wut is the best tyre size for myvi??

powerman

Dec 19, 2011
im about to change my myvi tyre coz its already done 50k km..... i thought if putting 16inch rims and 205/50/16 tyres but i heard it will cause problem to the arm and all.... so i change my mind to 15x7jj offset=38 and 195/55/15 tyres.... i just wanna find out which is the best size and which tyre for myvi.... give me some advice sifu....

Be careful with offset 38, as the wheels may scrub your wheel arch fenders on full load.
If sure the clearance is okay, then go ahead.
Best size but you have mentioned 195/55R15. This size is 2.1% bigger in diameter over your original. You can also opt for 195/50R15 and this is slightly smaller then the original.
What tyres to use depends on your priorities and budget.
PS3 is budget is no problem Around RM300 per pc. GY F1 D5, Hankook V12Evo, Yoko C-Drive 2, Federal 595Evo are a few to choose from.

If using 16", 205/50R16 to too big, maybe 195/50R16 only.....

OKLY

Nov 26, 2011
Planning to upsize mine to 15" and was thinking of 195/55/R15 as well. With a budget of say plus minus RM200 (maximum around RM220) per piece, what are some options I have? Any list of tires from RM200 below all the way up to the maximum I'm willing to fork out at RM220 per piece?

Also, while 195/55/R15 seems to be good, why are many shops recommending 195/50/R15 instead?

Your opinions are very much appreciated.

powerman

Dec 19, 2011
thanks for the info bro!!! but i will like to ask ,now im currently using the original spring but i intend to change to racing spring but if i use 195/50/15 will it be too low?? actually wut is the best offset for myvi?? my first choice is ps3 la but wut is ur suggestion ??

---------- Post added at 01:37 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:03 AM ----------

Planning to upsize mine to 15" and was thinking of 195/55/R15 as well. With a budget of say plus minus RM200 (maximum around RM220) per piece, what are some options I have? Any list of tires from RM200 below all the way up to the maximum I'm willing to fork out at RM220 per piece?

Also, while 195/55/R15 seems to be good, why are many shops recommending 195/50/R15 instead?

maybe u can try check out the bridgestone MY-01 heard that they are quite good in wet and dry , like wut vr2turbo also around RM200 plus (GY F1 D5, Hankook V12Evo, Yoko C-Drive 2, Federal 595Evo)..

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Puchong
In fact, if you really want to avoid having issues,it's best to stick with a 6"-6.5" width rim and 185/55R15 or 195/50R15 tyre sizing.

On a side note, I would avoid MY-01, they ain't in the same league as the rest of the tyres you mentioned. The Hankook V12 Evo and Federal 595 Evo is pretty recommended in my books after having used both. I currently run Federal 595 RS-R on my own main ride but that's just being me as I have pretty low mileage due to driving several cars.

If you have read my post above, I mentioned 195/55R15 as 2.1% larger in diameter over your original.
The car will become heavier, braking from higher speed is less effective, however it will be more comfortable. 195/50R15 is slightly smaller then the OE tyres, so the tyre shop does not want you to feel too much difference.

Here are some prices.....
195/50R15
Bridgestone Potenza RE002 - RM290 Hin Leong (Dec 11)
Bridgestone MY01 - RM175 Hin Leong (Dec 11)
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM260 Quicksave USJ (Sep 11)
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM245 Ban Hooi (Dec 11)
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM253 Hin Leong (Dec 11)
Goodyear Assurance - RM198 Hin Leong (Dec 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM250 Ban Hooi (Dec 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM228 Hin Leong (Dec 11)
Toyo T1R - RM260 Hin Leong (Dec 11)

