Tomica : Build your own toy town - Zerotohundred.com
Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Content > Features

LinkBack Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2011, 11:49 AM   #1
1000bhp Senior

Liked: 1,088 / 380 Posts
Default Tomica : Build your own toy town

While most people might deem having toys as a very childish hobby, you would just change your mind when you see this. Introducing Tomica, one of the toys that has existed over 40 years. It is very similar to Hotwheels and Matchbox. The only difference is that, most of the cars in Tomica are based on real life cars, mostly JDM vehicles. There are other American and European car models in the mix, though very rare like the Lamborghini Gallardo, Lamborghini Reventon, Mini Cooper, Hummer, Jeep Wrangler and so on.

So building a town like Sim City is one of your quest? Your prayers has been answered in a the form of a miniature scale. Tomica Town has existed about 30 years in a form of miniature building sets, that could be interlinked to form a large township. You could build the town however you want it, the way you want it, arranged the layout you want it to be.

I started my first purchase of Tomica, when my friend told me that there's a Nissan Dealership building for sale. I always wanted a miniature toy dealership shop. When I first gotten hold of the toy, I unpacked it from the box, read the manuals and slowly attached the decals/stickers to the toy building. I must say, the building looks pretty real if it you knew how to use a good camera, point and snap at it.

These toys were available from Jusco and Parkson, as these toys were brought in by the local distributor, Litt Tak. These sets retail between RM49.90 to RM69.90. I am not directly affiliated with them, but I must say, they've done a good job bringing in these toys. Sadly, they didn't know how to promote their products. Tomica is doing quite successfully outside of Malaysia, where it is a quite popular toy to be played in Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, China, Singapore and the United States. I wish they did more advertising on them, so the general public is more aware of them.

There is another product that fits into the Tomica world, which is the Pla-rail series. Both range of toys, created by the Takara Tomy company, can be interlinked in both worlds. You could build networks of train lines and run many locomotives on the track you build. Your imagination is the only thing holding back your creativity in this case. Trains can go for metres around your bedroom. There is an active Pla-rail community in Malaysia, so check it out.

Slowly my addiction grew so much, I was just buying every building there is in the catalog books. I was even buying some obsolete models of the 1980s and the 1990s, to actually fit into my town. These buildings added realism to the town. Soon I was having some proper miniature restaurants in my town, like McDonald's , Yoshinoya, 7 Eleven, Mister Donut and other food chains. I was really building a fully functional town with police stations, fire stations and a hospital. My showroom collection grew as well, I added a Toyota and Honda dealership later on to the town.

Soon I realised what I was missing in township. While I had a subway line with a subway locomotive, I was lacking a proper Shinkansen (Bullet train) line from the mix. I bought the N700 locomotive from eBay as it was not locally available. Adding that locomotive made it look like a proper Japanese city.

Since my city wasn't lit up at night, I decided to buy some LED lamp poles from Jusco. They were not cheap, as they were about RM39.90 for a box of 3 lamp poles. I've bought about 10 boxes, so I have about 30 units of the lamp posts.

The city looks pretty good at night now. I brought my friend over and he came with a Nikon D300 DSLR camera. He managed to capture and give a surreal feel to the town. From a glance this looked like a photo snapped from a plane above, but in reality, these are just toys. The lighting and the mood was just perfect, it was as real as you could imagine until you put your eyes closer to it and notice it a few times.

Overall, I spent about more than RM2000 on the toys. Some might see it as a waste of money, however if you know you are spending it correctly and doing constructive things with that money, then certainly it is not a waste. I believe I've created one of the most functional Tomica towns in Malaysia, that looked proper with roadways and layout. If there is another person out there who could trump this, feel free to show your set. Check out the few videos below of my functioning town set, with running trains and traffic lights.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	37232_10150212759930352_902185351_13138862_3447824_n.jpg
Views:	768
Size:	47.6 KB
ID:	397499  

Honda S600 : 9,500 RPM redline and easily going beyond 11,000RPM, no other road production cars could rev that high.

