AM   #7

1000bhp Senior

hahha...

now interested to join the scooby club??
Old 07-10-2005, 02:58 AM   #8

5bhp Stock

sure does.....i might learn something there......
Old 07-11-2005, 09:29 AM   #9

150bhp Tuned Member

Send a message via MSN to Andy Ng

if you are looking for a wrx...means there are only 2 choices in your mind...Subaru Impreza WRX (or +STi), or Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

best of all worlds...4 door family saloon format, with a practical boot and passenger space, with superb safety of AWD traction, and a good chassis, and heart stopping performance of a 2 litre turbo charged engine with 220-280bhp depending on model...with the stock WRX S203 topping it at 320bhp...

choice will be made as a matter of preference and taste...

Mitsu engine is a more common layout engine...straight 4 cylinder, while the subaru has the unique flat-4 boxer engine. Mitsu's common engine is easier to find people who can maintain it. Parts are more common in Malaysia. Subaru parts are more common in Singapore, and also cheaper than evo parts there...and i think it is cheaper per bhp mod for the mitsu...

design wise...matter of taste...if i'm not mistaken, the evo is more spacious, while the subaru is more comfy and better trim quality.

Subaru has been much more successful in WRC in recent years, and while mitsu has been going thru major financial problem of late...i think this is resulting in Japanese owners losing their taste for mistu and so there is a current glut of evo7-8 in Malaysia...

Subaru also less units in the market, and much more sought after overseas, esp in Japan, UK, Europe and Australia...JDM market share, Subaru is ahead...ask any petrolhead who has been to Japan recently...

as a result of subaru's "exclusivity", resale value seems to hold well...especially the old GC8 and the current "cock-eye" headlights model...the bugeye seems to lose value faster due to the fact that many find the bug-eye look unappealing...

and then there is the world famous BOXER RUMBLE exhaust note of the subaru...the most significant identity of the subaru...but the newer models with twin scroll turbine has lost its boxer sound...resulting in a gain in performance...

i choose a subaru...and i already own one, although an old GC8...

Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufaturers > Subaru