Im interested to buy a rx8(m) - Zerotohundred.com
Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Clubs > Car Club Categories > RE Club Malaysia

LinkBack Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2012, 07:24 PM   #1
5bhp Stock

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to sam8888
Default Im interested to buy a rx8(m)

I heard them said rx8 gots lot of problem and maintainence will cost alot..may i get some advise from rotary sifu's??thanks alot..
sam8888 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 09-25-2012, 05:03 PM   #2
5bhp Stock

Liked: 4 / 4 Posts
Default re: Im interested to buy a rx8(m)

If you dont love your car.. surely it will add on to your maintenance.. if you love her.. then low lo.. simple analogy
Jaymz is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following User Likes Jaymz For This Useful Post:
Skywalker81 (10-16-2012)
Old 09-25-2012, 05:22 PM   #3

Liked: 343 / 232 Posts
Send a message via MSN to kazukimy

not to bash TS or anything, but isnt this topic been discussed lots of time?
Old 09-25-2012, 06:12 PM   #4
5bhp Stock

Don't buy rotary la.. Scare this scare that
.. Go buy Sohai evo or any pistons .. Don't join the rotary club .. No appetite for pussies

---------- Post added at 06:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:10 PM ----------

Be a man .. Don't whine and dry about things .. Want it love it then buy it .. Easy.. Think this and that .. Yawns waste your time and kena fark somemore kaka
(0)
The Following User Disliked Jaymz For This Un-useful Post:
quicksilver7 (09-28-2012)
Old 09-25-2012, 06:44 PM   #5
1000bhp Senior

Liked: 221 / 137 Posts

I dun think so much n worry about the 8 when I made the decision. If u want, just get it. I love my rx8 n Airtrek. Both said to be high maintenance n fragile. U own it only u know.

---------- Post added at 06:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:42 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaymz View Post
Don't buy rotary la.. Scare this scare that
.. Go buy Sohai evo or any pistons .. Don't join the rotary club .. No appetite for pussies

---------- Post added at 06:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:10 PM ----------

Be a man .. Don't whine and dry about things .. Want it love it then buy it .. Easy.. Think this and that .. Yawns waste your time and kena fark somemore kaka
Hey bro. Evo is good la. Dun say sohai cos I love my 4g63t as much as I love the 8. Hehehe
stutzedward is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 09-28-2012, 11:42 AM   #6
5bhp Stock

Sorry bro :3 no offense yea :3

I'll get a evo9 in the next 2 years .. 800 WHP!!!
(0)
Old 09-28-2012, 12:06 PM   #7

Liked: 403 / 218 Posts

maintenance sure got one.

Even basikal oso need maintenance. Tyre need to pump air, fix brake, repair the chain, greasy work, etc.

I find it silly that many people dream of owning a sportscar, while the car must be rare, oso must be affordable, oso must be cheap to maintain, yet can be chick magnet.....and yeng....
The Following User Likes ken yeang For This Useful Post:
stutzedward (09-28-2012)
Old 09-28-2012, 12:21 PM   #8
1000bhp Senior

bro Jaymz... hehe I know u joke only la.. hehehe..

But true la.. if one want to own a car like this, cannot expect the maintenance like a Wira or Myvi lor...

---------- Post added at 12:21 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:21 PM ----------

Loving my 8 day by day.... is nice and the sporty feel is cool.
(0)
Old 09-28-2012, 01:53 PM   #9

Liked: 1,090 / 474 Posts

All cars got problem. You got to ask yourself is it a car that you will live with through the problems. Like marrying a wife la, you choose one you like, you will stick with her through thick and thin. You marry one you don't like you will be bitching to your buddies everyday.

Its the perfect car for people who pedal to the metal everyday. Of course, a person like that isn't the "norm". RX-8 (and rotary) is not a car for normal people. Technically I won't even call it a car. A car (in this century) is meant to be practical and fuel efficient, which the RX-8 isn't.

Before RX-8 fans come in and bash me, no the RX-8 is not practical, admit it
Not being able to reverse the car out of the house and turning it off like a normal car is not practical. - I do it all the time, house no space
Not having to NOT pedal to the metal is not practical.
Having to keep engine oil in the car and add every month or so is not practical. (Hello, modern piston engines these days don't consume engine oil - Honda Civic, Accord, Toyota Camry, Altis, Vios etc.)

But despite all that, its meant for people who knows how to appreciate it. Just like how not everybody will look good in a tuxedo, not everybody will like the RX-8.

WTS: Original Denso Iridium Power Free Shipping
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/engine-and-performance/423770-denso-iridium-power-spark-plugs.html
ixeo is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 09-28-2012, 02:33 PM   #10
1000bhp Senior

Hahaha. Somehow, I agree on some points u said. It's not a normal car for sure. Even more abnormal than my big potatoes which drinks a liter of gas every 5.5km.
(0)
Old 09-28-2012, 02:51 PM   #11
5bhp Stock

Liked: 7 / 4 Posts

Interesting I own both an RX8 and Airtrek Turbo.

Airtrek has been no problem but RX8 had problems with coilpacks going at 50k, dumpinf fuel into cat and setting it on fire.

I replaced the whole system with a stainless one (cat as well). Apart from that no issues apart from the CEL light coming on for no reason every few weeks.

Both cars get serviced every 6 months.. look after them and they will be fine. don't want to service every 6 months then don't buy turbo or rotary!
limaynard is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following User Likes limaynard For This Useful Post:
stutzedward (09-28-2012)
Old 09-28-2012, 09:06 PM   #12
1000bhp Senior

That's cool to know someone who owns both RX8 and Airtrek Turbo! :)
(0)
Old 09-29-2012, 09:51 AM   #13

Liked: 403 / 218 Posts
Default Re: Im interested to buy a rx8(m)

sam8888,

hahahah, RE are like that 1.
Change the RE to piston engine (Although it would be difficult, and it is essentially wouldnt be RX anymore) if scared of problem.
Then you can drive a RX everyday, but mind you it wont sound like RX, or behave like RX.

if you can live with that....
Old 10-08-2012, 01:59 PM   #14
csl

Liked: 477 / 209 Posts

if you have doubt, stay away from it. Myvi 1.5m is fast and cheap in maintenance and the design is quite sexy too. Meanwhile, Honda CRZ may be the one you are looking for if you think myvi is not flash enough to be your transport and rotary is too premium for your pocket.
csl is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 10-08-2012, 03:54 PM   #15
1000bhp Senior

Talking about CRZ, I am seeing a lot of soup up ones on the road... pretty good looking. Just that some of them try to 'poke' high performance cars thinking they're the same league.
(0)

Zerotohundred.com > Car Clubs > Car Club Categories > RE Club Malaysia

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next
Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Latest Posts
  Wiring dashboard blower cooling coil Evo 3
Last Post Today 08:30 AM
  Recaro Style JJ Pajero GDI
Last Post Today 08:28 AM
  Project U Steelbraided hose From Evo 3
Last Post Today 08:22 AM
  Gredddy Profec B 2 boost controller
Last Post Today 08:05 AM
  Meter Evo 3 Rpm 9k 180kmh
Last Post Today 08:01 AM

2000 - 2012 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top