Campro head skimming - Zerotohundred.com


Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Discussions > Car Problems


Reply
 
Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2012, 02:53 PM   #1
misai
5bhp Stock
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
Liked: 0 / 0 Posts
Default Campro head skimming

NEED INFO...consequence after skimming head n block....thank in advance.......
misai is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-03-2012, 02:58 PM   #2
Kagerosan
50bhp Junior
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 58
Likes: 1
Liked: 12 / 7 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

kebabom
Kagerosan is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-03-2012, 03:36 PM   #3
DanzEterna
Moderator
 
DanzEterna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PJ
Posts: 15,678
Likes: 2,086
Liked: 3,350 / 2,052 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

dont skimm for fun...unless yr head bengkok..
DanzEterna is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-03-2012, 03:38 PM   #4
jackisblack
Senior Member
 
jackisblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kuala lumpur
Posts: 404
Likes: 0
Liked: 4 / 4 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

campro engine head cannot be skimmed...the idle will 'lari'...if u already done it,u MUST use good quality metal gasket that thicker than the original gasket..cannot use carbon gasket again..
jackisblack is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-03-2012, 04:27 PM   #5
papagoines
Orang Tua
 
papagoines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rawang/Selangor
Posts: 2,054
Likes: 592
Liked: 375 / 246 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackisblack View Post
campro engine head cannot be skimmed...the idle will 'lari'...if u already done it,u MUST use good quality metal gasket that thicker than the original gasket..cannot use carbon gasket again..
Agreed... that the advice the Proton SC gave to my sis when her persona engine overheat.. they quote rm3k for the whole head assembly + rm260 labor charge
__________________
My rides

Perodua Kancil EZi 850cc - 2003
Converted to 660cc 4cyl Turbo from Mira L502

Proton Saga FLX SV 1300cc - 2014
Still stock standard

Modenas Kriss MR1 100cc - 2015
Still stock standard

Last edited by papagoines; 04-03-2012 at 04:28 PM. Reason: add a few more info
papagoines is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-03-2012, 04:45 PM   #6
jackisblack
Senior Member
 
jackisblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kuala lumpur
Posts: 404
Likes: 0
Liked: 4 / 4 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

whoaaa...rm3k aa..
jackisblack is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-03-2012, 09:34 PM   #7
punk
300bhp Nitrous Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Negeri Sembilan
Posts: 333
Likes: 83
Liked: 74 / 44 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackisblack View Post
campro engine head cannot be skimmed...the idle will 'lari'...if u already done it,u MUST use good quality metal gasket that thicker than the original gasket..cannot use carbon gasket again..
how to know the correct thickness of gasket after we skim it...
Let say i gonna diy top overhaul, in market only two type which is carbon(ori) and metal gasket rite..
The thickness of the gasket got many measurement sold?
punk is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-03-2012, 09:57 PM   #8
nyantong
Senior Member
 
nyantong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 194
Likes: 21
Liked: 50 / 39 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

The idling probably has to be readjusted with Proton's factory diagnostic. Its available at Proton Service centres.
nyantong is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-04-2012, 03:32 PM   #9
misai
5bhp Stock
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
Liked: 0 / 0 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

Quote:
Originally Posted by papagoines View Post
Agreed... that the advice the Proton SC gave to my sis when her persona engine overheat.. they quote rm3k for the whole head assembly + rm260 labor charge
3K...whoaaa....3k = dismantling plus change new head?

---------- Post added at 03:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:15 PM ----------

is there any effect by doing this?
let say head and block already skim...
how about engine temp?
should i remove the sensor?
misai is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-04-2012, 06:21 PM   #10
punk
300bhp Nitrous Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Negeri Sembilan
Posts: 333
Likes: 83
Liked: 74 / 44 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

Quote:
Originally Posted by misai View Post
3K...whoaaa....3k = dismantling plus change new head?

