Need Help For tyre selection KU36/Achilles 123S

will3830

Jul 25, 2010
Dear all sepang sifu,

Need your help on below, try find in the net but not much comparison,

Tyre : Kumho KU36 / Achilles 123 S
Size : 235/45/17
Purpose : Track day & Time Attack ( Sepang )

Tread wear is different, but anyone have experianced the different between these 2? Or anyone use 123S before?

**Looking for tyre that can use street and track
**Abit low on budget

Many thanks.

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
i know alot of guys say ku36 perform quite good.. but no idea on achilles 123s.. but currently i'm using achilles atr sport 235-45-17..

mADmAN

why not go for R888 straight since its not gonna be used for the streets?

will3830

Jul 25, 2010
sorry bro, my bad, i dint state why i only choose these 2 tyre, cuz Kumho i got friend can help me get it at RM2000 for 4 pc, achilles RM1600++ for 4 pc, am abit low on budget hence would like to get some advice.

I did drive my car some time on the street hence R888 was not suitable and very expensive for me.

Achilles 123 overheats very fast. In Dato Sago track about 4 laps and the tyre doesn't grip as nice anymore. Cold and first 3 laps it was great. After 4 laps got under and oversteer characteristics. Can see the tyre peeling off also.

will3830

Jul 25, 2010
4gbanger, RSR i think around 700++ per pc :-(.. i really love to have it if i can affort.

Izso, many thanks for your info..May i know wat is the tyre pressure u running before warm up?

BTW, anyone interested to join coming track day at 17/10/2013 ( 10am - 2 pm ) RM550 i think, according to my friend there still slot left.

mADmAN

since itll be also used for streets...id recommend the KU36

EDIT: by the way... can pls help me ask ur friend if he can get KU36 in 205/50/15? and price? then can PM me the result? got a friend looking to change tires soon

will3830

Jul 25, 2010
spectator is free bro..i think got some people set up booth over there also and will be cover by 4 major car magazine..come look look see see la.

4gbanger, RSR i think around 700++ per pc :-(.. i really love to have it if i can affort.

Izso, many thanks for your info..May i know wat is the tyre pressure u running before warm up?

BTW, anyone interested to join coming track day at 17/10/2013 ( 10am - 2 pm ) RM550 i think, according to my friend there still slot left.
Erm.. I think I had it at 220kpa

WAJA2003

since itll be also used for streets...id recommend the KU36

EDIT: by the way... can pls help me ask ur friend if he can get KU36 in 205/50/15? and price? then can PM me the result? got a friend looking to change tires soon
ku36 205/50/15 RM2xx only

No more Z4M coupes for Petronas Syntium Team in 2011's MME race next weekend. Set to return to Malaysia's largest homegrown race event this year with a new line-up, the team will now be more competitive than ever with their decision to run the Merc SLS AMG GT3 cars bearing numbers 28 and 15. The team's decision to move from BMW to Mercedes also marks the entry of a new brand for the...