display, sepang, speed, time

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2007, 08:36 AM   #21
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Stock

Trader Ratings: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hattech-v View Post
thank god finally the timing display is up again... its give a lot of excitement to the spectators n participants...
Yes, thank god, but still need improvement. Last night, sometimes, if Car A reached the line first then car B, the display showed Car B time is quicker. (I believe somehow it swapped) I caught it in my Sony Handycam (newly bought...hehe). 40x Optical Zoom, sooo reliable.
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 11:39 AM   #22

Marketplace Merchants

Send a message via Yahoo to hattech-v

you have to know how the timing works first... u can do some research about it....
n also u have to understand what is ET (elapse time) and RT (reaction time).
if not mistaken, its being discussed in other thread here...
Old 04-30-2007, 06:27 PM   #23

5bhp Stock

Quote:
you have to know how the timing works first... u can do some research about it....
n also u have to understand what is ET (elapse time) and RT (reaction time).
if not mistaken, its being discussed in other thread here...

I'm sorry if I have little knowledge. but i really want to share my video clip. I have played it many2 time..After green light, both cars seems started about the same time, but when Car A reached the line first, with a clear gap with Car B, the timer showed Car A is 11.548, Car B 11.420 (but luckily they announce immediately that car A is the winner, because it is so obvious.

sorry again, but I'm confuse :Not_Impressed:
Old 04-30-2007, 08:18 PM   #24

3000bhp Senior

Hmm curious oso this... just wondering... according to a friend that used to drag in US.. he says something about reaction time being a factor in determining the winner too.. sometimes the other car is faster, but since reaction time is bad, the other car cross the finish line first. Of course, I'm not a pro in this also, and yet to participate in SDB, so consider I'm thinking aloud, then you tell me what's wrong with my idea.

I think that the time for the display is including the reaction times.. the E.Ts are not called Estimated Times without reason..

Maybe the time posted on the display is ET + reaction times? Car A is faster than car B but launches a few fraction of a second later? so Car B will get better time display, as it is added with the less amount of reaction times?

Last I checked, nobody can visually confirm a less than half sec difference of anything that happens.

Just giving my opinion.. if wrong.. then tell me.. I want to know too~!
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 09:22 PM   #25

Marketplace Merchants

i'm not sure if the posted timing is ET + RT... or maybe ET only...

okay, let say considering the display is only for ET,

ET timing;
CAR A = 11.548
CAR B = 11.420

now the RT;
CAR A = 0.3sec (Car A launch/react faster than Car B)
CAR B = 0.6sec (Car B launch/react slower than Car A)

Then, Total timing (ET + RT)
CAR A = 11.848
CAR B = 12.020

so the winner shud be car A....
Old 04-30-2007, 09:23 PM   #26

Marketplace Merchants

some info to share about drag racing terms....

Drag Racing Talk

click the above link...
Old 05-01-2007, 02:37 AM   #27

3000bhp Senior

Quote:
i'm not sure if the posted timing is ET + RT... or maybe ET only...

okay, let say considering the display is only for ET,

ET timing;
CAR A = 11.548
CAR B = 11.420

now the RT;
CAR A = 0.3sec (Car A launch/react faster than Car B)
CAR B = 0.6sec (Car B launch/react slower than Car A)

Then, Total timing (ET + RT)
CAR A = 11.848
CAR B = 12.020

so the winner shud be car A....
Yeah... so the ET shows that car B is faster, although Car A cross the finish first. so maybe that's why the discrepancy happens. Time for car B is faster, but car A cross the finish line first.

But what if the Car B is crazy fast, and cross the finish line first, but has bad RT?
Wouldn't it show that Car A (with better RT) has better time as well?

Car A ET=13.533 (.5 sec.. half car length?)
Car B ET =13.015

But Car B leaves the start with .9 sec (Driver sneezez just befor the final yellow light.. haha!)
but Car A leaves the line at .3 sec, but car B out accelerates the car to finish first.
(Isn't this timer end by being tripped by the laser trigger?, so Car A might leave the line at .3 sec after the green light, but not really increasing the gap due to wheelspin/whatever)

Car A=13.833 ET + RT
Car B=13.915 ET + RT (but car B cross line first!)

Same circumstances, isn't it?

Just for the sake of curiousity.. so what does the display show? if it shows ET only.. then faster car that travels from the start line to the finish line should have better ET times? And if it includes RT, then it's very possible that a bad RT makes it look as if the faster car takes more time to cross the finish line?

Peningz.... (>.<)

Last edited by shiroitenshi; 05-01-2007 at 02:46 AM.
Old 05-01-2007, 04:41 AM   #28

Marketplace Merchants

i think the discrepency only happen if the timing different is in .XXX. n at the finishing the both car finishing almost side by side.. or maybe half car...
if the different if 0.5 then its different story...
Old 05-01-2007, 11:53 AM   #29

3000bhp Senior

So in other words.. the display time probably includes RT.. if not than the winning car should have lower time displayed, since it's ET. What do you think?
Old 05-01-2007, 02:04 PM   #30

Marketplace Merchants

i will confirm about this n i'm gonna get some time slip sample from sic... if i can...
Old 05-01-2007, 02:42 PM   #31

3000bhp Senior

Quote:
i will confirm about this n i'm gonna get some time slip sample from sic... if i can...
Good, if can clarify these points then no more disputes can occur, because by right, the timing should be quite accuratelah.. this is not cheapo DIY timing system what.. :P

Eh.. one more thing.. timeslips not give out to participants automatically ah?

Last edited by shiroitenshi; 05-01-2007 at 02:44 PM.
Old 05-01-2007, 03:39 PM   #32

1000bhp Senior

hattech-v,
yeap..i'd like 2 know too....awaiting 4 ur confirmation wether d time show is ET alone or ET+RT..confused!
Old 05-02-2007, 04:07 PM   #33

400bhp Turbo Member

Send a message via Yahoo to zaki

i guess it is Elapsed Time. you can wait at the starting line for 5 seconds. if you have a 10 second car, it should show 10 sec. but if you're in the q final, who finish first shall be the winner
Old 05-02-2007, 04:46 PM   #34

1000bhp Senior