things to check when buying used e46

pac_jb

Feb 28, 2013
Hi broz,

Im planning to get a used e46 , just wondering what's the important things/parts to check on the car before buying it. Your advices are highly appreciated ...tq

Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000
Hi broz,

Im planning to get a used e46 , just wondering what's the important things/parts to check on the car before buying it. Your advices are highly appreciated ...tq
It'll be a good idea to test drive the car both street and highway to ensure pleasant experience free from substantial noise, vibration and harshness.

It is also a good idea to bring it to your trusted workshop (that knows BMWs) to get 3rd party assessment if the owner allows. That way the mechanic can advice what's needed to be fixed or if the car is a bad specimen to purchase (accidents / major engine issues)

Then you would probably need to ensure the interior its air con, car functions are all in working order

if the owner can provide you with serivce log / parts replacement receipts that'll be the best

pac_jb

Feb 28, 2013
Ya bro, planning to get another ride, abit confused on which engine type to take the 1.9 or 2.0, i scared if take the e46 1.9, will be under power

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
Ya bro, planning to get another ride, abit confused on which engine type to take the 1.9 or 2.0, i scared if take the e46 1.9, will be under power
which 2.0.... 6 or 4 pots? forget it if its the 6 potter, not much difference anyway... unless you go for the 2.5

pac_jb

Feb 28, 2013
Yes bro, was thinking about the 2.0 6potter, btw which is the best engine for the e46, the 1.9, 2.0 or the 2.0 6potter

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
i considered these things when i was looking for a car. basically owners told me.... a 6 cylinder bmw is much nicer than the 4 cylinder cars BUT the 2.0l models are just a pain in the arse.... similar power as the 4 potter but cost quite alot more to maintain.... fair to say since generally 6 pots would result in some parts costing yoou 1.5x more (coil plugs, sparkies, injectors blablabla)

they do however looooove the larger cc ones...... they highly recommended the 2.5 models which they said are very reliable and cost about the same to maintain as the 2.0 (heck its generally the same engine)

Yup, maintenance higher but the silky smooth engine of the 6 is really nice.......hhahahhaha

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
- 6 cylinder. Sound good too for 2.0/2.2. Good enough for cruising (120km/h at 3k rpm)
- Engine wise, evaluate the radiator spare plastic tank. Tends to dry up and brittle.
- Interior, look for clean interior as many out there are not well-maintained (Seats, roof cloth, garnish)
- Plenty of e46 out there, try to get those with carbon bits.

wsonny

May 21, 2005
Ampang
1.9cc is much easy to maintain, 2.0 4 potter engine is just like princess need to take extra care on her. if ur budget is enough go for 2.5 much reliable and powerful

pac_jb

Feb 28, 2013
I was thinking of getting 1.9 too at first, but when I check , there is nearly 30hp different compared to the 2.0, is it really hard to maintain the 2.0, I have heard some bad reviews regarding that engine too. I scared if I get the 1.9 , then really cant enjoy the ride

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
go for the 1.9 or head straight for the 2.5's.... extra work to jaga the 2.0 not worth it lah... 2.5 baru ade torque:driver:

i used proton wit e3 engine wit some mod.. currently my car drink ron97 fuel and the result is
RM10/28km or less.. my fren said "ok la tu" but for me not.. how urs evo?