---------- Post added at 03:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:15 PM ----------

is there any effect by doing this?
let say head and block already skim...
how about engine temp?
should i remove the sensor?
should be no problem la bro,
as they mention using thicker good quality metal gasket after skim...
punk is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-04-2012, 07:12 PM   #11
misai
5bhp Stock
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
Liked: 0 / 0 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

thanks all....
misai is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-04-2012, 07:37 PM   #12
crazykatak
Senior Member
 
crazykatak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Subang Jaya
Posts: 799
Likes: 131
Liked: 47 / 42 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

The cylinder head can be skimmed. Just to flatten the surface.
remember only to use genuine cylinder head gasket.
no such thing as "quality" metal cylinder head gasket..OEM ones are already metal lol
thickness of the cylinder head gasket ( when seen closely are made up of two layers of super thin metal ) is about 1.00mm ( if im not mistaken ).

then, properly torque the cylinder head during assembly..most kebabom / "head jahanam" are caused by wrong torque value, wrong torque sequence..then comes wrong torque value of camshaft caps.


**Genuine campro head gaskets are made in Germany :)
crazykatak is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-04-2012, 10:10 PM   #13
punk
300bhp Nitrous Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Negeri Sembilan
Posts: 333
Likes: 83
Liked: 74 / 44 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazykatak View Post
The cylinder head can be skimmed. Just to flatten the surface.
remember only to use genuine cylinder head gasket.
no such thing as "quality" metal cylinder head gasket..OEM ones are already metal lol
thickness of the cylinder head gasket ( when seen closely are made up of two layers of super thin metal ) is about 1.00mm ( if im not mistaken ).

then, properly torque the cylinder head during assembly..most kebabom / "head jahanam" are caused by wrong torque value, wrong torque sequence..then comes wrong torque value of camshaft caps.


**Genuine campro head gaskets are made in Germany :)
U mean after skim just buy a new set of original top set??
If we already skim to the limit maximum, we just use back ori set gasket ??
The piston won't hit the valve??
Just asking only, thinking to diy long time ago but nobody can get me the answer..

sorry ya misai,,kacau ur thread..
punk is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-04-2012, 10:45 PM   #14
crazykatak
Senior Member
 
crazykatak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Subang Jaya
Posts: 799
Likes: 131
Liked: 47 / 42 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

if you skimmed 1.5mm, add 0.5mm ( assuming OEM head gasket is 1.0mm ) thickness of cylinder head gasket to maintain correct compression & also to prevent unwanted valve langgar cases.
crazykatak is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-05-2012, 08:09 AM   #15
misai
5bhp Stock
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
Liked: 0 / 0 Posts
Default Re: Campro head skimming

Quote:
Originally Posted by punk View Post
U mean after skim just buy a new set of original top set??
If we already skim to the limit maximum, we just use back ori set gasket ??
The piston won't hit the valve??
Just asking only, thinking to diy long time ago but nobody can get me the answer..

sorry ya misai,,kacau ur thread..
no problem la punk....we here to share....

---------- Post added at 08:09 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:02 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazykatak View Post
if you skimmed 1.5mm, add 0.5mm ( assuming OEM head gasket is 1.0mm ) thickness of cylinder head gasket to maintain correct compression & also to prevent unwanted valve langgar cases.
there some1 tell me not to use metal gasket after skim...he prefer use 2 layer carbon gasket to get correct thickness...any comment?
misai is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply

  Zerotohundred.com > Car Discussions > Car Problems

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next

Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



Zerotohundred.com
More on the all-new Koleos! - Renault's flagship SUV to arrive Malaysia this week
New 899kg Elise 250 gets drizzled in carbon goodies! - 50th Anniversary Special
Is the 512hp Alfa Giulia Quadrifoglio an Italian M3?
R kind of day.. -#honda #civic #civictyper #vtecturbo #typerturbo #turbotyper #rengineering #fk2 #fk2typer @honda
Midship Midnight #porsche #caymans #gentinghighlands #zerotohundred
Trending Threads
What is your first car?
Last Post Today 01:47 PM
guys, need your kind advice & help.....
Last Post 08-28-2016 08:26 PM
Fake Iridium Spark Plugs
Last Post 08-22-2016 02:09 PM
Need advice on brake kit
Last Post 08-27-2016 06:33 PM
SEARCH









2000 - 2016 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top