Tags
advice, d16y, sifu, so4

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2008, 10:20 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

50bhp Junior

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default please sifu - need advice on so4 96 with d16y

Dear all.. recently, my car just running fine.. but, i sense smthing wrong with pickup.. go to service using penzoil 5-40 full synth, then the mech said.. my engine already 'makan minyak' dan need tpo overhaul plus my rack & pinion kaput that will make my car go always to the left ( i've done the alignment there also ).. my question is..

1) instead of doing top overhaul, can i just use the decarbonizer that sold around rm60 only?? the mech state the cost is around rm400 plus parts..

2) how much cost for the rack & pinion? or should i just change the steering rack from chop shop?? can a sr4 steering rack exchangeable with so4? cos my fren got wan.. can reduce the cost larr.. ehehehee

3) i've already spotted a leaking from my g/box.. the mech also said it is from oil seal near the grand shaft.. or what so ever.. :p .. the cost he ask is rm250..

above all thing, should i just CHANGE THE D*MN ENGINE AND GEARBOX TO REDUCE THE COST ??

can i just swap B16A?? how much the cost?? can some1 please give advise.. if, change.. i dont want racing wan.. just easy to maintain, with good fc and little more response.. the most important, the minimal cost..
Old 08-21-2008, 10:43 AM   #2

Over 10,000bhp!

Default Re: please sifu - need advice on so4 96 with d16y

dun do anythings... keep the money in pocket. it won't harm if u didn't done anything as u state...
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 12:38 PM   #3

3000bhp Senior

if cost is a concern... try getting a D15B from an EK3-Vi... better performance than D16, better fuel efficiency, less expensive
Old 08-21-2008, 01:20 PM   #4

1000bhp Senior

agree with faisal

just plonk in a D15B SOHC VTEC. better FC
Old 08-21-2008, 01:33 PM   #5

1bhp Stock

RM250 just to change gearbox oil seal??? mahal tuuuuu....
Old 08-21-2008, 01:38 PM   #6

Over 10,000bhp!

rm250 for repairing, not mahal.... hahaha... rm250 for a used EK9 gear knob, thats mahal...
Old 08-21-2008, 01:43 PM   #7

50bhp Junior

D15B?? can just change rite??? doesnt need to change cpu,etc2..?? how much the engine? can use old gb ka??
Old 08-21-2008, 01:50 PM   #8

Over 10,000bhp!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sazleej View Post
D15B?? can just change rite??? doesnt need to change cpu,etc2..?? how much the engine? can use old gb ka??
u need to change everything, from wiring, ecu to gearbox & all the things which attached with engine.. almost 1 half cut....
Old 08-21-2008, 05:05 PM   #9

50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by JINEIL2EN View Post
u need to change everything, from wiring, ecu to gearbox & all the things which attached with engine.. almost 1 half cut....
can you give me the cost?? hlfcut + labour?? not exactly but around rm3k ka?
Old 08-21-2008, 06:32 PM   #10

3000bhp Senior

sazleej,

i suggest u to contact hattech-V. he used to have the complete engine+GB+wiring for sale for RM1k... dono still available or not...
Old 08-22-2008, 02:51 PM   #11

Over 10,000bhp!

Quote:
can you give me the cost?? hlfcut + labour?? not exactly but around rm3k ka?
if time allow u, just drop by my workshop for further discussion. u wanna save money ma...
Old 08-24-2008, 09:14 PM   #12

50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by JINEIL2EN View Post
if time allow u, just drop by my workshop for further discussion. u wanna save money ma...
if i can.. no prob.. but, i'm in sabah la.. very hard to find decent workshop with good bargain.. every mechanic saw the the will said, it's honda maaaa... its killing me! even theres one shop quote me rm50/litre just for fu**ing ATF.. its a burden laaaa.. aahahahahaaa
Old 08-25-2008, 11:01 AM   #13

Over 10,000bhp!

Quote:
if i can.. no prob.. but, i'm in sabah la.. very hard to find decent workshop with good bargain.. every mechanic saw the the will said, it's honda maaaa... its killing me! even theres one shop quote me rm50/litre just for fu**ing ATF.. its a burden laaaa.. aahahahahaaa
rm50per liter of ATF..?? thats Motul ma...haha..
Old 08-25-2008, 05:31 PM   #14

50bhp Junior

thats why i'm asking for the hondarian experts here for solution.. if i'm in peninsular, definitely i'll go to jin's workshop or hattec-v or just find shiro.. eeheheheheeee.. mybe i'll just wait for the end of the year for me to job transfer back to my hometown which is same as shiro.. hehehehee probably have to wait for the time..
Old 08-25-2008, 05:55 PM   #15