Gearbox manual 222 vs 312

hex999

Oct 27, 2011
What are the pro's and con's if im using if for the 6a12 engine? Need a.s.a.p replies :D
Since it's almost impossible to get a full set eterna v6 gearbox 312 now for below RM4.5K, I decided to go for the gearbox code 222 eterna v6. Can you guys explain to me what are the main differences in terms of speed, acceleration and reliability of this gearboxes?

312 from eterna 2.0 - shorter gear ratio
222 from eterna 1.8 - longer gear ratio

if you're on v6n/a, 222 should be sufficient enuf.......
but v6 tt should go for 312.

sorry wrong info earlier on...
if v6 n/a can go for 222,232 or 312, for v6tt should be 332. fly

in your case, 312 is better....but depends on the seller's price.

cos 232, 222 flywheel is 8.5" 312, 332 is 9"

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
actually. 222 has taller ratio (longer), 312 is shorter.
from what i gather from borak2 with ppl who uses 222 and 312, mechanic and R3 rally mechanic, i gather that:
1. acceleration - 312 superb, 222 normal.
2. cruising @100kmh - 312 more than 3000rpm, 222 at around 2800rpm
3. FC - 312 better in town, 222 better in hiway.
4. price - 312 more about rm1k
5. 222 usually from 6A11 (1.8). 312 got 2 versions/different codes - one from 6A12 NA, 1 from 6A12 NA Mivec (even better).
and ppl call 222 as gearbox 'termenung' where it'll take a while to get u to top speed.

so based on that, if u have 222 or 312, it's your choice.
if u wanna save money and just get normal manual box, just get 222.

from what i gather from borak2 with ppl who uses 222 and 312, mechanic and R3 rally mechanic, i gather that:
5. 222 usually from 6A11 (1.8). 312 got 2 versions/different codes - one from 6A12 NA, 1 from 6A12 NA Mivec (even better).
and ppl call 222 as gearbox 'termenung' where it'll take a while to get u to top speed.

haha yr right...my info terbalik hehe....gotta ammend it..

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya

oppss..
for no. (2), i meant cruising at 110kmh not 100kmh..

mymax

Oct 13, 2008

i love the tagline for 222 gb, hehehe..
but that's the fact, much longer time needed to reach the top speed..

oppss..
for no. (2), i meant cruising at 110kmh not 100kmh..
is it true? mine is 3k rpm @ 105km/h, and that's normal from what i've read..
but ppl say 312 rpm reading is lower, so which one is true? :confused:

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
i love the tagline for 222 gb, hehehe..
but that's the fact, much longer time needed to reach the top speed..

is it true? mine is 3k rpm @ 105km/h, and that's normal from what i've read..
but ppl say 312 rpm reading is lower, so which one is true? :confused:
i actually never pay any attention to the rpm when trying frens car. just rembat saje.. hehe..
anyway, that's what Niezam and Din Petir told me about 222. longer ratio = lower rpm.
for example, Niezam's FC was very low when we were convoying for TDS2. only 1 takuk from full tank..
312 reading is higher = shorter ratio..

222 gb termenungggg..... :thefinger:

mymax

Oct 13, 2008
i actually never pay any attention to the rpm when trying frens car. just rembat saje.. hehe..
anyway, that's what Niezam and Din Petir told me about 222. longer ratio = lower rpm.
for example, Niezam's FC was very low when we were convoying for TDS2. only 1 takuk from full tank..
312 reading is higher = shorter ratio..

222 gb termenungggg..... :thefinger:
yup, suppose to be like that.. shorter ratio for better pick-up..
so, if the 312 rpm reading is higher than the current one then it's ok lor with my current gb..
i'm ok with termenung, as i'm not a kaki tekan.. better to set my autocruise @ 100km/h and feel the V6 sound.. kekeke :thefinger: