Engine Oil from Tesco

paohyean

Jul 28, 2010
I was over at Tesco Puchong today when I saw them selling Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40 for only RM150..
Is it worth it??
Or is there something fishy with this oil??
I'm almost scheduled for my service..
So when I came across this I thought of asking all the sifus at ZTH first..
Advices??

Those stock are direct from Europe, probably Tesco UK. Highly doubt an established company like them will sell fake oil. I bought 2 tubs from them, the Shell Helix Ultra

paohyean

Jul 28, 2010
Those stock are direct from Europe, probably Tesco UK. Highly doubt an established company like them will sell fake oil. I bought 2 tubs from them, the Shell Helix Ultra
In that case is it safe for use in Malaysia??
Especially with our type of climate..

The formulation is slightly different in European countries, but there's nothing wrong with using those formulations in your car here. My guess is the local one would be better though, but not by much.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Should be fine. I've bought several times from Tesco when they're having such promotions. No difference than when you buy elsewhere.

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
I will always stock up every time they do promotion, after using the 1st time i felt its better then what local selling, maybe due to premium base oil used, using my 7th tub already... best part is cheaper then what u can buy at local spare part shop, even they stock up from tesco...

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
I'm using Castro Magnatec bought from Tesco too, absolutely no issue. Maybe slightly different formulation but I couldn't feel any difference from the local one except the API classification SM while local is SN. Tesco does not sell fake nor imitation.

paohyean

Jul 28, 2010
Thanks for all the feedbacks..
Considering that so many here have been using it already..
Looks like I can safely purchase one to use soon..
Thanks a lot again to all..
=D

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
assumed carrefour also the same?

UPDATED: My car was found

Thanks for ZTH members concerns, my car was found on 29/03 at PJ Assunta, looks like the car theft hit the round-about and ran away, but PJ police inform me on 13/04, this was due to Puchong branch police never update to the system, took them some time to find my contact.

Now the car at workshop for repair (claim insurance), lower front portion quite bad, wind screen also broken a bit, looks like the car theft knock his head on the windscreen (good!!!)...