LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2006, 11:26 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

50bhp Junior

Trader Ratings: (0)

Send a message via MSN to MajPayne Send a message via Yahoo to MajPayne

Default Astina A pillar solution?

Guys I have an Idea!

Almost all astina owners, know this feeling when your a pillar cover breaks (made from plastic) and its tough to find replacements for them, even if you find they're often not in perfect condition unless you fork out a sum for brand spanking new ones from japan....

I have an idea, works in my mind but need help sorting it out.
maybe someone can help, I intend in fabricating a metal a pillar cover, wadya think?... I can draw it out autocad if youd like to see it, but i don't know about the metal types, shaping , cutting and welding the clips on...tried several metal shops, but they only do the easy cut, not much for chaping and the rest... so. I need some help.

Cheers.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 11:30 AM   #2

900bhp Member

I know where to get fibreglass ones if you're interested. Simple solutions for complicated problems.
Old 03-31-2006, 12:04 PM   #3

50bhp Junior

hahahaha lol (hic)....

thanks man...i knew theres a brighter light at the end if you travel with friends...
great, where can i score some let me know yah...

(only afrain it could be a shourt term solution, still need to research possibilities)

Cheers.
Old 04-02-2006, 12:34 PM   #4

250bhp Stage II Member

Daryl,
where to get the fibreglass one?
seem to have the same problem as this Derrick fellow here...
Old 04-02-2006, 05:10 PM   #5

100bhp Junior

yup me too dude, i wanna get one set for my astina ;)

fibdre would be ok! my right side gone, left side cracked.

brand new selling up to rm200 here in pontian.
Old 04-02-2006, 08:29 PM   #6

250bhp Stage II Member

my right side cracked...
story goes like dis : monkey go and patah it... haha. This happened in front of my very eyes... Loadz of strength that monkey got to break it...
Old 04-03-2006, 10:32 AM   #7

50bhp Junior

at least you can blame the animal,
me the windshield installer leh, damn... sumore install my windshield,
got hole wan at the rubber now have to re-install the windshield Damn, damn damn,...
Old 04-03-2006, 11:32 AM   #8

900bhp Member

You can get them from Theva Bawah Pokok...
SS19 subang jaya under the big tree, down the road from the shell station.
Old 04-03-2006, 04:43 PM   #9

50bhp Junior

thanks dude,
Old 04-03-2006, 08:46 PM   #10

250bhp Stage II Member

oh, i know that place...
Old 04-03-2006, 10:26 PM   #11

50bhp Junior

mine was a funny one . after that regret .

broken twice.
1st time , after install alarm, so want to test the vibratrion sensor level.
adjusted to the most sensitive level. gave a knock on the A pillar, alarm did not goes off, but heard a crack sound, say a crack on the paint. haha there goes the first one.

2nd time, after tranplanted b8 about 3 years agos. so went and try the car on highway. heard some sound when the boost kick in, so thought something wrong with engine. So want to test properly, full throttle - the thing flew off at 160km/h.

hopefully no 3rd time.
Old 04-04-2006, 09:28 AM   #12

50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by MazdaB8GTX
mine was a funny one . after that regret .

broken twice.
1st time , after install alarm, so want to test the vibratrion sensor level.
adjusted to the most sensitive level. gave a knock on the A pillar, alarm did not goes off, but heard a crack sound, say a crack on the paint. haha there goes the first one.

2nd time, after tranplanted b8 about 3 years agos. so went and try the car on highway. heard some sound when the boost kick in, so thought something wrong with engine. So want to test properly, full throttle - the thing flew off at 160km/h.

hopefully no 3rd time.

hahaha, feel for you man, the ending kinda same la, after the installed the windshield, it phrew off damn....gud one though.
Old 04-06-2006, 02:40 PM   #13

1bhp Stock

hi, mine loss both.......mechanic kasi pecah after paint my car.....damn it...btw where is this theva bawah pokok location n any pics and price???
Old 04-09-2006, 12:42 AM   #14

150bhp Tuned Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MajPayne
Guys I have an Idea!

Almost all astina owners, know this feeling when your a pillar cover breaks (made from plastic) and its tough to find replacements for them, even if you find they're often not in perfect condition unless you fork out a sum for brand spanking new ones from japan....

I have an idea, works in my mind but need help sorting it out.
maybe someone can help, I intend in fabricating a metal a pillar cover, wadya think?... I can draw it out autocad if youd like to see it, but i don't know about the metal types, shaping , cutting and welding the clips on...tried several metal shops, but they only do the easy cut, not much for chaping and the rest... so. I need some help.

Cheers.
Hey man, yeah you can go to Theva to duplicate the pillar. If you're the DIY type of person, you can repair it by fiberglassing over the pillar. You need to drill some holes and use an old t-shirt for the resin to grasp unto as fiberglass won't bond on plastic. Other things you can do is to send it to an upholstery shop. What they'll do is they will put a foam pad and use fabric/leather/PVC or whatever material to cover it.

Hope this helps :cyclops:
Old 04-09-2006, 12:48 AM   #15

150bhp Tuned Member