Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Do-It-Yourself Garage

Tags
colour, dashboard

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2007, 10:25 AM   #61
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Stock

Trader Ratings: (0)

I dont have any pics but i will make a list for you. You can find them at an automotive store.... ttyl,
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 08:10 PM   #62

5bhp Stock

Send a message via Yahoo to KucingKelabu

Great :D Let us know yeah!
My SignatureDisplay Signature Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 12:45 PM   #63

3000bhp Senior

man this thread is interesting. i just replaced my door panel and now i'm thinking of getting the dash painted/dyed black.... cheryl... ur pink dash sure looks right from the manufacturing line :)
Old 01-20-2007, 11:23 PM   #64

5bhp Stock

plastic sealant or plastic silicone?
Old 01-21-2007, 11:28 AM   #65

5bhp Stock

Send a message via Yahoo to KucingKelabu

I think its some kind of primer that can bond to plastic and at the same time be painted. Plastic dye in Malaysia can be obtained from those Overseas hardware chains, but they're like RM35+ per can and only come with limited colors :( (The bad thing is, i never saw black ones!)

I did an experiment as recommended by one of the hardware shop owner (painted my gear console and armrest to matt black). It's been a bout three weeks now and the paint so far did not show any signs of peeling or cracking just yet. We'll see after a few months :)
Old 02-19-2007, 06:01 PM   #66

5bhp Stock

what about body paint?
u know body paint is realy expensive,
have anyone tried or have any idea of how to do it ourselves?
Old 07-21-2008, 10:17 AM   #67

I AM NOOB

Send a message via ICQ to fstrader Send a message via AIM to fstrader Send a message via MSN to fstrader Send a message via Yahoo to fstrader

Default Re: How to Colour your own dashboard

anymore updates ?
Old 08-14-2008, 04:21 PM   #68

1000bhp Senior

i did a dashboard paint to my car's. but i did not use any sealant or what not.
What i did was, sand the dash using the fine sandpaper. then wipe clean the surface. then directly spray on it a few layers. then i finish off with clear paint.

so far no problem. i used silver color. but thinking to change to white soon and complete paint for gear console and other panels too. maybe i post photo later.
Old 09-05-2008, 05:19 PM   #69

Send a message via MSN to 5115

before

after...

Old 09-05-2008, 05:26 PM   #70

1) clean the dashboard with water
2) clean it again with petrol
3) spray it with "flexible sealer"
4) spray the colour u want before the "flexible sealer" dry
5) done

im not salesman of CENTARI or SUNLIGHT & happy DIY my friend!
Old 09-15-2008, 07:12 AM   #71

250bhp Stage II Member

Woh... nice... thanks for sharing...
wondering whether it also can b applied on door trims?
Old 09-15-2008, 08:57 AM   #72

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExODus View Post
Woh... nice... thanks for sharing...
wondering whether it also can b applied on door trims?
wat car u referring to?should be no problem,but remember dun spray too much,a thin layer of paint will be enuf.
Old 09-15-2008, 10:08 AM   #73

I AM NOOB

Send a message via ICQ to fstrader Send a message via AIM to fstrader Send a message via MSN to fstrader Send a message via Yahoo to fstrader

take out da dashboard problem or not eh??
Old 09-15-2008, 10:16 AM   #74

Default Re: How to Colour your own dashbo