Tyres for Myvi - Please recommend

wiz83

Jan 16, 2013
My bro needs all 4 tyres replaced for his Myvi.

Need a good recommendation for tyres that has good grip in wet conditions, soft, least road noise. Tahan long or not doesn't matter, as safety is more important.

Also, recommend what is the cheapest/best value for money options, and where can I get the cheapest tyres installed at?

Thanks bros and sis.

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
Hi, I would like to recommend you michelin XM2 which it gives you quiet ride, good in both dry and wet, and it can last quite long (claimed by michelin). Besides, it's a soft compound tyre. But, it's abit pricey compare to other brands such as yokohama A-drive and C-drive.

My bro needs all 4 tyres replaced for his Myvi.

Need a good recommendation for tyres that has good grip in wet conditions, soft, least road noise. Tahan long or not doesn't matter, as safety is more important.

Also, recommend what is the cheapest/best value for money options, and where can I get the cheapest tyres installed at?

Thanks bros and sis.
Assuming your bro is using stock tyres (185/65/14) then you don't really have much choice :

- Continental Contact 1
- Goodyear Duraplus
- *I think* Michelin XM2
- Some old stock Yokohama Neova AD07 (super duper grip but goddam noisy la)

With the Continental being the lowest ranked tyre. Prices range between RM160 to RM240 a piece depending on where you buy from. Since you're changing all 4 tyres then it'll be worth the drive to Klang or Rawang to get these tyres since they are roughly RM20 to RM40 a piece cheaper than KL prices. That's a savings of RM80 to RM160 if you change all 4. If it's just 2 pieces then anywhere in KL is fine la. The smaller savings isn't worth the toll and petrol to go to Klang (unless you're going there for bakkutteh.. )

If it's 15" then your choices go up significantly

- Michelin Pilot Sport 3
- Hankook V12
- Kumho dunno what model
- Goodyear Eagle F1 (best in class water grip tyre)
- Yokohama C-drive2
- Yokohama S-drive

All of these tyres price between RM220 to RM280 with the cheapest being Hankook which you can get from Sunway. I recently got my C-drive for RM240 a piece in Sungai Long, I heard it's about RM220 or RM230 in Klang.

If you really want to know more about where to go and whats good, try pm-ing vr2turbo. We all call him the tayarking for good reason! :biggrin:

Can consider Michelin XM2 for that size. Dry and Wet also both consider good. But there are limits to it of course. Is a Green Concept
tyre, so has longer lifespan and I find it comfortable.

MAAN PV6

Nov 21, 2012
Bro try 2 use "good year", i feel it has good grip in rain, and the important thing check alignment and Tyre balancing every 6months.

---------- Post added at 02:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:19 PM ----------

and if u r a frequent driver then u need to check every 3months.....

How much Michelin XM2? And where to get them for best price?
185/65R14
Michelin XM2 - RM195 HupShun SS3 PJ (Nov 11)
Michelin XM2 - RM178 Speed Line Rahman Putra (Jan 12)-balancing & alignment inclusive
Michelin XM2 - RM240 Beustone Tyre Subang Perdana (Jan 12) manufacturing date 4511
Michelin XM2 - RM213 Pusat Servic Tayar BH, Lebuh Medan Ipoh, Ipoh (June 12)
Michelin XM2 - RM230 IGA Accessories & Tyres, Jalan Canning Estate, Ipoh Garden (June 12)

Assuming your bro is using stock tyres (185/65/14) then you don't really have much choice :

- Continental Contact 1
- Goodyear Duraplus
- *I think* Michelin XM2
- Some old stock Yokohama Neova AD07 (super duper grip but goddam noisy la)

With the Continental being the lowest ranked tyre. Prices range between RM160 to RM240 a piece depending on where you buy from. Since you're changing all 4 tyres then it'll be worth the drive to Klang or Rawang to get these tyres since they are roughly RM20 to RM40 a piece cheaper than KL prices. That's a savings of RM80 to RM160 if you change all 4. If it's just 2 pieces then anywhere in KL is fine la. The smaller savings isn't worth the toll and petrol to go to Klang (unless you're going there for bakkutteh.. )

If it's 15" then your choices go up significantly

- Michelin Pilot Sport 3
- Hankook V12
- Kumho dunno what model
- Goodyear Eagle F1 (best in class water grip tyre)
- Yokohama C-drive2
- Yokohama S-drive

All of these tyres price between RM220 to RM280 with the cheapest being Hankook which you can get from Sunway. I recently got my C-drive for RM240 a piece in Sungai Long, I heard it's about RM220 or RM230 in Klang.

If you really want to know more about where to go and whats good, try pm-ing vr2turbo. We all call him the tayarking for good reason! :biggrin:
Wah! bro. Izso put me on the table also....ha! ha!:biggrin:

I thought all Myvi stock tyre size is 175/65R14?
If 175/65R14, recommend change to 185/60R14. This tyre size less choices for good grip tyres like those in performance category. The closest is comfort performance Yokohama C-Drive 2
Next is Michelin XM2 and Toyo Teo plus.
Was at tyre shop last Saturday, happen to see XM2 and then ask price, is RM190 now on offer.
For me I still prefer C-Drive 2......:driver:

Wah! bro. Izso put me on the table also....ha! ha!:biggrin:

I thought all Myvi stock tyre size is 175/65R14?
If 175/65R14, recommend change to 185/60R14. This tyre size less choices for good grip tyres like those in performance category. The closest is comfort performance Yokohama C-Drive 2
Next is Michelin XM2 and Toyo Teo plus.
Was at tyre shop last Saturday, happen to see XM2 and then ask price, is RM190 now on offer.
For me I still prefer C-Drive 2......:driver:
175 ah? Erm... I dunno. I think I might have swapped them out with 185 along the way and forgot about it.

I also thought 185, since my BLM also is 185/60/14, but 185 should be able to fit myvi too.

hi to all i'm using waja 1.8 changed to 4g93 ck2a enjin. i bought half cut for 8.5k ,bought spare parts ard 4k and labour charge and wiring charge 2.5k...after they finish pasang my enjin found out the problems oil pump is not functioning,so i went to half cut shop they said they were not warranty for this problem,shit i have to spend RM350 for an oil pump and overhaule the enjin cost me another 2k..blower not function and cooling coil gas leaking ,spend RM500, finally my car done , exhaust...