Rotary Engine no good lah

13btt

May 31, 2004
Sydney, AUS
www.reclub.com.my
Time and time again I have heard so many comments, sadly negative, from the general public, mechanics, past & even present owners of the RX-7 that "the engine is no good lah!" Other comments go like "this engine is sooo weak, always break one" There are so many misconceptions held about this engine that are not proven nor supported by actual understanding of why the engine failed. Most often (if not always) it wasn't the engine's fault but rather bad modification, too little fueling, clogged fuel filter, poor cooling system leading to high water temperatures and overheating...the list goes on.

Sadly the RE is the most misunderstood and poorly maintained rotary engine this side of Japan and Australia. The Aussie's absolutely love it and currently hold the quarter mile world record at 7.69 seconds using a 3 rotor 20B!

My humble personal opinion on the matter is the rotary engine is an EXCELLENT engine, amazing in its design, fantastically free revving with HUGE power & torque to scare most other engines out there. However, I do understand that very early generation REs (i.e 10A & 12A) did have some o-ring problems but that is some 25 years ago.

When new friends, family & often clients come to know I have an RX-7 the first thing they say is not how nice my car is or wow looks good or something similar but instead "you had lots of problems with your rotary?" I bluntly reply "No actually, it has been really good" They typically pause for a moment in shock and say well then thats surpisingly good... After that those that are more familiar and once owned a rotary powered car engage in further investigation with me...others just walk away in disbelief to continue their bad opinion of RE.

Personally I have owned my 1995 FD RX-7 for some 4 years now and since rebuilding the engine with a mate haven't had any major problems, that is to say no blown apex seal(s), compromised o-ring or low compression etc etc. It has been running beautifully since day 1 after the precision rebuild which was needed due to "old age" and tired o-rings. My engine was the original one since 1995! How do I know this..because when we took it out we could see that all bolts were untouched with the original paint markings intact.

I want to stir up some emotion from my title to this post and hopefully generate good discussion on the various opinions held on the RE and with a bit of good fortune disprove most of the misconceptions & bad rumours out there.

Please post up your comments and views on this engine and what you have heard from people about the Rotary Engine.

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

lan evo

Nov 24, 2003
i love fd but it was 2 seater,not suitable for me.has been thinking to sell my evo and buy a fd and another daily drive car.so only drive it weekend:p

all car also the same la,depends on how the owner take care of it and which mechanic do the maintenance.

endless551

Aug 24, 2004
here is my part of the story... Gonna leave work soon so just gonna keep this short.. I've owned the car since end of last year. Tracked it 5 times. Or was it 4? Drifted in OTS.. Drift occasionally with friends around. Rotorary drifters tend to know we need to rev the b*tch out of the engine to sustain some nice angle drift.. Some may tell me.. 'oh.. aren't u afraid of blowing something as rotary engines are weak and so on' BULLSHIT. I wanted to break it, trust me.. I want it to break so I feel the worth of rebuilding (yeah it might cost more but this is my daily drive too..). But it just won't go... Compression stays the same... still rev as hard as before. Whats the secret?? I always check my fluid level, keep my boost low (not necessary but make sure u f**king well feed it enuf fuel for ur big boost application - FUELLING!!! AIN'T NO ROCKET SCIENCE!!) Engine did overheated on me once.. only once... and in Sepang, after two hot laps revving up to redline every shift.. Problem rectified as I wasn't getting enough fuel at all (A/F 13), and was lucky I didn't blow anything.. Also found out that lots of air pocket in my cooling system after changing my radiator.. Now it run strong until my tyres and brake give way.. Also, my engine oil is changed (with the right visco and type) every 3000km or after SIC outing, whichever comes first... Watch ur boost, watch ur fuel, watch ur oil.. Of course, u do need a healthy engine to start with, which is pretty scarce out there.. go for rebuild and educate urself.. I promise a long and wonderful relationship with Wankel..

Btw.. its like having a hot ass model as ur gfren.. U need to wine & dine her.. pamper her.. But when ur getting on with her.. frankly, do u give a shit how much the freakin Gucci handbag cost u?!?! Do u? not me..

re_fc3s

Apr 28, 2005
Quality is based on perception as much as it is based on facts. Once you drop the ball, rectifying the problem is easy, rectifying the image is hard.

Mazda won in LeMans, RE holds World Quater Mile record etc... But has that improve the image? Yes and no.

Just imagine for a moment, today we have new generations of REs that are 'bullet-proof' - will never fail even if you boost it up to 3 bar, rev it to 15k etc and uses 1/2 the amount of petrol than a piston. If you gave it to your son 21years from now, i can bet you his frens will ask him the same question - "you had lots of problems with your rotary?"

As it is rarer than a piston engine, 25 years ago, ppl would ask RE owners how is it? They will answer honestly bla bla bla. Slowly it becomes hear-say and even as time it improves tremendously, it's still has a stigma.

Those who can appreciate rotors are a rare breed compared to general drivers. But we don't need a general consensus to make us feel good. We koow what is good.

Food for thought: Can car manufacturer improve the image of RE? If we ever had a fail proof engine, will they ever market it that way?

Don't hear Mazda boasting much when they won LeMans, had one of their engines set the new world record etc.

Nissan350Z won the Japan GT in Malaysia, and every couple of days they take up a full add in the newspaper. Sadly, image is based more on perception than facts.

