kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Need some help and attention over here.

I have a 4g63t, evo 3.
Everything was stock.

When I bought it 3 years back, I have spent time and money to restore it back to stock.

I have replace almost everything that I could possibly think of.
- wastegate
- 3rd fuel pump
- spark plug and cable
- 3rd manifold
- double layer radiator
- boost leak test
- ecu check
- air flow sensor check

The boost now, can only reach 0.5 bar and will cough when I exceed 120km.
Should I unplug the air flow sensor, the boost can goes up to 1.0 bar
With air flow sensor, only 0.5bar

Has anyone encounter such issues?
What could possibly goes wrong?
I have visited 5 workshop but none can resolved this.

:adore:

kurt_629

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Dear sifu please help him.. seem like he kena conned by his mech omg...
thanks, mate.

conned or not.. what is done, is done..
but this car.. the amount of time and money spent to resolve this, is really a pain.

I feel so close, if I can resolve this boost issue, everything gonna be perfect.

y2188

y2188

Jan 4, 2016
Need some help and attention over here.

I have a 4g63t, evo 3.
Everything was stock.

When I bought it 3 years back, I have spent time and money to restore it back to stock.

I have replace almost everything that I could possibly think of.
- wastegate
- 3rd fuel pump
- spark plug and cable
- 3rd manifold
- double layer radiator
- boost leak test
- ecu check
- air flow sensor check

The boost now, can only reach 0.5 bar and will cough when I exceed 120km.
Should I unplug the air flow sensor, the boost can goes up to 1.0 bar
With air flow sensor, only 0.5bar

Has anyone encounter such issues?
What could possibly goes wrong?
I have visited 5 workshop but none can resolved this.

:adore:
What's your waste gate spring rate? Make sure it is correct with your desired boost level..

Btw i dont think it's nice to remove the air flow sensor and drive it because that is exactly what is needed by the ecu to calculate how much fuel to dump into your combustion chamber.

Just my 2cents. :biggrin:

kurt_629

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
What's your waste gate spring rate? Make sure it is correct with your desired boost level..

Btw i dont think it's nice to remove the air flow sensor and drive it because that is exactly what is needed by the ecu to calculate how much fuel to dump into your combustion chamber.

Just my 2cents. :biggrin:
Hi, I don't know how to identify the spring rate for wastegate but currently, is this a 2nd unit of Tial 38mm wastegate.
Original.

Yes, without the air flow sensor, it is really undriveable.
imagine the engine will stall when coming to traffic light, damn dangerous.
the only good thing is that it can continue to boost..

y2188

y2188

Jan 4, 2016
Hi, I don't know how to identify the spring rate for wastegate but currently, is this a 2nd unit of Tial 38mm wastegate.
Original.

Yes, without the air flow sensor, it is really undriveable.
imagine the engine will stall when coming to traffic light, damn dangerous.
the only good thing is that it can continue to boost..
Since you said without air flow sensor can continue boost, i guess its not wastegate problem. Hmm what ecu are you running?

Dear Focal Point,

Good day to you!

I had just recently overhaul my 15 years car's engine (top overhaul and change piston ring) after travelling for 530,000km in my proton wira. The engine cylinder still in good shape since i have been using tufoil for many years. Thanks to tufoil to surprise my forman on such a little wear on my engine block and bearings after such millage. I change piston ring and valve seal just to reduce the engine oil consumption problem, before it was 500ml every...