Mazda 2 : what is the suitable spark plug ?

jedi

Dec 22, 2003
My car current mileage around 95k KM, i think it's about time to change the spark plug.
My Mazda 2 was bought in 2010.
As per the owner manual says it should be ZJ46-18-110 or ZJY6-18-110

Does anyone know what is the cost to buy from Bermaz ?
And what is the alternative spark plug that I could try ? My friend recommend PULSTAR but I don't know what is the suitable product code.
What about DENSO ?
I think it should be iridium plug

Thanks all !

what is the price for DENSO and NGK ? and what is the price if buy from Bermaz ? Bermaz also supplying DENSO ?
If not servicing any more in SC, can get from spare part shop. Not sure of the price now, I tried them a few years back and those days around RM160 for set of 4 for Denso.
Check with spare part shop for the prices...:driver:

ken yeang

more often that not, SC would price their items more expensive than spare-parts shops would.

jedi

Dec 22, 2003
more often that not, SC would price their items more expensive than spare-parts shops would.
most cases yes, but personal experience with Bermaz that some parts are sold cheaper when buying from Bermaz.
I tried the Mazda M-V ATF, outside spare part shop selling Mercon-V that is slightly different.
Mazda M-V from Bermaz is RM105 but Mercon-V is RM180, both price inclusive of GST.

I tried to google the plug code but i get all different answer... I think maybe because Mazda 2 has 2 version, without skyactiv and with skyactiv...

http://www.globaldenso.com/en/products/aftermarket/plug/pnchart/genuine_dg/mazda.html
SK16PR-E13(MAZDA)

---------- Post added at 01:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:22 PM ----------

Yup, is Iridium plugs, if not cannot last 95k km loh.....

Can use NGK IFR5E13

Denso look here: MAZDA Vehicle spark plug parts coding and Denso Spark Plug Replacement table(2)
Weird, why another site saying IFR5E-11 ?

» mazda 2 NGK

leinnz

Sep 28, 2005
mine lasted 40KM it's rm110 a piece. SO change 4 cost me rm440 from Bermaz

most cases yes, but personal experience with Bermaz that some parts are sold cheaper when buying from Bermaz.
I tried the Mazda M-V ATF, outside spare part shop selling Mercon-V that is slightly different.
Mazda M-V from Bermaz is RM105 but Mercon-V is RM180, both price inclusive of GST.

I tried to google the plug code but i get all different answer... I think maybe because Mazda 2 has 2 version, without skyactiv and with skyactiv...

DENSO SPARK PLUGS
SK16PR-E13(MAZDA)

---------- Post added at 01:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:22 PM ----------

Weird, why another site saying IFR5E-11 ?

» mazda 2 NGK
Bro.,
SK model is Denso, IFR is NGK leh.....

---------- Post added at 07:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:37 PM ----------

mine lasted 40KM it's rm110 a piece. SO change 4 cost me rm440 from Bermaz
Woh! RM110 per pc.....

jedi

Dec 22, 2003
Bro.,
SK model is Denso, IFR is NGK leh.....

---------- Post added at 07:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:37 PM ----------

Woh! RM110 per pc.....
yeah bro, i have asked Bermaz too and it would cost RM430+ inclusive of GST for 4 pcs of original spark plug from Mazda...
I think NGK or Denso would cost RM250+ only

yeah bro, i have asked Bermaz too and it would cost RM430+ inclusive of GST for 4 pcs of original spark plug from Mazda...
I think NGK or Denso would cost RM250+ only
I bought my first set of Denso Iridium at RM180 if not mistaken, then second on at RM150 friend got staff price, now RM250 woh! :bawling:
I now switched to platinum only....RM50....:biggrin:

Kippo

Mar 5, 2005
NGK, Denso, Bosch are ok. What is important is to use the correct spark plug gap. Check the workshop/maintenance manual of your car.

jedi

Dec 22, 2003
I bought my first set of Denso Iridium at RM180 if not mistaken, then second on at RM150 friend got staff price, now RM250 woh! :bawling:
I now switched to platinum only....RM50....:biggrin:
what about the mileage ? the spare part shop says Denso SK16PR-E13 no longer available in the market so he suggested me to go for platinum

what is the diff between platinum and iridium ? original Mazda ZJ46-18-110 is iridium or platinum ?

what about the mileage ? the spare part shop says Denso SK16PR-E13 no longer available in the market so he suggested me to go for platinum

what is the diff between platinum and iridium ? original Mazda ZJ46-18-110 is iridium or platinum ?
What about NGK? They don't have either?
Iridium and Platinum are the material difference. Iridium is harder so supposedly longer change interval. There is another call Iridium tough.
Only difference I know is Denso Iridium got smaller tip of 0.4mm whereas the rest are 0.6mm. Better or not? not sure.

jedi

Dec 22, 2003
What about NGK? They don't have either?
Iridium and Platinum are the material difference. Iridium is harder so supposedly longer change interval. There is another call Iridium tough.
Only difference I know is Denso Iridium got smaller tip of 0.4mm whereas the rest are 0.6mm. Better or not? not sure.
I asked many spare part shops but none of them could provide appropriate spark plug

I think I should go back service centre and pay for the original parts...

I asked many spare part shops but none of them could provide appropriate spark plug

I think I should go back service centre and pay for the original parts...
If not sure, best to go back to SC then......:driver:

According to reports online, Porsche's new chairman has said that the German supercar builder is evaluating a return to Formula 1, a sport the company left in 1962 due to high costs.

Though Porsche has returned as an engine supplier a couple times (remember TAG Mclaren?), the marque has generally stayed away from Formula One, preferring instead to compete in endurance races and...