any ford laser TX3 1.8 owner ??

RB26

GoKart Lover
Jul 14, 2005
selayang
www.mangoesteen.net

any plp driving a ford laser TX3 1.8......?? planing to get this car....need some opinon from u guys....

will this car have higher maintainence fees compare others..? can we get the spare parts easily?

TermiziYeoh

Jul 29, 2005
Cheras , Sel
Which car u mean ? inside the picture ? That one not ford lynx tx3 meh ? Im owning one TX3 1.8 DOHC Sampan 2 Doors ..

zan

Feb 20, 2005
that car is a nice one. design is still unique. power a bit down compare to sampan TX3, which explains why Ford came up with Z series; prepared by HKS.

twin airbag standard, if not mistaken ABS also. reliability is ok just like any japanese cars. but parts availability is on the harder side.

the best thing u shud do is ask at the ford/mazda forum section. i believe u will get many more responds... :D

RB26

GoKart Lover
Jul 14, 2005
selayang
www.mangoesteen.net
zan said:
that car is a nice one. design is still unique. power a bit down compare to sampan TX3, which explains why Ford came up with Z series; prepared by HKS.

twin airbag standard, if not mistaken ABS also. reliability is ok just like any japanese cars. but parts availability is on the harder side.

the best thing u shud do is ask at the ford/mazda forum section. i believe u will get many more responds... :D
hi...thanks for ur opinion...will post it up on ford section :smile:

RB26

GoKart Lover
Jul 14, 2005
selayang
www.mangoesteen.net
TermiziYeoh said:
Which car u mean ? inside the picture ? That one not ford lynx tx3 meh ? Im owning one TX3 1.8 DOHC Sampan 2 Doors ..
Oo..is it?? i saw a magazine but they call it laser?? or it have 2 name ??

zan

Feb 20, 2005
ford laser 1st started life in early 80s in collaboration with mazda. difference only in front end and rear end panels.

ford of japan is like sister company to ford of north america and also ford of europe in a way that they use similar brand name and Ghia badge for its flagship model.

in 1986, laser got a new model, also similar to mazda 323. this time, a sporty model was also introduced called TX3. this was in line with ford of other regions. ford of europe for example called its sports series XR eg. fiesta XR2, escort XR3/XR3i, sierra XR4i/XR4x4.

the bigger telstar model sports a version called TX5.

1986 ford TX3 was special in malaysia. it was a rare 3 door hatchback, and one of the first to utilise EFI in its powerplant.

in 1990, all new laser was out. the shape is similar to a sampan upside down, thus the nick sampan.

the TX3 model was very popular, being bigger than the previous version and with bigger 1.8 engine with DOHC and 16 valve producing about 130-140bhp.

in 1995 another all new model was launched called Laser Lynx. the TX3 was there too but it became less popular as it became more expensive even though better equipped and better looking with 2 rounded lights.

latest laser lynx does not have a TX3 version this time but instead called RS. this is similar to what ford of europe had done, naming their most powerful Focus as RS and not Focus XR3.

RB26

GoKart Lover
Jul 14, 2005
selayang
www.mangoesteen.net
zan said:
ford laser 1st started life in early 80s in collaboration with mazda. difference only in front end and rear end panels.

ford of japan is like sister company to ford of north america and also ford of europe in a way that they use similar brand name and Ghia badge for its flagship model.

in 1986, laser got a new model, also similar to mazda 323. this time, a sporty model was also introduced called TX3. this was in line with ford of other regions. ford of europe for example called its sports series XR eg. fiesta XR2, escort XR3/XR3i, sierra XR4i/XR4x4.

the bigger telstar model sports a version called TX5.

1986 ford TX3 was special in malaysia. it was a rare 3 door hatchback, and one of the first to utilise EFI in its powerplant.

in 1990, all new laser was out. the shape is similar to a sampan upside down, thus the nick sampan.

the TX3 model was very popular, being bigger than the previous version and with bigger 1.8 engine with DOHC and 16 valve producing about 130-140bhp.

in 1995 another all new model was launched called Laser Lynx. the TX3 was there too but it became less popular as it became more expensive even though better equipped and better looking with 2 rounded lights.

latest laser lynx does not have a TX3 version this time but instead called RS. this is similar to what ford of europe had done, naming their most powerful Focus as RS and not Focus XR3.

thanks for the information.........very informative :wink:

Feb 5, 2018
Hi there everyone, i am new here. I recently bought a unit. Year made 1995. The Condition of the car was good. Didn't need much repair on it but i spent about 1k for minor repairs/replacing parts. Sometimes it's about luck when buying a used car. Depend on the previous owner(s) on the maintenance of the car. Also the mileage is a factor. Anyway, the master break pump is faulty/leaking fluid. Does anyone know where i can get a repair kit or a used or new master brake pump? Thank you in advance.

Check out spare part shop and get new, repair kits won't last, especially if the pump wall is worn....

Feb 5, 2018
Thank you for your advice but do you or anyone know which spare part shop has stock for the master brake pump? I'd appreciate it if anyone of you can provide me with the shop's contact number. Thank you once again in advance.

alcyon

Sep 13, 2015
For these kinds of things, you would have to ask around, or use a brake pump from some other car that is more or less the same.

Thank you for your advice but do you or anyone know which spare part shop has stock for the master brake pump? I'd appreciate it if anyone of you can provide me with the shop's contact number. Thank you once again in advance.
You are going to DIY the repair? If going to mechanic I get my mechanic to look for the parts, because he can take out the part and use as sample