problem with 6a12tt 4wd auto gearbox

mastakilla

Jan 19, 2006
hi guys,

i'm in the middle of converting my perdana v6 to 6a12tt.the mech told me that the 4wd gearbox cannot be locked to 2wd due to the gb is "newer" version.(he already sent to 2 mech for the 4wd to 2wd conversion,but they told him the gb will kong in no time if the conversion is done).this the number i wrote from the gb: W4A331UP 01 BC1983.i dunno if this info will be helpful.
FYI the model for the engine is e-e84a-srgf.my question:

1) can the gb be used without locking it to 2wd?i'm afraid to convert my car to 4wd (with rear axle..tank..etc) as i heard that conversion is totally illegal with jpj's regulation.

2) any suggestion on good/reliable mech that can do the 4wd to 2wd gb locking?

3) i notice that the speedometer that comes along with the halfcut have additional indicators i haven't seen before..i.e sport/tour mode(at the km/h meter)..front torque ratio(at the rpm meter)..and TCL-off,TCL,TRACE-OFF under temperature meter.what are those for?

thanks in advance for any reply.

kumar3san

Sep 14, 2009
bro.. i just converted my engine as well. i am using the same gearbox, but i have locked the gearbox to 2wd. im not sure bout the story wher the gearbox will kong as my ride stil has a few things to b completed. but i have tested the car n its running:) (so far)
i did the conversion in klang. about the meter thing i have not studied it. mine had all those as well, but i buta wen n change the meter thinkin it was faulty coz the petrol meter was not working. but i think its the wireman who screwed up.

kumar3san

Sep 14, 2009
bro.. i just converted my engine as well. i am using the same gearbox, but i have locked the gearbox to 2wd. im not sure bout the story wher the gearbox will kong as my ride stil has a few things to b completed. but i have tested the car n its running:) (so far)
i did the conversion in klang. about the meter thing i have not studied it. mine had all those as well, but i buta wen n change the meter thinkin it was faulty coz the petrol meter was not working. but i think its the wireman who screwed up.

4wd gbox can be locked to 2wd....dun worry bro...cos alot of perdana members also did the same...no worries...
yes..eterna meters are diff than perdana...with additional options....4WD, torque ratio, sport/tour mode...but it doesnt function after your conversion....some does but not all.

cwaii

Jan 11, 2006
it can be lock to 2wd...try those gearbox specialised.

tiggerkia

Oct 1, 2009
Hey Bros....

I just got a used Perdana V6 01' I'm just wondering that is it true that all the V6 model before 04' sure got gear box problem????? and If I change it to manual sure "Kau Tim": the problem? Need help from all the EXPERT!!!

Cheers