Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufaturers > Mazda/Ford

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2007, 12:44 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Stock

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Engines suitable for Astina

Is there any other engine besides B8 that is suitable for Mazda Astina 90-94?
Not looking for extra power only looking for smooth drive and reliability, is the lantis engine suitable? Any suggestions? Thanks in advance...
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 05:33 AM   #2

2000bhp Senior

Send a message via Yahoo to Adeen

Default Re: Engines suitable for Astina

the b6 dohc engine oso suitable...my bros car using that engine..
Old 10-04-2007, 07:41 PM   #3

5bhp Stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adeen View Post
the b6 dohc engine oso suitable...my bros car using that engine..
Thanks Adeen, do you mind providing more information about your brother experience, in terms of realibity and cost of the engine swap, etc. http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforu...es/burnout.gif
Old 10-04-2007, 07:46 PM   #4

2000bhp Senior

it's already been so many years already...dun remember the cost...
maybe the cost to transplant around 1k....engine dunno how much he got...maybe below 3k....

very good engine IMO....
Old 10-06-2007, 11:52 AM   #5

100bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by inma View Post
Is there any other engine besides B8 that is suitable for Mazda Astina 90-94?
Not looking for extra power only looking for smooth drive and reliability, is the lantis engine suitable? Any suggestions? Thanks in advance...

What's wrong with the stock engine if you don't want extra power?
Stock engine = smooth & reliable

I've never had any problem with my Astina. With stock conditions, it is still better than wira, waja, gen2.

My mileage is at 170k. Couldn't be smoother..
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 07:48 PM   #6

5bhp Stock

My engine has engine oil leaking problem and I have spend heps of money trying to repair it only to end up with sour grapes. Plus I heard that fuel injection is smoother and more efficient compare to carby. I really enjoy my car thus looking for a solution to continue driving it for more years. Any suggestion is greatly appreciated.
Old 10-07-2007, 08:37 PM   #7

2000bhp Senior

take the dohc 1.6 engine lor....confirm better power and fuel consumption...
Old 10-07-2007, 11:10 PM   #8

250bhp Stage II Member

get a 4-2-1 extractor for ur engine man...!
i have one... syok oo...
=D
Old 10-09-2007, 09:31 AM   #9

350bhp Nitrous Member

go for b6na DOHC.if u can find from other lantis owner that already converted their engine,better buy from them.it got mazda VICS Intake Technology.More economy with feul injection engine.and also,your old gbox 1.6 also can fit in..

cost for the engine transplant is about rm1k or below...
engine price is from rm400++ wif or wothou gbox depends
Old 10-09-2007, 11:32 PM   #10

5bhp Stock

Thanks for all the feedback..

The lantis engine option is certainly in my mind now. One quick question azamnecrone, the lantis engine just a direct swap? Do I need to modify anything like engine mounts.. etc?
Old 10-13-2007, 08:57 PM   #11

5bhp Stock

Hi guys really need help to some important question.
I manage to find a fellow forumer selling his lantis 1.6 engine as he(I assume is a he...=P) is planing upgrade to a more powerful engine.

His car, Mazda Lantis 1.6 (A) hatchback year 98/99.

Will I be able to use his stuff on my astina?
If yes what are the items I can use?
Old 10-14-2007, 10:38 PM   #12

2000bhp Senior

Send a message via ICQ to b00n Send a message via MSN to b00n Send a message via Yahoo to b00n

I'm not sure but if he got a half cut into his car than you could basically use his lantis halfcut i.e. from dashboard onwards to the engine.
Than it would be no problem. If not, I'm only afraid of wiring problem but i guess the otai in mazda would solve it for you.
Old 10-22-2007, 12:11 AM   #13

250bhp Stage II Member

Yes u can use all the parts basically.
But u have to shorten the drive shaft assuming ure using the g/box from the lantis engine as well.
Lantis's d/shaft are abt an inch from normal BG chasis engine.
Mounting should be the same, oh and make sure he gives u his "speed sensor" as well.
Cheers!~

Zerotohundred.com > Car Manufaturers > Mazda/Ford