What is the difference between FC and FD?? in details...

weisun

Nov 16, 2003

I would like to know more as I'm interested in getting a FC as a first setp towards getting a FD..
please advise.

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
You'de be better off searching the net for it...
But basically the FC is the second gen RX-7 and the FD is the third gen RX-7...
They look different and they use different generation engines...
My 2 cent's would be for you to go straight for the FD and be done with it...
There are a couple a threads in here about them too...
You should do a search on it...

CHEERS and good luck...

Temujin

Nov 5, 2004
weisun said:

I would like to know more as I'm interested in getting a FC as a first setp towards getting a FD..
please advise.

if ur really interested in buying a rotary (or any car for that matter), please do not be lazy to search the net first..

SEARCH... Google is your friend

weisun

Nov 16, 2003
haha ok bro...

i tot wanan get some advice from the experts here la.
in the web, mostly it will be given as distributor or reviewer's perspective mah..
htere at least i hope to get advise and views from current FC and FD drivers driving them here and there on MALAYSIAN road....
alot of issues might not be faced by users in other countries.

if no one willing to share, later i will close this forum lor.

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
Well you should have a rough idea of what youre getting into first...
Do the required research and find out the common problems that comes with the car...
Advice enough will not help you, you need to do the work to get the results...

As you have clearly stated in your first post
"What is the difference between FC and FD?? in details...

please advise."

Isn't that a little vague ???
The answers that youre looking for can be found on the web, Australian websites are the best... The problems are all the same... It's a ROTARY... :p

We are here as a community of car enthusiast, don't take this the wrong way, but you should do your own research and discuss your doubts and queries instead of taking the easy road...

CHEERS

weisun

Nov 16, 2003
bro....
thanks for the advice..
I'm actually currently looking on the web on the what are the distinct feature of Rx7 FC and FD.

In the mean time, I also appreciate your feedbacks.~!!!!!!!!!

SiGNAL

Nov 16, 2003
Ya Mum's House
Distinct feature is one is FC, the other is FD. It's two completely diff cars?

If u ask distinct feature between FC S4 and S5, still can explain, but FC and FD, the list would be long...

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
weisun said:
bro....
thanks for the advice..
I'm actually currently looking on the web on the what are the distinct feature of Rx7 FC and FD.

In the mean time, I also appreciate your feedbacks.~!!!!!!!!!

My feedback is that only get one if you have a deep wallet and that you know what youre getting into... FC and FD owners scared me shitless with their experiences with these cars...
Only consider it if you have another car as a daily driver and that you got enought money to burn on a Rotary...

CHEERS

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
From what I heard, it's not good to say it out loud...
Only the purist will enjoy it...
Average Joe's just can't take it...
CHEERS

weisun

Nov 16, 2003
yea..i heard that too....
I heard that it's recommended to overhaul your rotatry engine every 200K KM......
and it seems that some users actually spend RM180 a month for the maintenance......
Any current users around?

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
Overhaul at 200K...
Dun think it will last that long lah bro...
I had a friend with a FC stock std, changed 3 engines in 3 month's...
Maintanence is faily cheap as the Rotary works best with mineral oil...
Spark plugs are the bomb...

coolblue

Nov 19, 2003
abusive driving style will kill any engine ,

i dont see there is any problem on my side ,
earlier on been drive the car for 14 months never change plug also , just that i have spare and free time , i change to a used plug just for testing and didnt find any problem ,

average on rx7club.com forum shown that most rotary lover rebuild their engine every 100K~120K miles ( 1.6 X 100k miles = 160k kilometer )

every car needs basic mantainance , i never see a evo or vtec could drive year long without problem ,

endless551

Aug 24, 2004

Khorne said:
Overhaul at 200K...
Dun think it will last that long lah bro...
I had a friend with a FC stock std, changed 3 engines in 3 month's...
Maintanence is faily cheap as the Rotary works best with mineral oil...
Spark plugs are the bomb...
Ur friend is probably ignorant or not technically inclined at all, he would probably better off with some NA reciprocating(piston) engine cars.. 3engines in 3 months?????

I had mine last year, I tracked my car in Sepang 3 times since, redline it frequently on the road.. Just that I don't wind up my boost stupidly without fuel compensation and I do watch monitor my temperature and obey lots of do's and don't for rotary engines.. Its for the enthusiasts!

Hi guys...anyone of you know where I can get some bumper diffusers made.
Promote has them for their Putra / Wira. What about universal ones or custom ones.

I know Dai Ichi and Grandpire may have ...but anywehere else?