Wira 1.5i Top Overhaul

davidlow7

Sep 24, 2004
Hi Guys,

My car has been sent to Proton workshop for top overhauling.

What is really scaring me is the Valve which gonna cost me RM90 each. 4 Valves already "luka" and need to be changed. Will cost me a whopping RM360

As I know outside costs RM10-RM15. And some even said Made in Japan. But I am worried if I install it, it might affect the engine or any other side-effect.

I seriously need to find the original by Proton but unable to find it.

Plus water pump can I know where can I get all these items Original/Genuine by Proton with the packing itself?

Or any other better suggestions?

blind_lan

Mar 25, 2009
my advice...dont go to proton service..
mahal duh..!!

go to sparepart shop not accesori shop..
ask price for topset,and how many valve u want..
then u go to bengkel ahmad or ahchong ask for top overhaul how much...

davidlow7

Sep 24, 2004
The problem is I am so furious with bengkel outside. they always give me non-original parts.

I want a really genuine parts and don't want local even though if they gonna tell me Local will do.

So I am so confuse and then the 4x valve already broken which they want to charge me 1x for RM90.
They agree to let me buy outside and install for me but of coz no warranty covered.

So the amount can save is very much so I am trying to search for the original valve to install it. Please advise. Thanks

ezrider

Jun 14, 2006
yeah dont go to Proton - exp and they dont know what they doing. buy all the parts u need then send to the workshop.

blind_lan

Mar 25, 2009
my English not good..

U pergi bengkel yg ok lah, ones u trust..
parts u buy yourself at sparepart shop...then u upah the foremen, n if anything happen to the engine mana-mana bahagian yg foremen tu repair,u can go back to the foremen n ask him/her..hehe...

i go to proton service only if i want to resetting my ECU...tu pun rm90

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
you must have a workshop that u made frens with....someone u can trust..they'll advise you how it works n hw long it will take n how much....surely got 1 workshop that u always go to n the guy understands ur car...after 2nd service in proton, never look back adi

Bump: my fren workshop do ultrasonic injector cleaning rm30 per pcs...sunway doin rm50-60

davidlow7

Sep 24, 2004
Problem is the mechanic I used to send is not trustworthy
He is the reason why I spent so much

First I told him my car engine oil keep leaking and less... then he said is Valve cover gasket.. changed it... i see leak again.. keep changing 2-3 times...

I ever asked ppl and was told it could mostly be head gasket bocor/valve seal.. better do top overhaul..

i sent to him and ask him.. he said no need.. no big problem
so now my valves also hurt already bcoz of the seal

if he would have told me earlier i wouldn't waste so much money plus those money paid to him for the same issue previously..

I feel like kicking him in the a$$ already...

Aiiiiii

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
Hi Guys,

My car has been sent to Proton workshop for top overhauling.

What is really scaring me is the Valve which gonna cost me RM90 each. 4 Valves already "luka" and need to be changed. Will cost me a whopping RM360

As I know outside costs RM10-RM15. And some even said Made in Japan. But I am worried if I install it, it might affect the engine or any other side-effect.

I seriously need to find the original by Proton but unable to find it.

Plus water pump can I know where can I get all these items Original/Genuine by Proton with the packing itself?

Or any other better suggestions?

i can feel ur dilemma and frustration, hope u havent made up yr mind, i can arrange special arrangement for yr car to be overhaul by specialist with fraction of amount to spend........pm me

davidlow7

Sep 24, 2004
Too bad brother.. the car is already with Proton workshop and it is almost done

But some parts I am able to get from outside and they helped me install it to save a little cost.

Provided those parts must be from Original Genuine Proton & with the packing. They can accept it.

They used theirs currently and when i return back hometown this weekend I can return back those parts for them to keep in their stock back.

Next time I would surely contact you for any car engine maintenance

Btw, can I ask is there any way that can change the Power Steering oil completely?

Most workshop say it can't be clean completely as it needs machine. Proton will charge RM138 for it so is there any other alternative? Thx

ettm_14

Jul 30, 2006
bro mind sharing the cost of whole process including workmanship?

Bro EvolutionZ,

Where is your location? I am also interested in top overhauling my wira 1.5

what is the estimated cost, if i change the whole set?

and what do i need to pay extra attention to before and after the top overhaul?
thanks in advance

Highlander

Jul 15, 2006
Problem is the mechanic I used to send is not trustworthy
He is the reason why I spent so much

First I told him my car engine oil keep leaking and less... then he said is Valve cover gasket.. changed it... i see leak again.. keep changing 2-3 times...

I ever asked ppl and was told it could mostly be head gasket bocor/valve seal.. better do top overhaul..

i sent to him and ask him.. he said no need.. no big problem
so now my valves also hurt already bcoz of the seal

if he would have told me earlier i wouldn't waste so much money plus those money paid to him for the same issue previously..

I feel like kicking him in the a$$ already...

Aiiiiii

Bro.. what a bad luck.. What is done is done.. maybe next time you can ask with all the zth sifus here for a better and more reliable workshop to go.. I had banned myself from going to proton service long ago... :wavey:

wen

Dec 5, 2008
Why u dun wan go chop shop to buy 2nd hand 12v head?got 12 pic valve inside leh,hahaha,i think not expensive,can give more time to sifu polish inside slowly,make it shining,can get batter result.

Remember must use good quality top set,last time i use normal top set,use around 6 month oil leaking from valve seal again...good luck bro.:wavey:

Bump: Why u dun wan go chop shop to buy 2nd hand 12v head?got 12 pic valve inside leh,hahaha,i think not expensive,can give more time to sifu polish inside slowly,make it shining,can get batter result.

Remember must use good quality top set,last time i use normal top set,use around 6 month oil leaking from valve seal again...good luck bro.:wavey:

can someone teach me or help me on installing wira s.e bumper to wira sedan?? and the grill.. coz i install the grill, seen like "terkeluar" from the lamp..