Buying a Perdana

pathfinder

pathfinder

Mar 6, 2005
Hi

Im in need for a 2nd car ...with limited budget. I don't want to finance/loan. So, Perdana is right candidate. ..roomy, comfort, sufficient power and affordable spareparts.

Max budget rm10k

Should i go for SEi non v6 or better v6? V6 is sweet engine. But a bit afraid of extra maintenance. Even after Proton fitted atf cooler, the gearbox still problematic or not? Other than gearbox, what are common problem?

For SEi non V6, what is last production year?

Please give some comments on SEi vs V6

Thank you

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Perdana SEI last production year is on 1998.

I think in my opinion, SEI is the cheaper option to maintain since it is using an inline 4 engine compared to V6. V6 engine definitely requires a higher maintenance costs due to 2 extra cylinders. Workmanship costs for V6 is also higher than SEI.

Look at it this way.

4G63 SOHC (SEI) VS 6A12 DOHC (V6)

1 Cylinder head VS 2 Cylinder Heads
4 Pistons VS 6 Pistons
1 Camshaft VS 4 Camshafts
1 Cam pulley VS 4 Cam pulleys
1 Exhaust manifold VS 2 Exhaust manifolds

Perdana SEI last production year is on 1998.

I think in my opinion, SEI is the cheaper option to maintain since it is using an inline 4 engine compared to V6. V6 engine definitely requires a higher maintenance costs due to 2 extra cylinders. Workmanship costs for V6 is also higher than SEI.

Look at it this way.

4G63 SOHC (SEI) VS 6A12 DOHC (V6)

1 Cylinder head VS 2 Cylinder Heads
4 Pistons VS 6 Pistons
1 Camshaft VS 4 Camshafts
1 Cam pulley VS 4 Cam pulleys
1 Exhaust manifold VS 2 Exhaust manifolds
12valve vs 24 valve
4 spark plugs vs 6 spark plugs (workmanship is expensive to remove the rear plugs)

pathfinder

pathfinder

Mar 6, 2005
Haha..Thanks guys

V6 is cheap now. So tempted

Both SEi and V6 engine are reliable?

Any problematic sensors?

Spark plugs cost to change maybe can use expensive plugs, change every 80,000km = 3 years

Any tricks to enhanced gearbox reliability?

Maybe use fully synthetic atf and larger atf cooler?

pathfinder

pathfinder

Mar 6, 2005
Hi
Original V6 absorbers made by Kayaba or Apm ?

Anyway...which lowering is best? lower but acceptable comfort ride

kurt_629

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Once lowered the travel is less, comfort sure less dy......
yeah.. not forgetting you need to change lower arms, drive shaft etc..
every year, its becoming a part of the SOP.

my mechanic told me yesterday that my drive shaft is gone again..
3 set within 3 years..

I guess it must the kampong road that is killing them..
high hump + lowered = spend $

i have some questions to ask all the sifu around here that i had a gti year 2000...
1. how to install a safc with siemen ecu???
2. what size of exhaust and how to suit for it... ori is around 2' ... what i mean is after 4-2-1 to the end???
3. i heard that some ppl said that change the ecu and head to mivec will be improve a lot... only change that 2 things??? how abt the piston and valve??? and how abt the fuel respond will be use more or least???