problem with check engine light after vtec open

kissbutt

Feb 14, 2009
hi honda experts

my fren's e-ek3 hatch got a problem.. it seems that everytime he open vtec (dunno whats the correct term) the check-engine-light will be turned on and will stay like that and wont turned off even after sometime. only when he switched off the engine and restart it will the check-engine-light turned off again. problem will re-occur if he open the vtec again. what could possibly be the problem? according to him, engine is actually quite new. transplanted last year. he's tryin to sell me the car but after having stumbled upon this prob, i have a lil doubt in me and am not sure about its true condition. could it be the wiring? or the engine itself? please advise. and oso, after vtec opens, i smell sumthing burnt.. is that normal? sorry no prior vtec experience... only drive iswara kodok before this..

Thank you very much

lightningfield

Dec 29, 2004
www.ef-honda.com
hi honda experts

my fren's e-ek3 hatch got a problem.. it seems that everytime he open vtec (dunno whats the correct term) the check-engine-light will be turned on and will stay like that and wont turned off even after sometime. only when he switched off the engine and restart it will the check-engine-light turned off again. problem will re-occur if he open the vtec again. what could possibly be the problem? according to him, engine is actually quite new. transplanted last year. he's tryin to sell me the car but after having stumbled upon this prob, i have a lil doubt in me and am not sure about its true condition. could it be the wiring? or the engine itself? please advise. and oso, after vtec opens, i smell sumthing burnt.. is that normal? sorry no prior vtec experience... only drive iswara kodok before this..

Thank you very much
What engine is on the EK?

You might need to check the error code on the ECU if its a B series.

Google: vtec error code. Then you'll know what caused the CEL to appear.
Burnt smell - normal. no worries.

kissbutt

Feb 14, 2009
thank you lightningfiled and hattech-v for the inputs.. ok so ive googled and read about ecu error codes a lil bit and i will personally try to look into it assuming my understanding bout it is correct lar kan. later i will post the ECU status if there's any. and for the record, the engine is B16A.

btw, anyone knows the address of Spoon Sports in SS3? i saw several people on this forum mentioning it. would love to have a look at the shop.

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
ur vtec engaged or not after 5.8k rpm??
check ur o2 sensor....

May 30, 2006
even sometimes the error code will give you.. error.:biggrin:

i have similar cases like what you've described, minus the burning smell.

error code - knock sensor. - changed- after a few revving, light came on..

after a few months, explained my scenario to my normal mechanic, and he asked me to check the vtec solenoid.

guess what? the solenoid filter is blocked by the engine oil residue - very dirty:banghead:

got it cleaned, and rev happy again, minus the check engine light, light.:biggrin:

hope this will help

SC79

Apr 15, 2005
but i saw some people from forum say the experience workers from spoon sport..all resign liao...so i didn't go there ler..

helmistaley

Jul 12, 2006
this chk engine lite incident was happened to my b16a also...but it was few months after i've installed e-manage.plus the idle becames lousy whenever the chk engine lite on..kind of semput sound..
so i sold the car to get rid of the problem...hehe.

kissbutt

Feb 14, 2009
thank you guys for the replies. to begin with, the car actually has no ecu.. so i cant actually post the ecu error code.

i have actually decided to buy the car. In fact am in the process to settle the payment, geran, tukar nama n all that.

i need to add that after having checked by a mechanic just recently, not really a honda specialist, he confirmed to me that the engine has no visible, bare or obvious problem known if not a more trivial problem resides in the engine itself/or unseen; which need further inspection. he oso added that it is most probably caused by the wiring which is a lil bit unorganized imho.

i know i am probably making a big mistake here but i'll take my chances. (harga murah plus my fren willing to support me if really got problems, by giving me summore discounts hoho). Apart from the CEL, the car is good.

pencalat: yes, vtec did engaged around 5++ rpm..around that; not sure d exact rpm but the "praaaang" did kicks in :)

atkop: i am relief to hear that, well at least i am hoping that the prob is not (necessarily) caused by the engine. btw, mind to share with me which mechanic you go to?

SC79: seriously? dindnt kno that..hmm do u have any suggestion where i shud go? im thinking of n1racing or amoil next.

helmistaley: bro, kesian la the next owner.. huhu so, has he comlained to you yet? haha jk but gud to hear u manage to sold the car. no more penig kepala.

To sum it up, i need get my wiring checked and fixed next. i would like to know which w/shop specialist in honda wiring? how much the cost would probably be (rough estimation oso can) so i can prepare my budget? will it be around 1K to 2K? if the work is KEMAS, CLEAN, AND THE RESULT WORK LIKE A CHARM then i dont really mind the price, err i think. :biggrin:

thanks frens. Do reply ok..

SC79

Apr 15, 2005
may be u can try go avantgarde at tmn bahagia look for eric (071-33401223).his shop is facing the LDP flyover..

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL
It could be something as simple as your minyak itam level low....might also explain the burning smell you get when high rev.... try checking the engine oil level...

May 30, 2006
the cleaning process is quite simple really, even you can do it yourself:proud:

take out the vtec switch asym, clean the filter (the "jaring-jaring" one), check the spring (can still "main" or not,) you might want to change the o ring/gasket etc, dry it up, and install it.

i got it cleaned up at seri kembangan workshop- Rm 20

Everyone seems to like it but i see it as just another proton with a different name. IMO i dont think that Persona is going to sell successfully, just as the proton canselor ( or how do you spell this ). I was hoping to see another model completely. I havent seen it in real life yet so i cant quite judge, but still i have only seen a canselor once since its launch. anyone seen a canselor more than once on the roads?
i saw twice , one at manjalara...