Connect with Facebook

Tags
diy, stabilizer, voltage

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2006
1000bhp Senior

Send a message via MSN to drexchan Send a message via Yahoo to drexchan

You guys know this device called GTECH Pro RR right? If not, read it here

This is a device to detect the G-force during acceleration and is very useful in measuring 0-100km/h, 0-400m time, etc etc.

This device senses the noise in the electrical system (cigarette lighter) to read the engine RPM.

I have one and I used it in developing the C-VOLTZ v2.0 voltage stabilizer.

What we did was to test all the prototypes with the GTECH Pro RR. When the GTECH is able to detech the RPM, the prototype that is being installed on the battery will be rejected. That left us only 1 prototype that failed the GTECH - no noise detected, or noise level too low.

With this proto, we went dyno the car. As you know, the dyno machine also detects the RPM with a clamp on one of the ignition cables to detect the flux. Nope, it failed too. That's the reason why we can't produce a proper dyno chart with the VS.. haha!

During a GTECH test run, we need to induce the noise by switching on the aircon compressor, so basically our test runs with GTECH are with the a/c on.

Well, not cheap though, USD299 excluding freight.
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006
1000bhp Senior

Just to add, we tested a few after market brands, expensive and cheap ones.

Conclusion, th eprice does matter.

Generally, cheap ones works fine with the GTECH Pro RR.. which means lower or no noise suppression.
Old 11-23-2006
2000bhp Senior

But this method of judging the performance of VS is not so good. Furthermore you still unable to prove any VS is good than the other. Even if its good for your car, can you say the same for other car? (Even of the same model?)

If noise not entering the ciggy lighter (or low), it does not mean the noise is not big at ECU or other places. The only way can proof this (whether VS successfully filters the noise) is by viewing it at high frequency digital osc and revving slowly from 1k rpm to 5k rpm for example. Then it will be good VS design. Otherwise, if u want to DIY it, just chuck in any old values and it'll be fine. In your case, using GTECH maybe a good effort than not using anything at all.

There is no point of doing the dyno too. VS basically does nothing to power or torque. It just cleans out the noise in supply. If stock ignition system is badly designed, putting VS might restore power loss (due to stock design caused noise to enter ECU and mess up some signals). But in modern cars, most ignition systems and electrical routing are done quite good. Thus eliminate the need for VS.
Old 11-23-2006
1000bhp Senior

Quote:
Furthermore you still unable to prove any VS is good than the other. Even if its good for your car, can you say the same for other car? (Even of the same model?)
Correct. I can only make a conclusion based on the noise filtering ability in my car (and a few other Wiras).

Quote:
In your case, using GTECH maybe a good effort than not using anything at all.
That's exactly my point. I am just suggesting an alternative for making a suitable VS for your own car. In addition, as you say something is better than NOTHING, the "something" at least worth a credit lor.. Haha!

Quote:
If stock ignition system is badly designed, putting VS might restore power loss (due to stock design caused noise to enter ECU and mess up some signals).
Agree. But we must not forget that we can still see plenty of cars running around with 80' technology.

Last edited by drexchan; 11-23-2006 at 04:07 PM..
Old 11-23-2006
2000bhp Senior

Quote:
Agree. But we must not forget that we can still see plenty of cars running around with 80' technology.
Hahahaha... how true...
Old 12-08-2006
5bhp Stock

when i finally read all this... i found out that I CONFUSED....
Old 12-08-2006
5bhp Stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullsEYE
when i finally read all this... i found out that I CONFUSED....

Why?
Just build it with multiple value cap with 25v & abv, 105deg specs.... then connect all of them parallel. Thats all....

I am in process of doing mine... some hicupps occured.... due to my workmanship.
Old 12-08-2006
5bhp Stock

i see certain aftermarket VS hav diod, resistor, fius n IC.. what's d purpose for this IC.. wit DIY no IC.. does it effect it so much...???

This wat makes me confused...
Old 12-08-2006
5bhp Stock

n attaching bulb or LED.. i think LED sud do fine.. cause d job is only as an indicator whether it is fully charge or not...

diod attachment, fius.. i think this sud be on first..

CAPS... well, how many???

depends on d dude who's makin' it..

...1 or 2 pieces.. u don't feel it dude..
to many.. wooooooaaaa.. r u trying to make a bomb...

when short curcuit occurs.. acid is allover ur car.. n it's smells GREAT to...
Old 12-10-2006
5bhp Stock

which brand are u referring that has IC?
D1 spec IC is for the voltage display....
Old 12-10-2006
2000bhp Senior

if for display IC, the part is LM3914.. its cheap
u can get it at electronic shop. it is also being
used in Autometer voltage meter and a/f ratio meter.
Old 12-10-2006
5bhp Stock

i do not know what part no was that..(IC).. but i believe something got to do wit controlling d electric flow.. sorry no pic..
Old 12-10-2006
1000bhp Senior

I saw NE555 in a brand called MaxSpeed.. guess what is it for? Don should know.

:D
Old 12-10-2006
2000bhp Senior

555?

its a timer.. why would need a timer in VS? hmm.....
is there a clock? kekeke...
Old 12-10-2006
1000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by donCityZ
555?

its a timer.. why would need a timer in VS? hmm.....
is there a clock? kekeke...
A vibrating circuit for the blinking LED. :emoticon_U:

Zerotohundred.com > Technical Section > Do-It-Yourself Garage