diy, projects

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2005, 11:09 PM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

250bhp Stage II Member

Trader Ratings: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to 13btt

Default DIY projects

As requested by jasonlel, post up any DIY projects and/or fixes you have made to your RX.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 01:48 PM   #2

100bhp Junior

Default Power assisted steering

Not exactly a DIY but gotta friend to fix-it.

Modded my SA22's steering box with a Mitsu L049 power assisted unit. Now, easier to park at any tight spot!

Cheers!
SK
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 04:03 PM   #3

400bhp Turbo Member

Send a message via ICQ to jasonlel Send a message via MSN to jasonlel

Default Driver door wont open from inside/outside

Don't panic.
Don't kick your door.
Don't even think of prying the door (right joe?)

Stay clam.............

Contact me and I will guide you on how to get it open. . . .
Old 09-29-2005, 06:01 PM   #4

250bhp Stage II Member

We shall call you Frankenstein RX with mitsushiti pajero mods...hahahaha - just kidding, that sounds great!

Your mod beat one fella (who for his benefit shall remain anonymous) tried to fit proton plugs to his rotary and wha lah broke his engine with a BIG BANG & crunch when the 2 rotors smashed into the protruding spark plug head! Talk about fixing your RX on a proton budget!
Personally I don't know how the plugs actually fit, but that's his story & we built him a new engine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savanna 12A
Not exactly a DIY but gotta friend to fix-it.

Modded my SA22's steering box with a Mitsu L049 power assisted unit. Now, easier to park at any tight spot!

Cheers!
SK
Old 09-29-2005, 06:13 PM   #5

1000bhp Senior

hahahahaha what a jackass!! well hardly can blame him though. probably his mechanics idea.
Old 09-29-2005, 06:15 PM   #6

400bhp Turbo Member

13btt,

Come, teach us how to DIY rebuilt rotary eng. :p :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13btt
We shall call you Frankenstein RX with mitsushiti pajero mods...hahahaha - just kidding, that sounds great!

Your mod beat one fella (who for his benefit shall remain anonymous) tried to fit proton plugs to his rotary and wha lah broke his engine with a BIG BANG & crunch when the 2 rotors smashed into the protruding spark plug head! Talk about fixing your RX on a proton budget!
Personally I don't know how the plugs actually fit, but that's his story & we built him a new engine.
Old 09-30-2005, 09:39 AM   #7

150bhp Tuned Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonlel
Don't panic.
Don't kick your door.
Don't even think of prying the door (right joe?)

Stay clam.............

Contact me and I will guide you on how to get it open. . . .
ehh... wat la u...

dont contact jason... he is master at opening rx7 door without key... dangerous... haha...
Old 09-30-2005, 09:40 AM   #8

150bhp Tuned Member

Quote:

wahahahahahahahahahahaahaha... ahhh... the BEEEEEG bang theory...
Old 10-01-2005, 11:02 AM   #9

250bhp Stage II Member

Default Skills needed

Very easy lah, just need to invest in about RM4,500 of tools, plus technical books, engineering background plus some patience and you too can be rotary builder!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonlel
13btt,

Come, teach us how to DIY rebuilt rotary eng. :p :p
Old 10-01-2005, 12:13 PM   #10

1000bhp Senior

Quote:
Very easy lah, just need to invest in about RM4,500 of tools, plus technical books, engineering background plus some patience and you too can be rotary builder!
Badda Bing!!
Badda Boom!!

;)
Old 10-01-2005, 12:18 PM   #11

350bhp Nitrous Member

Quote:
how much does the tools alone cost.....
Old 10-01-2005, 12:29 PM   #12

400bhp Turbo Member

Quote:
Kekeke soooo when are you going to give us some workshop session? :p
Old 10-02-2005, 06:30 AM   #13

1000bhp Senior

well i dont know how detailed i should put this , but i have done the following myself to my FC:

- Installed Microtech LT8s
- custom FMIC truck intercooler (NPR isuzu truck)
- put in AN lines for fuel system
-installed HKS manifold , HKS wastegate with a T04E unit (.96 a/r turbine side)
- sleepy eye mod
- put steering wheel
- put in a recaro spg with sparco rails on top of the stock mount
- installed boost and oil pressure gauge
- installed FD alternator with dual pulley
- cleared out the rat nest
- put in new injectors
- tune it myself with the help from JOSHUA from millenium motorsport. (online tutorial keke)
-installed a PLX M500 wideband controller

err i think thats about it , total time took me is around 4 months in my house garage... sucky as i always need my housemate to fetch me around during that period.

if anyone want extra details i hope i could help out. but this is done to a FC3S so dunno how different is it from a FD

BUT i still havent re-build my own rotary engine before , so thats what i lack
Old 10-03-2005, 09:55 AM   #14

150bhp Tuned Member

1. Remove Air Pump
Ease of Mod : 4 / 5 (Easy)
Cost of Mod : 4 / 5 (Cheap Cheap)
Mod's Value : 4 / 5 (For the minimal effort you have to put in, this is one heck of a "value buy" mod
Should you do it : Hell yeah
Pros : Quicker engine response, Engine Bay looks SO much cleaner
Cons : U're choking good ol' mother earth quicker, but no diff if your main cat's gone

2. Throttle body coolant removal
Ease of Mod : 4.5 / 5 (Darn Easy)
Cost of Mod : 5 / 5 (Heck, its free... safety wire cost = negligable)
Mod's Value : 5 / 5 (Again, its free, its darn easy... just do it...)
Pros : Simplified TB, Simplified Coolant Flow
Cons : Nothing so far