195/55R15
Bridgestone Potenza RE-001 - RM280 ED Tyres Shah Alam (Dec 11)
Bridgestone Potenza RE-002 - RM360 TMK Rawang (Dec 11)
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 - RM175 Heng Heng, Teluk Intan (Jan 11) (includes B+A+V)
Continental CC5 - RM192 Heng Heng, Teluk Intan (Jan 11) (includes B+A+V)
Continental CC5 - RM185 Klang (Mar 11)
Continental CC5 - RM210 Jooi Seng, Klang (Apr 11)
Continental CC5 - RM230 Goh Swee Hin Penang (May 11)
Continental CC5 - RM210 Ukay Perdana - (Aug 11)...need to nego.
Continental CC5 - RM205 ED Tyres Shah Alam (Dec 11)
Goodyear Assurance - RM200 Ban Hooi, Klang (Dec 11) include B+A+V
Goodyear Assurance - RM215 Subang 2 (Jul 11) include B+V
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM250 Ban Hooi Klang (Aug11)
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM279 Quicksave USJ (Sep 11)
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM280 Hawk Tyres JB Jln Sri Pelangi (Dec 11) Include B+A+V+R
Hankook V12- RM230 Auto City Tyre, Shah Alam (Nov 11)
Hankook V12- RM230 Johor (Mar 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM235 Heng Heng, Teluk Intan (Jan 11) (includes B+A+V)
Michelin PS3 - RM270 Kuching, Michelin Center - Goodway Tyres (Feb 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM235 Klang, Goodwood Tyres (Mac 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM255 Tek Ming, Sunway (Apr 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM250 Weng Heng Bkt Kemuning (Balancing only)
Michelin PS3 - RM240 Shah Alam seksyen 27 (May 11), price for 4 pieces incl valve, balancing, alignment. 2011 stock.
Michelin PS3 - RM275 Ban Hooi Klang (Dec 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM250 Hin Leong (Dec 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM275 ED Tyre Shah Alam (Dec 11)
Michelin XM2 - RM260 ED Tyre Shah Alam (Dec 11)
Michelin XM2 - RM245 Hin Leong (Dec'11)
Michelin XM2 - RM 275 CKL Subang Jaya. (Aug 11)
Michelin XM2 - RM255 Ban Hooi Klang (Dec 11)
Silverstone Synergy M5 - RM160 sunway Tek Ming (Aug 11)
Toyo Proxes R888 - RM380 TMK Rawang (Dec 11)
Toyo Proxes T1R - RM330 TMK Rawang (Dec 11)
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 - RM470 TMK Rawang (Dec 11)
Yokohama C-Drive 2 - RM235 Tayar Tiong SEA Park (Dec 11)
Yokohama C-Drive 2 - RM210 ED Tyre Shah Alam (Dec 11)
Yokohama S Drive - RM320 TMK Rawang (Dec 11)

---------- Post added at 08:24 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:55 AM ----------

thanks for the info bro!!! but i will like to ask ,now im currently using the original spring but i intend to change to racing spring but if i use 195/50/15 will it be too low?? actually wut is the best offset for myvi?? my first choice is ps3 la but wut is ur suggestion ??

---------- Post added at 01:37 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:03 AM ----------

maybe u can try check out the bridgestone MY-01 heard that they are quite good in wet and dry , like wut vr2turbo also around RM200 plus (GY F1 D5, Hankook V12Evo, Yoko C-Drive 2, Federal 595Evo)..
Nope, if you are planning to lower your ride, all the better to use 195/50 instead, as 195/55 which is higher may scrub your wheel fenders, as mentioned may scrub when fully loaded, which is almost same as lowered....For 15" I think have only 2 offset which is 38 and 40. More in 38, and less in 40.
Even though looks little, because difference only 2mm, but when talk above scrubbing 2mm is a lot.
If cannot get the rims with the right offset, next will be rolling the wheels fender, meaning like knocking the fenders.
If you have the buget PS3 is good, but most expensive. Have a look at the prices I posted above....
As mentioned by bro. Grexer, give MY-01 a miss if you want performance....

OKLY

Nov 26, 2011
Nope, if you are planning to lower your ride, all the better to use 195/50 instead, as 195/55 which is higher may scrub your wheel fenders, as mentioned may scrub when fully loaded, which is almost same as lowered....For 15" I think have only 2 offset which is 38 and 40. More in 38, and less in 40.
Even though looks little, because difference only 2mm, but when talk above scrubbing 2mm is a lot.
If cannot get the rims with the right offset, next will be rolling the wheels fender, meaning like knocking the fenders.
If you have the buget PS3 is good, but most expensive. Have a look at the prices I posted above....
As mentioned by bro. Grexer, give MY-01 a miss if you want performance....
Hmm.. My car is already lowered, so 195/50/R15 would be the safest bet to not hit the fenders right? How much comfort will I sacrifice (if put in words) if compared between 195/50 and 195/55?

Oh and with 195/50/R15 my ride will be slightly lower as well right? But seems like 195/50/R15 will be cheaper, nearer to my budget.

