better gearbox for a33 cefiro?

imperialrealcs

Dec 12, 2005
is there any better gearbox than the ageing 4 speeder box in our a33? i notice the latest teana is using cvt gearbox. issit compatible with our car? seriously 3L with 4 speeder is a damn waste!

12savefuel

Dec 10, 2008
is there any better gearbox than the ageing 4 speeder box in our a33? i notice the latest teana is using cvt gearbox. issit compatible with our car? seriously 3L with 4 speeder is a damn waste!
I don't think there is a better trans for A33/A32 except a manual. CVT is really smooth but cannot handle much power and torque. It will be definitely less reliable than an regular auto especially if you drive the car hard often. Not sure the teana CVT is a belt or torodial system. Need to do some googling. Found it, using JATCO belt. US people saying it last about only 100,000 miles = 160,000km. Which is expected from a CVT. Currently CVT cannot beat a regular auto with clutch and gear in terms or reliability. Mostly due to slippage and heat management.

monsterhks

Oct 18, 2007
change to manual la~~~
i hav A33 manual complete set
flywheel , bracket , gear level all complete
RM2500
016 623 0313 jun

12savefuel

Dec 10, 2008
Monsterhks what clutch do we look for if we want to fit the manual gearbox?

imperialrealcs

Dec 12, 2005
but clutch in such car pretty much defeat the purpose of owning one :(
i just dun like the idea of 4 speeder box for 3L lol

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
I don't think there is a better trans for A33/A32 except a manual. CVT is really smooth but cannot handle much power and torque. It will be definitely less reliable than an regular auto especially if you drive the car hard often. Not sure the teana CVT is a belt or torodial system. Need to do some googling. Found it, using JATCO belt. US people saying it last about only 100,000 miles = 160,000km. Which is expected from a CVT. Currently CVT cannot beat a regular auto with clutch and gear in terms or reliability. Mostly due to slippage and heat management.
Totally agreed! In the US , ppl use the Maxima (same model as the cefiro in MY) to compete in 1/4mile races with their manual gearbox! Which means this car can be a luxury vip or a sports saloon! In taiwan you can see lots of broken down cvts which I've seen in a mag. According to the mag, CVT g/box can only last for 100,000 miles or 5years depending on the usage of the car before the belt start to give problems. I think thats why the Scooby gave up their CVT development.

---------- Post added at 11:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:44 PM ----------

change to manual la~~~
i hav A33 manual complete set
flywheel , bracket , gear level all complete
RM2500
016 623 0313 jun
Can it be fitted to A32 model?

doraemon98

Feb 3, 2010
sb3 said:
According to the mag, CVT g/box can only last for 100,000 miles or 5years depending on the usage of the car before the belt start to give problems. I think thats why the Scooby gave up their CVT development.
Cannot get the belt replaced?

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
Last time when my friend had the first generation SR20VE, it use CVT steel belt. The belt break into millions pieces. It just can't handle 200hp and torture.

sb3

Apr 22, 2005
Why is the MT so expensive ? If 1k+ , I change oledi.

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
Cause 1/2 cut is expensive, and you need many things. Not only the G.box and stick. You need a difference engine rear mount, maybe cross member, interior you need the center console, than the clutch pedal, clutch pump, and brake pedal.

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
Cause 1/2 cut is expensive, and you need many things. Not only the G.box and stick. You need a difference engine rear mount, maybe cross member, interior you need the center console, than the clutch pedal, clutch pump, and brake pedal.
brake pedal? :confused:

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
You want to use back the auto brake pedal? Press clutch accidental press brake how?

Hi guys.

Im looking at Clifford, Viper and Commando.
Most important feature for me is 2-way, shock sensor and starter kill.
I dont need remote start since its merely a luxury but not a necessity though the brands above carry this feature.

What d'ya think?