Savanna 12A

Dec 18, 2004
KUL
Yeap, I own that 25 years old 1st gen and still with its original engine and has been with me for 5 good years!

Sometimes kinda hard to explain to ppl when I open-up the bonet, normally at car wash.

But what is satisfying owning this rare beast is ... the ... oooohhss ... and the ... aaaaahhhs ... from ppl around knowing no pistons, no valves, no cam and 1.2L n/a with 110bhp free revving engine!

Cheers!

phat7

May 21, 2004
Glen had to stir the hornets nest!! Well..i've owned the fd for more than 5 years. Had my share of overheating and anything else that could go wrong. Like Endless mentioned earlier the basics of engine mantainence plays an important role regardless if its piston or rocket engine powered. People looking at buying the rotary must first uderstand there is hardly any reliable support here in Malaysia (the RE Club hopes to change this)

I drive my car pretty hard nd so far its been a good girl. Unlike other pistons the rotary finds itself starving of fuel with simple bolt on's like intakes,exhaust,downpipes. Fuelling is essential!! The availability of ecu's like those advertised here eg. AMEMIYA ECU, KS ECU etc makes it even more confusing for new owners whom in their excitement go out and purchase them not knowing what modifications these ecu's call for. And when the engine blows they blame the poor rotary.

Fuel consumption....well it is worth every penny. The amount of fun i have justifies the cost of fuel. It definitely is not cheap but for the amount of power on tap it has to guzzle.

aarion

Dec 24, 2003
The fact that the rotary engine only have three moving parts already amaze me. Lesser the moving part, lesser the problems. I think the only major downside is Fuel consumption.

Hehehe, and i don't even owed a rotary engine. Still learning about it. HEHEHE

cobra_motor

May 18, 2005
Subang
cobramotor.fotopages.com
must let my bro read this coz i already persuaded my bro to take the rx7.

so cobra motorsports will also specialize in rotary jugak la after dis.

always play mitsubishi only. 90% people convert at my place all put in mitsubishi engine.

anyway, love rx7. cun man. even rx8 is not as cun as rx7. my opinion only aah.

rx8 guys dont hentam me. :)

13btt

May 31, 2004
Sydney, AUS
www.reclub.com.my
Who & where are Cobra Motorsports? Do they have experience with RE or are they looking to acquire the same?

Lennon

Apr 11, 2005
cobra_motor said:
anyway, love rx7. cun man. even rx8 is not as cun as rx7. my opinion only aah.

rx8 guys dont hentam me. :)
No problem. Turbo era is gone as far as the manufacturer is concerned.

phat7

May 21, 2004
Lennon said:
No problem. Turbo era is gone as far as the manufacturer is concerned.
i secretly hope that mazda would continue with turbocharged engines in rx7's. manufacturers these days seem to still include turbocharged variants in their lineup and hopefully this spurs Mazda to continue turbocharging their sport/race vehicles especially the rotary.

13btt

May 31, 2004
Sydney, AUS
www.reclub.com.my
Ok met another "mechanic" the other day, who shall remain unamed given his less than good comments about RX-7 / RE.

He reckons that all the "rotary engine knowledge and servicing skills went back to Japan back in the seventies soon after mazda didn't bring in the RX series here anymore" Is this true or perhaps some forumers can post up (including contact details) who they feel are good at servicing AND rebuilding the RE..thanks.

This would be good for all owners of the RE to help them maintain their cars and enjoy trouble-free motoring.

Savanna 12A

Dec 18, 2004
KUL
Anyone heard about this name ... Gary Chua?

He was our legendary rotary racer in the late 70's and early 80's, raced with his SA and FC at Batu 3 race circuit. Those days he had a workshop specialised in RE located at Jln Kilang, PJ Old Town.

Indeed he is still operating there, not for RE of course but as the official Perodua Rally Team service centre.

Perhaps someone cld approach him and bring back his RE skills and experience to be shared with us.

13btt

May 31, 2004
Sydney, AUS
www.reclub.com.my
I have never met the guy myself but have a few business friends who know him when they owned an SA.

One FD RX-7 owner reckons that Gary Chua's sons both own FCs and are good to talk with and very much RE enthusiasts. Apparently Gary is preoccupied very much with modifying the "shopping trolleys"

Perhaps we can organise a group of members to meet these owners at the workshop in PJ old town?
Savanna 12A said:
Anyone heard about this name ... Gary Chua?

He was our legendary rotary racer in the late 70's and early 80's, raced with his SA and FC at Batu 3 race circuit. Those days he had a workshop specialised in RE located at Jln Kilang, PJ Old Town.

Indeed he is still operating there, not for RE of course but as the official Perodua Rally Team service centre.

Perhaps someone cld approach him and bring back his RE skills and experience to be shared with us.

alex_77

Mar 14, 2005
hey guy,i have 1 question want to ask all sifu here.my car got some smoke when it is in ilde ,it's ok??

Meet the Jaguar F-Pace. A new contender and yet another contributing proof, indicating the immense market needs for more SUVs. Nevertheless, the F-Pace combines what’s good from Jaguar and the key features wanted in the market nowadays.

Sitting in the same league as the Porsche Macan, Audi Q5 and Mercedes GLC, the Jaguar F-Pace boasts a sleeker design; taking cues from its full-size sedan sibling, the...