honda sm4 F20A DOHC's problem

skf

May 8, 2005
When driving the car , u slow down the car speed and try reaccelerated the speed suddenly the car engine since to loss power and suddenly repower again. What is the problem? Plug,distributor ,plug cable all check still can no be solved :confused_smile: :confused_smile:

ahchi

Sep 5, 2005
SA
Well, actually mine is having the same problem as yours, I've been asking some mechanics and there say that it's normal, some say that certain benz model is the same too because this is kind of like safety function, especially when you are driving >80km/h, pervent from sudden speed up can reduce the risk of accident.
However, one thing I'm not convince is this speed retard not always happen and sometimes it's so obviouse and sometimes don't. So, I do think that there should be something not right, just can't find someone can properly point it out and since it's not something harmful to the engine so I just ignore it all the while.

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
best is change to H22A. problem settled. auto h/cut for H22A around 2.8k .. manual around 4k+

civicefthree

Feb 21, 2005
skf said:
When driving the car , u slow down the car speed and try reaccelerated the speed suddenly the car engine since to loss power and suddenly repower again. What is the problem? Plug,distributor ,plug cable all check still can no be solved :confused_smile: :confused_smile:
I think its a common prob for F20A engine......my dad's SM4 also when want to accelerate a bit slow and then gain power....the low end power is a bit dull becuase of it no Vtec.....but when u maintained middle n high end rpm....it is ok then....manyak kuat wooo.... :shades_smile:

ahchi

Sep 5, 2005
SA
civicefthree said:
I think its a common prob for F20A engine......my dad's SM4 also when want to accelerate a bit slow and then gain power....the low end power is a bit dull becuase of it no Vtec.....but when u maintained middle n high end rpm....it is ok then....manyak kuat wooo.... :shades_smile:
I'm not quite agree with it, the SM4 F20A is good in low end power & pickup, theoretially there's no difference with any vtec engine becasue vtec power only kick in during high rpm. Don't forget that F20A twincam having 150 bhp, it should be the same as common H22A (non type R) engine, which is rating 150 bhp too, just the different between these two is the vtec only.

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
ahchi said:
I'm not quite agree with it, the SM4 F20A is good in low end power & pickup, theoretially there's no difference with any vtec engine becasue vtec power only kick in during high rpm. Don't forget that F20A twincam having 150 bhp, it should be the same as common H22A (non type R) engine, which is rating 150 bhp too, just the different between these two is the vtec only.
* FYI .. as u said F20A twincam having 150HP. is it on engine HP or on wheel HP? i dont think stock F20A twincam having 150HP on wheel.

* FYI .. stock H22A is rated from 190HP-200HP-220HP. That is on engine HP. stock ON WHEEL HP on H22A is rated from 165-175HP (on AUTO). Manual should be more.

as what u said F20A is rated at 150HP,its the HP on engine and on wheel HP is only not more than 100HP or less than that.

dont forget that there is F20B Dohc VTEC (blue top cover). its also powerful,but more people go for H22A rather than F20B.

F20A VS H22A = u said that "vtec only the differences,with the same 150HP"? i dont think so dude. if F20A is more powerful than H22A,all those guys would crazy to go n use F20A rather than using H22A dude! :mouth_closed:

F20A Spec:

Honda F20A Engine JDM
Displacement (cc): 1997
Power (bhp@rpm):150 @ 6,100 rpm
Torque (ft/lbs@rpm): 137 @ 5,000 rpm
Compression Ratio: 9.5:1

H22A spec:
2.157cc (2.2L) DOHC VTEC
10.6 Compression Ratio

H22A ver 1 2156cc DOHC VTEC, 190ps
H22A ver 2 2156cc DOHC VTEC, 200ps
H22A SpecS 2156cc DOHC VTEC, 220ps

F20B spec:
F20B SOHC 1997cc SOHC VTEC, 145ps(LEV)/148ps(4WD)/150ps
F20B DOHC-1 1997cc DOHC VTEC, 180ps
F20B DOHC-2 1997cc DOHC VTEC, 200ps

please proof to me that im wrong. waiting for ur answer :shades_smile:

civicefthree

Feb 21, 2005
but F20A is also powerful.....i've tested it with a BMW on da highway....180 is easy to get....also can tinggal the 320 BMW....hehehe

saiyuke

Nov 6, 2005
www.cardomain.com
mrbear said:
* FYI .. as u said F20A twincam having 150HP. is it on engine HP or on wheel HP? i dont think stock F20A twincam having 150HP on wheel.

* FYI .. stock H22A is rated from 190HP-200HP-220HP. That is on engine HP. stock ON WHEEL HP on H22A is rated from 165-175HP (on AUTO). Manual should be more.

as what u said F20A is rated at 150HP,its the HP on engine and on wheel HP is only not more than 100HP or less than that.

dont forget that there is F20B Dohc VTEC (blue top cover). its also powerful,but more people go for H22A rather than F20B.

F20A VS H22A = u said that "vtec only the differences,with the same 150HP"? i dont think so dude. if F20A is more powerful than H22A,all those guys would crazy to go n use F20A rather than using H22A dude! :mouth_closed:

F20A Spec:

Honda F20A Engine JDM
Displacement (cc): 1997
Power (bhp@rpm):150 @ 6,100 rpm
Torque (ft/lbs@rpm): 137 @ 5,000 rpm
Compression Ratio: 9.5:1

H22A spec:
2.157cc (2.2L) DOHC VTEC
10.6 Compression Ratio

H22A ver 1 2156cc DOHC VTEC, 190ps
H22A ver 2 2156cc DOHC VTEC, 200ps
H22A SpecS 2156cc DOHC VTEC, 220ps

F20B spec:
F20B SOHC 1997cc SOHC VTEC, 145ps(LEV)/148ps(4WD)/150ps
F20B DOHC-1 1997cc DOHC VTEC, 180ps
F20B DOHC-2 1997cc DOHC VTEC, 200ps

please proof to me that im wrong. waiting for ur answer :shades_smile:

bear taiko,

For Stock H22A ( all stock ar), the WHP is only around 140~150hp only. Coz last time i went dyno, was surprise to see this result and as you can see, Lets say the HP is 190hp and after loses from flywheel down to the tire, the hp that remain is approximately 190hp - (25~30%) loses will be your approximately whp.

