bypass air flow sensor ?

Mar 15, 2008
Hi guys, need sifus help on some issue. My friend recently bought a used putra year 97. Me myself is driving a satria gti so i know that both gti and putra share the same engine type 4g93p.
Damn, putra is so much more powerful than gti.

The thing im not sure is that my friends putra, the air hose between the air flow sensor and throttle body been modified with a mini open pod filter(the red thing).My gti the hose is connected back to the engine head. I was just wondering, whether in what way is this mod useful ? maybe more air for combustion through the bypass filter? :hmmmm:

Anyway isn't this kinda ' fooling the air flow sensor' since the AF sensor isn't detecting the correct amount of air sucked, therefore sending wrong signal for the amount of fuel needed for combustion ?
Is there any side effect on this ? :hmmmm:

Hope some sifus here can enlighten me. :D tq:adore:

in case u guys didnt understand... a picture is worth a thousand words

ezrider

Jun 14, 2006
the hose connected to the engine, i usually just pull it out and hang the hose out - there's always some black oil or unburnt petrol leaking out so i let it drip away. this way, the air filter stays cleaner without oil spots.

where the small filter is, i usually close it. putting the filter would let in a little more air, like a mini sport filter...

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
ur af sensor is just next to the brake fluid...
This kind of mod. can say cheating air flow sensor...
coz additional air suction after air flow sensor...

Pls clarify what yr manufactured of ur GTi
u can visit here for more info
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car-modification/261626-gti-2nd-edition-siemens-engine.html

In order to answer ur question...
I can say this kind of mod. will increase mor o2 in ur eng so that ligther rev...
anyway...u can ask the others how they bypass the AF sensor!!!
But pls remember, AF sensor is to detect O2 b4 go into the engine...
& the ECU will auto compensate the fuel injectied into ur eng.

GSR06

Dec 22, 2006
Hi Bean Boy,
What do you mean by "Putra is so much powerful than GTI"? ... Putra is just proton coupe and not GTI. GTI is still GTI... if you wanted to compare, ensure you have a same comparison though. What year is your GTI?

Jack,
Any comment since you are driving a putra also?:biggrin:

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
ok....guys...
No to argue...
My commmnt is that...
Putra powerful...
Coz 1997 all are imported chasis & can say alos export model...
It's absolutely same exactly with 1997 Mirage LS Coupe...

GTi...power from the 1st batch coz hi cam since the Lotus designer have maken it!!!
After the GTi 2nd, gov were reduce the perfromance on GTi!!!

Beanboy should clarify what yr ur car made!!!

Actually
My Mivec is that strong!!!
Especially compared with GSR...
Even both also 1.8...
Aspiration is such a big diff!!!

But honestly...
I have tried with Mit's 4G93 on wira...
min 2 car behind me...!!!
But from pick up til 400m....

Chasis to chasis won't contribute much diff for those street use car!!!
usless u go for circuit, drag or....
By the time i lose VTEC B18C (dono type R or not) are with my 17" rim & double 10" subwoofer(about >15 kg)
Cheers...!:wavey:

GSR06

Dec 22, 2006
Jack, very well said. I fully agree with your statements... don't smoke me when you see me ok:biggrin:

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
ok....guys...
No to argue...
My commmnt is that...
Putra powerful...
Coz 1997 all are imported chasis & can say alos export model...
It's absolutely same exactly with 1997 Mirage LS Coupe...

GTi...power from the 1st batch coz hi cam since the Lotus designer have maken it!!!
After the GTi 2nd, gov were reduce the perfromance on GTi!!!

Beanboy should clarify what yr ur car made!!!

Actually
My Mivec is that strong!!!
Especially compared with GSR...
Even both also 1.8...
Aspiration is such a big diff!!!

But honestly...
I have tried with Mit's 4G93 on wira...
min 2 car behind me...!!!
But from pick up til 400m....

Chasis to chasis won't contribute much diff for those street use car!!!
usless u go for circuit, drag or....
By the time i lose VTEC B18C (dono type R or not) are with my 17" rim & double 10" subwoofer(about >15 kg)
Cheers...!:wavey:
erm... thought 1997 Mirage LS Coupe fitted wif 1.6 engine? :hmmmm:

based on cams by lotus for 1st gen GTI and cams from R3, which is better? :hmmmm:

p/s: not a GTI/Putra owner... just curious :hmmmm:

Force Performance

Apr 28, 2005
Borneo
:rolleyes:We only use the PS-PowerSport designed Air-Sensor Converter [PN. ASC-909] to fully eliminate both the restricted n/a or turbo Karman type air flow sensing unit!

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
erm... thought 1997 Mirage LS Coupe fitted wif 1.6 engine? :hmmmm:

based on cams by lotus for 1st gen GTI and cams from R3, which is better? :hmmmm:

p/s: not a GTI/Putra owner... just curious :hmmmm:
R3 have such diff stage tuner...

My experience race with R3 stage II tuner...
The engine sound like Mive call the time...
Sorry...no iinfo for the cam...
But for sure...the souund more or less same with my Mivec...

But the damn is the hi cam is camparable with Mivec...
0 to 8500rpm Mivec cam deg!!!!!!!:confused:
Mivec...i lose on pick up of course...power the weigth ratio mah!!!:rofl:

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
R3 have such diff stage tuner...

My experience race with R3 stage II tuner...
The engine sound like Mive call the time...
Sorry...no iinfo for the cam...
But for sure...the souund more or less same with my Mivec...

But the damn is the hi cam is camparable with Mivec...
0 to 8500rpm Mivec cam deg!!!!!!!:confused:
Mivec...i lose on pick up of course...power the weigth ratio mah!!!:rofl:
haha.. same as my kancil.... initial pickup sure i win... then around 200-300meter later.. surely kena potong :rofl:

for R3 cam that high, does it affect drivability?

EGNINE

Jan 8, 2006
1st batch gti refer to 99 or all mmc model? lotus hi cam for 1st batch? is this info true? never heard before..pls enlighten ..tq

jinkl

May 22, 2004
:rolleyes:We only use the PS-PowerSport designed Air-Sensor Converter [PN. ASC-909] to fully eliminate both the restricted n/a or turbo Karman type air flow sensing unit!
i find that PS-Powersport : Price , its not worth it at all , beter just top up and get a REAL standalone

Following a teaser video and shadowy images released a few days ago, Mercedes-Benz has unveiled its pickup truck in production form, which is set to arrive next year. Officially badged as the X-Class, this pickup truck is co-developed with Nissan and is based on the Japanese automaker’s...