Tags
neutral, shifting, stalling

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2005, 11:55 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

300bhp Nitrous Member

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default stalling after shifting from neutral

hey all...recently been having this awkward problem with the car...when i'm stopped at the lights i put the car in neutral (driving a 90 cefiro auto btw) and when i shift back to drive it would suddenly lose power and just struggle...and finally the engine would just die...i thought it'd obviously be due to the lack of fuel in the car at first so i just filled it up to a quarter tank...this was on friday though but it sorta happened again this morning...felt the car losing power again so just quickly pumped in more gas and it just slowly gained speed and suddenly went up...however this problem wouldn't occur if i left the car on drive instead of neutral...and during idling it'll rev up to 1500 and then drop to below 1k...and then shoot back up again...any ideas??
Old 09-23-2005, 01:33 PM   #2

zan
2000bhp Senior

whenever u face engine stalling problem, try to find the root by three main reason.

1. fuel supply
2. electrical supply
3. engine mechanicals.

it will make things easier for you.

for sophiscated system like EFI, u need computer tester (checker) and linked it to your ECU. i dont wanna suggest any thing becoz the problem can be anything from electronics to spark plugs and fuel filter.

p/s u can always buy new car to solve the problem... :D dont fire haa...
Old 09-23-2005, 01:48 PM   #3

50bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by grouchy_smurf
hey all...recently been having this awkward problem with the car...when i'm stopped at the lights i put the car in neutral (driving a 90 cefiro auto btw) and when i shift back to drive it would suddenly lose power and just struggle...and finally the engine would just die...i thought it'd obviously be due to the lack of fuel in the car at first so i just filled it up to a quarter tank...this was on friday though but it sorta happened again this morning...felt the car losing power again so just quickly pumped in more gas and it just slowly gained speed and suddenly went up...however this problem wouldn't occur if i left the car on drive instead of neutral...and during idling it'll rev up to 1500 and then drop to below 1k...and then shoot back up again...any ideas??
bro.i think ho, u nd check ur GB liao. my previous Audi A6 '97 give me similar pblm oso. when push to D, tekan pedal car will THINK 4 3-5 saat then move. after smooth driving it will loose power but suddenly power coming back.

the best thing is when my brother n i balik kampung, my car refuse to work liao. GB kaput car breakdown at seremban. lucky manage drive slowly to emergency lane. if not my car will at center lane really at that time i can't find my balls bcos me at center lane n bus,lorry running damn fast.

ask ur mech to fully check ur car is the best choice.
Old 09-23-2005, 02:40 PM   #4

5bhp Stock

maybe ur gearbox got problem.....