Disclaimer : Whatever I write on sections outside of Features and News are my own opinion and has nothing to do with Zerotohundred. I am a non-paid contributor and has no moderation powers. Peace

Latest Entries that might interest you:

Kevin Lee is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following 8 Users Liked Kevin Lee For This Useful Post:
bushidofang (08-28-2011), Dayline668 (08-27-2011), DinDin6491 (08-27-2011), kiseki (08-27-2011), MiNiFans (08-27-2011), So Zw (08-27-2011), SoloScandaL (08-27-2011), Tom (08-29-2011)
Old 08-27-2011, 12:17 PM   #2
300bhp Nitrous Member

Liked: 53 / 24 Posts
Default Re: Tomica : Build your own toy town

This is not childish toys,this thread makes me recall what I used to play when I was primary school.

And I can spend half day to play this...this is a GREAT toys for every car lovers *Cheers*
MiNiFans is online now   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-27-2011, 12:24 PM   #3
1000bhp Senior

im glad u seen it that way, it tooks 6 months to coordinate a build like this, sourcing various buildings and completing the car collection, it was fun!

Honda S600 : 9,500 RPM redline and easily going beyond 11,000RPM, no other road production cars could rev that high.

Disclaimer : Whatever I write on sections outside of Features and News are my own opinion and has nothing to do with Zerotohundred. I am a non-paid contributor and has no moderation powers. Peace
(0)
The Following User Likes Kevin Lee For This Useful Post:
MiNiFans (08-27-2011)
Old 08-27-2011, 12:55 PM   #4
50bhp Junior

Liked: 5 / 3 Posts

Nice !
kiseki is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-27-2011, 01:15 PM   #5
From Facebook

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

These kinds of toys are timeless...
Adrian Padua is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following User Likes Adrian Padua For This Useful Post:
sinatra_shinoda (08-28-2011)
Old 08-27-2011, 07:38 PM   #6
1000bhp Senior

Liked: 46 / 24 Posts

I have the Honda dealership

Sadly, ALL my NSX GT cars kena rembat by little kids that come over for raya. ALL 6 of them, super rare shit, all gone.

GAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
bien335 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-27-2011, 08:39 PM   #7
I brake very late....

Liked: 40 / 23 Posts

My son ganked my Epson AND Autobacs NSX JGTC...... then he mixed them with his Hotwheels
Old 08-27-2011, 09:11 PM   #8
1000bhp Senior

charles, sad day for u, luckily im not married and dont have kids yet! lol

i shall make sure my toys are safe from kids reach !

(0)
Old 08-27-2011, 10:53 PM   #9

Liked: 6 / 6 Posts

respect u bro!!! i always wanted a train set... superbly fun to play it~ haha
hayashi86 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-28-2011, 03:37 AM   #10
50bhp Junior

Liked: 10 / 3 Posts

now i feel like making a small city already .. lol :p
-Sonic- is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-28-2011, 04:12 AM   #11
From Facebook

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

adoi...ure just giving me another reason treasure my hotwheels even more.... now, first step, create a space for my room for them...hehehheeee

all in all, awesome project bro. :)
Hard Ayz is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-28-2011, 08:55 AM   #12
1000bhp Senior

well honestly, u can put ur creativity out!!

check out my photos using instagram iphone app

(0)
The Following 2 Users Liked Kevin Lee For This Useful Post:
et_box (09-05-2011), laichong (08-29-2011)
Old 08-28-2011, 01:50 PM   #13
From Facebook

Liked: 0 / 0 Posts

so nice geh~
syazwanibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-28-2011, 03:22 PM   #14
50bhp Junior

Liked: 10 / 3 Posts

tomica also has range of cars where you put a battery inside and the car moves on its own , although in a straight line though ,
-Sonic- is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 08-28-2011, 03:25 PM   #15
1000bhp Senior

there is definitely such a toy, but these were from the older tomica towns. the newer ones uses a race track and moves like the tamiya circuits

(0)

Zerotohundred.com > Content > Features

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next
Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Latest Posts
  SARD fuel regulator TYPE -RJ
Last Post Today 02:33 AM
my new project
Last Post Today 02:28 AM
  Bosch performance ignition coil x4
Last Post Today 02:09 AM
  Kicker 4 channel and monoblock amplifier
Last Post Today 01:59 AM
SUpertech Piston & Jun 3 cams on B20
Last Post Today 01:53 AM
This Weeks' Most Popular!
2013 TIMETOATTACK Round 1 - The Preview!
Last Post 05-22-2013 11:47 PM
JDM Mayhem @ 2013 TIMETOATTACK Round 1!
Last Post Yesterday 12:06 AM
The Euros @ TIMETOATTACK Round 1 2013
Last Post 05-23-2013 09:30 PM

2000 - 2012 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top