Zerotohundred.com  
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufacturers > Proton
Connect with Facebook

Tags
brake, disc, iswara, rear, saga, solution

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2005

should be the same , but then i don't think they sell just the bearing , u must buy togather with the hub , cause i`ve asked before if can pump in & pump out , and then the spare part shop said cannot , so i had no choice to buy a new set which is damn expensive .

so best to check your bearing number or take a sample and ask them to check if got stock or not . cause if you can get a new replacement hub , then i also thinking of getting it , so that i can balance the pcd 100 to 114.3 haha .

The new bearing made in china cost RM 70 per unit , if japan mari its RM 170 " NSK " or " KOYO "

New vs Old PCD 100

Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005
1000bhp Senior

Send a message via Yahoo to darahhitam

Iswara_LE: Have ya had your mirage rear disks installed with standard cable?

Keep us updated. Need to know whether it "bites" or not.
Old 06-06-2005

haha having problems with the handbrake eh ? if cable has been adjust 100% maximum already then maybe its time to service the rear calipers .
Old 06-08-2005
1000bhp Senior

Vesty,

Mine works well - it bites nearly as good as I was using the drums previously, although at one occasion it has to be re-adjusted due to one mech who drive off my car for testing without releasing the h/brake!

Just need to know what's the difference if we use OE drum's handbrake cable as disk's handbrake.

Anyway, my left rear disk are not "entirely" covered by the pad, uneven surface perhaps? Some says let the pad runs until it's even. I'll wait and see. :D
Old 06-08-2005

well if your cables are mount the correct way as in following the original route , then you shouldn't have an issue , of one side bites more then the other side . if your mechanic had pusing pusing the pistons , then you should ask him to readjust both pistons at the same level , cause if you notice the piston is been screwed to a bolt that connects to the handbrake lever cable , so even if the pads has bed in , you`ll still have issues , because h/b works via cable tension mechanism and its not hydraulic , so bed in pads wont help getting the h/b balance .

maybe i should show you whats inside the rear brake mechanism , i`ll just have to dig up my rear calipers and show u the picture . then from there i bet u`ll get what i mean .

Last edited by vestax; 06-08-2005 at 03:27 PM..
Old 06-08-2005
1000bhp Senior

Dang! That's the word I suppose to use - bedding in!
Thanks for the enlightenment vesty.

Anyway, what I meant was uneven bedding-in during normal braking, not h/brake - the end result is obvious from the left disk. Right disk is virtually in full contact with brake pad (no rusts etc)while the left side has approx 75% disk contact with the pad. (rusts on lower radius for about 25% of disk no contact with brake pad)

What do you use for your front? Mirage? VR4?
I'm running on E12A supertouring, much older than the C51 rear, but still tip top and had no problem whatsoever.

p/s: Bet you don't need your rear disks anymore since you're "downscaling" your engine output?
Old 06-14-2005
50bhp Junior

Send a message via MSN to darkbob Send a message via Yahoo to darkbob

here are my 2 cents,

i previously used my OEM Handbrake Cable on my REar E12A Disc. There are a few mods u would have to do.

1. Extend the L bracket a bit . ( the bracket that hold the cable at the calliper )
2. Have to hammer a bit the Calliper handbrake holder, just to make sure that the
handbrake cable's end does not slip off. and stay intact..

Now i'm currently looking for a VR4 rear disc, i think it looks a lot bigger :D
Old 06-14-2005
50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by vestax
should be the same , but then i don't think they sell just the bearing , u must buy togather with the hub , cause i`ve asked before if can pump in & pump out , and then the spare part shop said cannot , so i had no choice to buy a new set which is damn expensive .

so best to check your bearing number or take a sample and ask them to check if got stock or not . cause if you can get a new replacement hub , then i also thinking of getting it , so that i can balance the pcd 100 to 114.3 haha .

The new bearing made in china cost RM 70 per unit , if japan mari its RM 170 " NSK " or " KOYO "

New vs Old PCD 100

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/photogra...ng/bearing.jpg

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/photogra...g/bearing2.jpg

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/photogra...g/bearing3.jpg

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/photogra...g/bearing4.jpg

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/photogra...g/bearing5.jpg
VESTAX,

how much did it cost you to make the new hub ? or did u purchase it from spare part ?

thanks..
Old 06-14-2005
1000bhp Senior

Darkbob, what a coincidence, I'm running the E12A (ventilated) on the fronts.

Heard that the auto version of the E12A (or is it E13A/E15A) has bigger disk/caliper?
Old 06-14-2005
50bhp Junior

hmm...

E12A FRont Brakes ehh...

never seen those before... u got pics ?
I'm not sure of the bigger callipers or disk..

But my current setup is Front FTO Disc Brakes and (COMING SOON) Rear Vr4 Discs.
Old 06-15-2005
1000bhp Senior

Default Size matters?

No photos as yet, but mine is slightly bigger than stock saga/iswara, both calipers and disks combo, and it is ventilated, not soild (read: not slotted or cross-drilled though..hahaha).

But I was told the auto version for the E12A is bigger than my manual E12A, both calipers and disks.

Anyway, bigger is not necessarily better right?
Old 06-15-2005
800bhp Member

Send a message via MSN to drifterzzz Send a message via Yahoo to drifterzzz

hmm the widysaga so cun lah
Old 06-15-2005
1000bhp Senior

widysaga? What's that? Wide-bodied saga?

BTW, darkbob - any photo of your FTO front disks? Must be huge, eh?
Old 06-16-2005

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkbob
VESTAX,

how much did it cost you to make the new hub ? or did u purchase it from spare part ?

thanks..
i wanted to pump in a new bearing , but the machine shop say cannot , cause the bearing is not meant for pumping in & out . so went to the spare part shop , they also say that this hub comes togather with the bearing , as you can't pump in & out .

japan made hub + bearing will cost about RM 170 , NSK or NNT or KOYO .

the one i bought , made in chaina Rm 70 :) .
Old 06-16-2005
600bhp Member

Send a message via Yahoo to flushafteruse

after i selling of my rear mirage disk brake,now i'm using rear honda sm4 disk match with a mazda 626 caliper,,...just diy machined the caliper bracket holder a bit...

Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufacturers > Proton