For manual, then the loses is only around 10~15% only.

Correct me if i am wrong.

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
saiyuke said:
bear taiko,

For Stock H22A ( all stock ar), the WHP is only around 140~150hp only. Coz last time i went dyno, was surprise to see this result and as you can see, Lets say the HP is 190hp and after loses from flywheel down to the tire, the hp that remain is approximately 190hp - (25~30%) loses will be your approximately whp.

For manual, then the loses is only around 10~15% only.

Correct me if i am wrong.

* if stock rated H22A on wheel is around 140HP-150HP = then its ok la.. compared to F20A that guy saying is 150HP. so better F20A than H22A? .. might be engine of F20A is rated 150HP by engine.. not on wheel HP. should be lesser than 100HP or less.

* it depends on H22A engine. some stock on wheel HP for H22A is rated 160HP. due to old engine. pistons,cyclinder,piston rings, cams,carbons deposits,due make the engine loss its HP on wheel. if stock on wheel H22A getting 140HP-150HP it might due to the internal parts that are old.

H22A stock WHP reviews:

JDM H22A 2.2L 2157cc DOHC VTEC 16 valve motor. 184 whp at 6900 rpm and 158 ft lb. torque at 3200 rpm. About 220 hp to the flywheel. (mod just aluminium intake pipe + filter + 421 extractor)

mrbear

Nov 16, 2005
H22A Engine 230+WHP

H22A 2.2L VTEC Engine:
R&D 5-Axis CNC Ported Head
Skunk2 Stage II Camshafts
Portflow Valve Springs
Portflow Ti Retainers
STR Adjustable Cam Gears
Euro R Block w/ 11.0:1 Compression Pistons
Euro R Intake Manifold Portmatched to Head and TB by R&D
MaxBore Throttle 64mm Throttle Body
H23A Manual Tensioner Conversion

Drivetrain:
M2B4 Honda LSD Transmission
ACT Clutch 6 Puck
ACT ProStreet Flywheel (12lbs)

Performance Bolt-Ons:
Injen Race Division Cold Air Intake
HyTech 4-2-1 Race Header
Custom 2.5” Exhaust System

Fuel & Ignition System:
Hondata S200 w/ Datalogging & Launch Control
NGK BKR7E-11 Spark Plugs
NGK Spark Plug Wires
SX Engineering Fuel Pressure Regulator

Cooling:
Radiator Doctor Aluminum Single Core Radiator w/ Custom Rigged Thin Fan
Fairly New OEM Thermostat & Hoses
High Performance Brakes:
Brembo Steel Braided Brake Lines
Brembo Rotors
PBR/Axxis Brake Pads

saiyuke

Nov 6, 2005
www.cardomain.com
mrbear said:
* if stock rated H22A on wheel is around 140HP-150HP = then its ok la.. compared to F20A that guy saying is 150HP. so better F20A than H22A? .. might be engine of F20A is rated 150HP by engine.. not on wheel HP. should be lesser than 100HP or less.

* it depends on H22A engine. some stock on wheel HP for H22A is rated 160HP. due to old engine. pistons,cyclinder,piston rings, cams,carbons deposits,due make the engine loss its HP on wheel. if stock on wheel H22A getting 140HP-150HP it might due to the internal parts that are old.

H22A stock WHP reviews:

JDM H22A 2.2L 2157cc DOHC VTEC 16 valve motor. 184 whp at 6900 rpm and 158 ft lb. torque at 3200 rpm. About 220 hp to the flywheel. (mod just aluminium intake pipe + filter + 421 extractor)

Alamak, my old engine liao! kekekeke:embaressed_smile: :embaressed_smile: :embaressed_smile:

SO keng or not? kekekekeke

darkemperor

Jan 4, 2006
ahchi said:
i've used the f20a too before with a manual trans...what can i compare between both f20a and h22a is :

1. f20a good lower end torque...but h22a also has it with 156cc more...dont look down just because it's a dohc.....
2. dohc....better mid to high end...sohc will choke out of breath at this level if we suddenly push it or need immediate accel..
3. vtec....the wild cam really makes differents....people wont be spending up to rm7k just for nothing to get a h22a...and i better endup using my f20a forever...:X-:

f20a sohc if i'm not mistaken only rated at 130hp....are you refering to the dohc..?

skf

May 8, 2005
u all r misunderstood my question (sorry my english is poor )
Lose power which i mean is like want mati engine

darkemperor

Jan 4, 2006
skf said:
u all r misunderstood my question (sorry my english is poor )
Lose power which i mean is like want mati engine
something related to ignition, electrical or fuel problem.....take to a good mech and check everything....

hi all, i'm planning to buy a new engine on my wira aeroback 1.3..going for half-cut....my choice is Mivec 1.6+rear breakdisk but without putting in the dashboard,and bodykit to save my $$$$...i'm preparing about 7k in about 4 month...is it possible to get a rear breakdisk and mivec engine for only 7k...can u advise how much money should i prepare....

and can you guys list down what kind of meter can i put into my car ofter my mivec transplant example = autotimer,mivec...