kurt_629

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Hello folks,

what size of tyres are your perdana on?

Mine is 225 45 17, on coilover aka adjustable.

any idea what is the stock size?
I'm thinking of going for 225 55 17 for more comfort..

But will that be funny?
front 225 55 17, rear 225 45 17..
eventually all will be 225 55 17 if can fit.
No spacer please

I can only change 2 tyre at 1 time..

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Hello folks,

what size of tyres are your perdana on?

Mine is 225 45 17, on coilover aka adjustable.

any idea what is the stock size?
I'm thinking of going for 225 55 17 for more comfort..

But will that be funny?
front 225 55 17, rear 225 45 17..
eventually all will be 225 55 17 if can fit.
No spacer please

I can only change 2 tyre at 1 time..
Way too big. If you want a bit more comfort then either 235/45/17 or 215/50/17.

kurt_629

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Way too big. If you want a bit more comfort then either 235/45/17 or 215/50/17.
if I not wrong, 215/50/17 is something like 225/45/17.

235/45/17 is a good consideration although tyre at this size, is kinda rare.

the next alternative that is economical is 225/50/17

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
if I not wrong, 215/50/17 is something like 225/45/17.

235/45/17 is a good consideration although tyre at this size, is kinda rare.

the next alternative that is economical is 225/50/17
No, 225/45 is 10.1 cm sidewall but 215/50 is 10.75 cm so over half a cm taller hence would be a bit more comfortable. 235/45 also almost the same height as 215/50 at 10.6 cm. 225/50 is 11.25 cm sidewall height so even more comfortable but already >1 cm taller than your current size now. I'm actually using that same size but I think for your car might still be a bit too big. Then 225/55 is surely too big already. How wide are your rims?

kurt_629

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
No, 225/45 is 10.1 cm sidewall but 215/50 is 10.75 cm so over half a cm taller hence would be a bit more comfortable. 235/45 also almost the same height as 215/50 at 10.6 cm. 225/50 is 11.25 cm sidewall height so even more comfortable but already >1 cm taller than your current size now. I'm actually using that same size but I think for your car might still be a bit too big. Then 225/55 is surely too big already. How wide are your rims?
I'm using super advan 8J & 9J

is 225 50 17 a safer bet since only 1cm more :biggrin:

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

Wah that wide then cannot use 215 la, even 225 also cannot for the 9j!
In that case, the best is actually to use 245/45/17, can fit both 8j & 9j width. Sidewall height is 11cm so 0.9 cm taller than 225/45 so surely will be more comfortable and much more grip too! I use this size for my rear at 8.5j only.

225/50/17...

i'm using this on my scooby...wifey said more comfort....yet without kacau much cornering....

225/50 is 3.55% bigger in diameter, 235/45R17 is closer at 1.42% bigger but 235/45 should be much more expensive.
What tyres are you using now? You can use back same size go for some comfort tyres, but later don't complain tyres no performance.....lol:rofl:

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
225/50 is 3.55% bigger in diameter, 235/45R17 is closer at 1.42% bigger but 235/45 should be much more expensive.
What tyres are you using now? You can use back same size go for some comfort tyres, but later don't complain tyres no performance.....lol:rofl:
I think going to lesser comfort tires if still using the same 225/45 will not make much difference.

On my forester, from the OEM Conti MC5 to GY Wrangler Triplemax can feel a lot of difference. Even my wife commented on the different. Both are 225/60R17.
The MC5 were soft and comfortable but body roll a lot, The Wrangler have firm ride but on bad road, pretty bumpy but very much less body roll. In fact I reduce the air pressure on the GY for town use.
MC5 sidewall 1 ply rating, GY 2 plies.....:driver:

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
On my forester, from the OEM Conti MC5 to GY Wrangler Triplemax can feel a lot of difference. Even my wife commented on the different. Both are 225/60R17.
The MC5 were soft and comfortable but body roll a lot, The Wrangler have firm ride but on bad road, pretty bumpy but very much less body roll. In fact I reduce the air pressure on the GY for town use.
MC5 sidewall 1 ply rating, GY 2 plies.....:driver:
But wrangler is SUV tire, hence should make more difference I think. If say compare Conti CSC5 and MC5 for size 225/45, might not be much difference in comfort, wouldn't it?

See that's why you're the resident tire sifu! :biggrin:

But wrangler is SUV tire, hence should make more difference I think. If say compare Conti CSC5 and MC5 for size 225/45, might not be much difference in comfort, wouldn't it?

See that's why you're the resident tire sifu! :biggrin:
Not sure of CSC range but should have stiffer sidewall. The thing is some use soft sidewall tyres then complain cannot corner hard. Put more air pressure then complain no comfort......lol

Even though called SUV tyre and rated M&S, but not for off road like A/T tyres.

6UE5t

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Ideally he actually needs to use 225/45 front and 255/40, but most likely cannot fit that wide tires into his rear fenders and will still be about the same comfort (or lack of it!). :biggrin:

Ideally if want comfort go back to 16"......lol

kurt_629

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Wah that wide then cannot use 215 la, even 225 also cannot for the 9j!
In that case, the best is actually to use 245/45/17, can fit both 8j & 9j width. Sidewall height is 11cm so 0.9 cm taller than 225/45 so surely will be more comfortable and much more grip too! I use this size for my rear at 8.5j only.
ok, this is another question about super advan.
based on the spec, it should be 8j and 9j but there are also 7j and 8j version
but when I got the car, the tyre were at 215/45/17.
even when I upgrade to 225/45/17, it still fit nicely.
I could be wrong.. lets say if mine is 7j 8j instead.

225/50/17...

i'm using this on my scooby...wifey said more comfort....yet without kacau much cornering....
ideally, wallet friendly too.
provided it don't rub when I full lock the steering.
225/50/17 cost around RM350 for a Korean made tyre over here.

yup, bro
235/45/17 cost is much expensive.

I'm on 225/45/17 currently.
I cannot downgrade.. :proud: