4age 20v bt stock vs b 16 a stock vs mivec 1.6 stock

B16B Corolla

Jul 13, 2009
Same engine put in different car will have different output, no point to compare like this . Both of these engine have their own potential and fans. Powerwise, definitely B16A comes first, durability, 20v..MIVEC , no idea..

YUZZRAY

Oct 18, 2005
KAJANG,SELANGOR
He..he.. we've discussing about this long time ago.. but no conclusion.. anyway..b16b,20v & mivec has its own specialties..

ae101 RASR

Aug 24, 2011
TAWAU
thanks for the reply sifu, what about mivec evo x n/a compare with 4age 20v bt which one is more power??????

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
I am a toyota fan... But I must say, all these engines makes similar power. They differ only in operation and character... The highest is MIVEC however because to my knowledge, there is a version that makes 170 hp bar the Nissan Neo VVL that makes 180 hp.

But, Honda B16B will normally win because the car is lighter, and I think their gearing is slightly better (not sure on this, suspect only).

So, for engine sheer power - Neo VVL > MIVEC > B16B & Blacktop
For acceleration and speed - B16B > The rest

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
On paper :

Levin AE111 : 165ps\162Nm 4AGE
Civic EK4 : 170ps\150Nm B16A
Pulsar VZ-R : 175ps\161Nm SR16VE
Mirage CJ4A : 175ps\167Nm 4G92
Civic EK9 : 185ps\160Nm B16B
Pulsar VZ-R II : 200ps\181Nm SR16VE

On road different story cos dependent on body weight, gear ratio, final drive and no of gears..
As far as I know the fastest 1.6 tested by Best Motoring in Japan : In order.
1) Pulsar VZ-R N1 version II N15
2) Civic Type R EK9
3) Levin BZ-R AE111 6MT

Unless anyone else have different facts...pls share...

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
On paper :

Levin AE111 : 165ps\162Nm 4AGE
Civic EK4 : 170ps\150Nm B16A
Pulsar VZ-R : 175ps\161Nm SR16VE
Mirage CJ4A : 175ps\167Nm 4G92
Civic EK9 : 185ps\160Nm B16B
Pulsar VZ-R II : 200ps\181Nm SR16VE

On road different story cos dependent on body weight, gear ratio, final drive and no of gears..
As far as I know the fastest 1.6 tested by Best Motoring in Japan : In order.
1) Pulsar VZ-R N1 version II N15
2) Civic Type R EK9
3) Levin BZ-R AE111 6MT

Unless anyone else have different facts...pls share...
Dude civic got so high? On paper I never seen it advertised so high... Always 165 hp only... Where this info from? Some B16A again... Not B16B..

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Dude civic got so high? On paper I never seen it advertised so high... Always 165 hp only... Where this info from? Some B16A again... Not B16B..
Yes it is correct. Best motoring as well as I have the JDM car catalog.
Remember PS is not the same as BHP or HP. HP figures are lower.

teo1957

Nov 12, 2006
I've owned cars with 4AGE 20v Blacktop and B16A.

B16A is very lively during accelerating, maybe because of the gear ratio. Upper RPM range B16A better. But butt feel only. EG6 is also a very very light car so that must have played a part.

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
If for modding then I would go for :
1) B16A or B
2) 4AGE
3) 4G92
4) SR16VE

Honda has endless list of tuning parts followed by Toyota.

If want to keep it standard then :

1) SR16VE Version II
2) B16B
3) 4AGE 6MT
4) B16A
5) 4G92

Since these engine are old finding halfcut or engine kosong considering the price :

1) 4AGE
2) B16A
4) B16B
3) 4G92
4) SR16VE

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
just 2 share,apparently i found out even a STOCK SR16VE engine runs on 85mm pistons(a fren who owns 1 told me abt dis).....so,imagine d power & torque it'll produce..n yeah,i saw d comparo in Best Motoring too.....d Pulsar shredded d EK9 to pieces!
d reason y B16A/B is known 2 b d more "powerful" engine is becoz of it's abundance of aftermarket tuning parts.......if really stock vs stock,i got no idea coz i've never driven any stock version of all d above-mentioned engines....stock-ED got lar!hahahahhahaah

Recently i went to test drive a nissan sentra b13 with sr20ve 20v and 6 speed manual gearbox.
I am quite interested in the car.
Anybody have opinions on the reliability and maintenance?