Myvi 1.5 Battery Size Upgrade

WilsonTHarv

Jul 14, 2016
Hey guys , im in need of advice here , the current NS40 battery in my Myvi is getting weaker ,thinking of upgrading it to a larger one which is NS60/L ,what i need to do/mod to get NS60 in there ?

The reason that i wanna upgrade the size is every year or so i require to replace the battery , everytime is the electrolyte inside dried out no matter i use the MF one or the normal one ,normal one after few weeks can see the electrolyte decreasing at a rapid rate already .

Which one is better ? Bosch S3/S4 or Century Ultramax ?

Any advice will be really appreciated, thanks guys =)

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
hmmm this not really solving the issue at hand?? any parasitic equipment in the car? best check that first. my 2 sen

Hey guys , im in need of advice here , the current NS40 battery in my Myvi is getting weaker ,thinking of upgrading it to a larger one which is NS60/L ,what i need to do/mod to get NS60 in there ?

The reason that i wanna upgrade the size is every year or so i require to replace the battery , everytime is the electrolyte inside dried out no matter i use the MF one or the normal one ,normal one after few weeks can see the electrolyte decreasing at a rapid rate already .

Which one is better ? Bosch S3/S4 or Century Ultramax ?

Any advice will be really appreciated, thanks guys =)
Electrolyte fast evaporating could be due to over charging also. Have the charging system checked out.

If need to upgrade there are 3 things.
1) Is the space allocated enough to fit the bigger battery
2) If the terminal is the tiny one, you need to change to the bigger one
3) The bracket holding the battery in place needs to be changed also....

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
Check your alternator's health first before you go to upgrade your battery size.

My myvi does not give me such a problem where I using MF battery (NS40) and it able to last me at least 2years.

Check your alternator's health first before you go to upgrade your battery size.

My myvi does not give me such a problem where I using MF battery (NS40) and it able to last me at least 2years.
Yah!, most battery last 18 to 24 months.......

maybe he want more than that or he think that life span will be longer if change to bigger battery...:biggrin:
My two older cars were upgraded from NS60 to NS70 and yet last 18 to 24 ths, sometimes slightly longer. My SUV that already comes with NS70 seems to fair better, 2 years plus to 3 years....:biggrin:

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
Bigger doesn't means longer. Probably check for items that deteriorate the battery life span

ken yeang

Battery life span varies....from 2-3 years most of the time.

Some engine bays are damn hot, and constant heat exposure to the battery can kill the battery faster.
Others include low battery water, vibration, physical damages (drop, knock, melted casing), battery water contamination, overcharged, etc oso can kill battery fast....

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
My two older cars were upgraded from NS60 to NS70 and yet last 18 to 24 ths, sometimes slightly longer. My SUV that already comes with NS70 seems to fair better, 2 years plus to 3 years....:biggrin:
mine not so lucky man.. L5 with NS 60 seems last more than 12 months only but alza use NS40 last more than 24 months..:driver::biggrin::biggrin:

Battery life span varies....from 2-3 years most of the time.

Some engine bays are damn hot, and constant heat exposure to the battery can kill the battery faster.
Others include low battery water, vibration, physical damages (drop, knock, melted casing), battery water contamination, overcharged, etc oso can kill battery fast....
I did aluminum foil panels to block the radiator heat from the battery in all my cars.....:driver:

kayour

Apr 5, 2006
mine, normally can last to 2.5-3 years..if i drive it 50km+/day
but, after my wife use it, for about 5-6km/day... after 1 year the battery about to 'kong'
left it for 3-4 day...then need to 'jump start'
maybe as some mechanic said-caj tak masuk, due to short distance travel...maybe la

mine, normally can last to 2.5-3 years..if i drive it 50km+/day
but, after my wife use it, for about 5-6km/day... after 1 year the battery about to 'kong'
left it for 3-4 day...then need to 'jump start'
maybe as some mechanic said-caj tak masuk, due to short distance travel...maybe la
Mine is the opposite then, since the SUV which the battery last longer is driven by my wife, like for 5-6km per day only. Mine 40 to 50km daily did not last as long.....:hmmmm:

kayour

Apr 5, 2006
should check alternator...or leakage somewhere
or the battery itself [fm] is not ok...

joev8796

Oct 23, 2008
34B19L (NS40), 38B19L (NS40ZL) and 46B24L (NS60L) are in same width category as indicated by the B in their new JIS code. You don't have to change the battery bracket when you upgrade from NS40 to NS60 but the length of the battery needs to take into account if the platform can fit in the battery with the length upgrade from 19cm to 24cm. To check if you can upgrade or to know you battery dimension, the new JIS code for car battery can be explain with the example of 34B19L. 34 is the performance ranking, the higher the greater or better. B is the width category. 19 is the battery length in cm and L is the polarity of the battery terminal.

As for the terminal head and direction, you may keep using all the L side battery with non-standard terminal (small terminal).

According to the JIS, a 34B19L (NS40) has 9 plates per cell, 38B19L (NS40ZL) has 11 plates per cell and 46B24L (NS60L) has 13 plates per cell. NS40 and NS40ZL are in same dimension, just the performance ranking is slightly higher, NS40ZL considered as an upgrade.

For the evaporating of the electrolyte, it can be due to the high engine bay temperature, overcharged or the battery parts eg vent plugs couldn't block the vapour when releasing the hydrogen gas from the battery, battery casing cracked...

Just got my car a new paint. Very shinny now. Do I still need to wax it so that it can has one layer of extra protection? Paint shop say no need wo. What do you think?