Sard Fuel Regulator whistling? - Zerotohundred.com
Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Clubs > Car Club Categories > Mitsubishi Lancer Owners Club

LinkBack Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 07:32 PM   #1

Liked: 27 / 21 Posts
Send a message via MSN to clanzkiller
Default Sard Fuel Regulator whistling?

Reposted it here hope to get more respond :(.

Video recorded by ipad2

I've bought a New Original Sard Fuel Regulator Standard yesterday and install it on the day itself. After installation, the Sard FR is making some high pitch noise constantly at the pressure of 2bar and above during idle, the sound is like an airplane sound, similar to when the car has lack of earth and when the audio player is on, the similar sound can be heard through speaker. So we tested below 2bar, and the sound disappear. Again we set to 2bar, it appear. Even when driving, the sound constantly appear until 4000 rpm rev and above, it disappear, and return when below 4000 rpm. Is like hearing the fuel travelling sound, or i dunno?
I've tried unplug the vacuum hose on top of the FR, and the sound gone. But appear again when i plug it back. What could be the possible cause of this?

Not to say during starting my car, the weird sound sure appear, and i know this one is quite famous cause i've owned a Sard FR last time and it happened to be like this also, but not as often as this NEW one, which the sound 99% sure appear when starting.

Last edited by clanzkiller; 08-10-2012 at 10:26 AM.
clanzkiller is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-10-2012, 09:58 AM   #2
50bhp Junior

Liked: 43 / 20 Posts
Default Re: Sard Fuel Regulator whistling?

Hi there, I faced the same problem here but with Works regulator. W long whistling sound during cold start & a constant high pitch whistling when at low rpm.

The seller told me to adjust the regulator from minimum to maximum for a few times purportedly to align back the shaft inside the regulator & the sound should go away. Have not have time to do that yet but will try it out & keep you posted.
option1978 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-10-2012, 10:08 AM   #3

Have tried the above mentioned solution but it doesnt work for Sard. Maximizethe pressure to 4bar, and lower it back to 1.5bar, and again and again, when it almost reach 4bar, the sound is even worse, even the entire workshop can hear the whistle sound. I even took out the entire nipple, blow the nipple with blower, put teflon on it and screw it back, and none of it helps.
Old 08-10-2012, 04:49 PM   #4
500bhp Stage 3 Member

Liked: 72 / 55 Posts

iam using sard fuel r. ori too, same noise like urs.....just dun care
mh wong is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-10-2012, 07:51 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by mh wong View Post
iam using sard fuel r. ori too, same noise like urs.....just dun care
How long have u been using it?

May i know that, does anyone know if AFR really make some noise when running? sort of like oil traveling sound? Sounds like electric short circuit sound? Has anyone notice it before?
Old 08-11-2012, 09:54 PM   #6
3000bhp Senior

Liked: 890 / 542 Posts
Garage

ok what...u got racy effect like this

[My Home Sale]
*FB picture album with various things up for grab:: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150367418563445.361738.713843444&type=1&l =05903407a5
^pomen_GTR^ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-11-2012, 10:09 PM   #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by ^pomen_GTR^ View Post
lol.........don la like that bro....
Old 08-13-2012, 12:34 PM   #8

Liked: 64 / 33 Posts

mine no noise
Jun_EK9 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-13-2012, 12:35 PM   #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jun_EK9 View Post
mine no noise
Not even a little noise? like fuel travelling noise? totally silent?
Old 08-14-2012, 05:16 PM   #10

Liked: 64 / 33 Posts

no noise,,,maybe a slightly noise when pop up the bonnet
Jun_EK9 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-14-2012, 08:11 PM   #11

Liked: 48 / 26 Posts

I had the same experience last time with me evo..but it was with the fake sard fpr..few months after that i had fuel problem and found out the fpr diaphragm was leaking...when u take out the vacum hose u can smell gasoline or even worse the gasoline was leaking through the nipple..luckily the engine didnt kong...changed to ori sard then no sound anymore..
kariayam is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-14-2012, 08:47 PM   #12

Liked: 29 / 18 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to lanevo6

funny!! never heard any noise from so many evo we have around with SARD FR.

4 cylinder 3 diamonds 2 liter 1 turbo = EVO
lanevo6 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-15-2012, 09:15 PM   #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jun_EK9 View Post
no noise,,,maybe a slightly noise when pop up the bonnet
Quote:
Originally Posted by lanevo6 View Post
funny!! never heard any noise from so many evo we have around with SARD FR.

Have u guys really hold the FR and put it beside your ears and hear whether got sound or not?
Now i relocate it further from the dashboard, and no sound d. But when i put the FR beside my ears, i can hear running fuel sound, which i assumed is normal, and i guess no one will do like what i did..hahahah
Anyway, FR problem probably settle, but now come to turbo... Shaft pata :(

Zerotohundred.com > Car Clubs > Car Club Categories > Mitsubishi Lancer Owners Club

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next
Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Latest Posts
  Honda Civic EG6 (M) B18CR 94
Last Post Today 07:25 AM
  SARD fuel regulator TYPE -RJ
Last Post Today 02:33 AM
my new project
Last Post Today 02:28 AM
  Bosch performance ignition coil x4
Last Post Today 02:09 AM
  Kicker 4 channel and monoblock amplifier
Last Post Today 01:59 AM
This Weeks' Most Popular!
2013 TIMETOATTACK Round 1 - The Preview!
Last Post 05-22-2013 11:47 PM
JDM Mayhem @ 2013 TIMETOATTACK Round 1!
Last Post Yesterday 12:06 AM
The Euros @ TIMETOATTACK Round 1 2013
Last Post 05-23-2013 09:30 PM

2000 - 2012 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top