Hmm.. My car is already lowered, so 195/50/R15 would be the safest bet to not hit the fenders right? How much comfort will I sacrifice (if put in words) if compared between 195/50 and 195/55?

Oh and with 195/50/R15 my ride will be slightly lower as well right? But seems like 195/50/R15 will be cheaper, nearer to my budget.
Well, comfort also depends on the individual, but if you choose a softer sidewall tyres then even in 50 series it is not that bad in ride comfort. If not you can opt for 185/55R15. This is about the same size as 195/50, only tyre width is smaller by 10mm.
Yes, with 195/50 the car will sit very slightly lower and yes, cheaper too.

185/55 less choices here as most go for 195/50 or 195/55

185/55R15
Michelin PS3 - RM220 MW Tyremart (Feb 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM220 Rinting Tyre Tmn Rinting JB (Jan 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM200 Chin Auto, Pandan Indah KL (Feb 11) cash, free alignment/balancing
Michelin PS3 - RM229 Modern Tyres, Seremban Jaya (Dec 11)
Silverstone Synergy M5 - RM210 Tek Ming Auto Bdr Sunway (Nov 11)

OKLY

Nov 26, 2011
Well, comfort also depends on the individual, but if you choose a softer sidewall tyres then even in 50 series it is not that bad in ride comfort. If not you can opt for 185/55R15. This is about the same size as 195/50, only tyre width is smaller by 10mm.
Yes, with 195/50 the car will sit very slightly lower and yes, cheaper too.

185/55 less choices here as most go for 195/50 or 195/55

185/55R15
Michelin PS3 - RM220 MW Tyremart (Feb 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM220 Rinting Tyre Tmn Rinting JB (Jan 11)
Michelin PS3 - RM200 Chin Auto, Pandan Indah KL (Feb 11) cash, free alignment/balancing
Michelin PS3 - RM229 Modern Tyres, Seremban Jaya (Dec 11)
Silverstone Synergy M5 - RM210 Tek Ming Auto Bdr Sunway (Nov 11)
Last but not least, what offset for the rims that can be used for 15" paired with 195/50 or 195/55?

I'm considering this Sparco Assetto Gara and found that it has a offset of 42.

If using 195/50, chances of scrubbing is less. If 195/55, it is because the tyres are larger/higher. If can find offset 42 even better, normally 15" comes at 38, some 40.
But with offset 42 the wheels may be inner and won't look so sporty. At 38 it is like pushing the wheels out of the wheel well, hence the scrubbing, so it is your choice......
If 195/50 with offset 38 may not scrub, you will have to try it out to find out. Offset 42, should not scrub at all.....

OKLY

Nov 26, 2011
If using 195/50, chances of scrubbing is less. If 195/55, it is because the tyres are larger/higher. If can find offset 42 even better, normally 15" comes at 38, some 40.
But with offset 42 the wheels may be inner and won't look so sporty. At 38 it is like pushing the wheels out of the wheel well, hence the scrubbing, so it is your choice......
If 195/50 with offset 38 may not scrub, you will have to try it out to find out. Offset 42, should not scrub at all.....
Thanks for the great help!

Looks like I will be going for 195/50/R15 and may be looking at the PS3 since it is just slightly above RM220 at certain shops. As for rims, will take your advise and try it out if the offset is 38. So I think the Sparco rims should have no problems though.:biggrin:

Don't choose the wheel design by it's looks on the shelf. Get them to place at your car wheels then stand back and have a look. It will look different as now you are matching the rims design to the car's shape.....
If possible, get them to trial an offset 38 rims on, then you can have real look at it....

OKLY

Nov 26, 2011
Don't choose the wheel design by it's looks on the shelf. Get them to place at your car wheels then stand back and have a look. It will look different as now you are matching the rims design to the car's shape.....
If possible, get them to trial an offset 38 rims on, then you can have real look at it....
Will do, just that now what I have in mind would be the Sparco Assetto Gara and also another Advanti which has a similar design to it. Whether it will blend in with the whole car, have yet to try it on. Will get the shop to put it on for me to have a look this Saturday when I survey around. :biggrin:

i here tat n got c it the member here of nickname by (GTR2579)
got sell the engine 4G91 1.5 TWIN CAM,but is carburetor?????
who here got c before?? is it same power of fuel injection??
which 1 better? coz my car is satria 1.3 carb,hear tat say no need much thing coz there also carburetor,only change engine n jpj register tat all,so wats ue answer is???