Fuel Saving Devices - Read before you buy ! - Page 8 - Zerotohundred.com
Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Discussions > Car Talk

LinkBack Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 03:27 PM   #106
1000bhp Senior

Liked: 672 / 355 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Saving Devices - Read before you buy !

Hi guys...I accompanied my friend to a car workshop and I noticed that they are selling this "Cyclone Vortex" products. Well FTW, its a piece of metal which is installed in the air intake passage to create a vortex / a swirl of air to improve air flow.

This thing has been in the market for...well...many years and when I saw it, it was like "this thing still exists???"

Any1 has any experience with this product? What is the outcome? To me, I've got no idea whether it brings good or bad.

The creation of a vortex is surely improves the air flow as it increases the air velocity. But at the same time, effective area is reduced. So unless the increase in velocity can overcome the reduce in area, its pretty useless.

Sifu?
cvkit17 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 05-28-2012, 12:59 PM   #107
'(00) Contributor / Mod

Liked: 3,119 / 1,110 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvkit17 View Post
Hi guys...I accompanied my friend to a car workshop and I noticed that they are selling this "Cyclone Vortex" products. Well FTW, its a piece of metal which is installed in the air intake passage to create a vortex / a swirl of air to improve air flow.

This thing has been in the market for...well...many years and when I saw it, it was like "this thing still exists???"

Any1 has any experience with this product? What is the outcome? To me, I've got no idea whether it brings good or bad.

The creation of a vortex is surely improves the air flow as it increases the air velocity. But at the same time, effective area is reduced. So unless the increase in velocity can overcome the reduce in area, its pretty useless.

Sifu?
Your conclusion is exactly right.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforu...xperiment.html

I wrote about it sometime back and mine was a cloned DIY sample similar to those fangdangled gadgets.
Izso is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following User Likes Izso For This Useful Post:
cvkit17 (05-28-2012)
Old 05-28-2012, 09:52 PM   #108
1000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Izso View Post
Your conclusion is exactly right.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforu...xperiment.html

I wrote about it sometime back and mine was a cloned DIY sample similar to those fangdangled gadgets.
Nice testing there! Well u should try it "out of the real thing" first haha...fit it into a water bottle, turn it upside down and time the water flow. Air and water are both fluid..should work

I got 1 ori cyclone installed in my dad's old nissan senta, which is running on carb. Well i would say...with or without the cyclone...no rasa lol...neither increase or decrease in anything
(0)
The Following User Likes cvkit17 For This Useful Post:
Izso (05-29-2012)
Old 05-29-2012, 09:24 AM   #109
'(00) Contributor / Mod

Liked: 3,119 / 1,110 Posts

Quote:
Nice testing there! Well u should try it "out of the real thing" first haha...fit it into a water bottle, turn it upside down and time the water flow. Air and water are both fluid..should work

I got 1 ori cyclone installed in my dad's old nissan senta, which is running on carb. Well i would say...with or without the cyclone...no rasa lol...neither increase or decrease in anything
Carb is different, you can control the amount of fuel and all that, everything's mechanical. Mine's EFI, so not enough air is not enough air and resulting in choking. It might or might not work for Carb if you mess around with the A/F and all.
Izso is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 05-29-2012, 12:12 PM   #110
1000bhp Senior

Anyone here using QMAX Voltage Stabilizer here? And this QMAX company is also selling the Cyclones

[WTS]Qmax Products

And there's 1 from HKS which is pretty the same...VS+grounding+duno wat power booster lol...
(0)
Old 06-26-2012, 12:54 AM   #111
100bhp Junior

Liked: 34 / 18 Posts

I've built my own multiple spark ignition cdis system. It's capable of 6 sparks at spark voltage 30,000 Volts. It's improve accelaration of my 4G15 sohc carb type engine. I still use the original distributor w/ built-in ignition coil. I can easily compare the performance by switching from CDIS to exciter type of ignition system. It will took only 30 seconds to switch connectors.

---------- Post added at 12:54 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:30 AM ----------

Quote:
Anyone here using QMAX Voltage Stabilizer here? And this QMAX company is also selling the Cyclones

[WTS]Qmax Products

And there's 1 from HKS which is pretty the same...VS+grounding+duno wat power booster lol...
I prefer installing Grounding System than Voltage stabilizer. Specially if your car have rusted or dirty grounding wire connection. Voltage drop will be reduced and therefore voltage in your ignition systems was at normal voltage +13V which give better spark voltage for spark plug.
Rleo6965 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 06-26-2012, 08:44 AM   #112

Liked: 73 / 48 Posts

interesting! any pics? y not use an external ignition coil?
Old 06-26-2012, 09:12 AM   #113
100bhp Junior

Picture of my Multiple Spark CDIS. Installed in Mitsubishi Lancer EL 1996. I did not know which Proton equivalent.
Aluminum casing on left side was the CDIS, Wires w/ black electric tape from distributor was connected to Exciter and built-in ignition coil. I still use original Distributor for easy conversion back to original wiring connection. Note connector w/ yellow arrow for conversion procedure. CDIS unit was a prototype and installed since April 2012.
http://i879.photobucket.com/albums/a...nConnector.jpg

Last edited by Rleo6965; 06-26-2012 at 09:24 AM.
(0)
The Following 2 Users Liked Rleo6965 For This Useful Post:
Izso (07-03-2012), tofu_manic (07-02-2012)
Old 06-26-2012, 09:23 AM   #114

Liked: 73 / 48 Posts

awesome! till what rpm does it give 6 sparks? msd 6a gives multisparks only up to 3000 if im not mistaken
Old 06-26-2012, 10:49 AM   #115
100bhp Junior

Quote:
Originally Posted by tofu_manic View Post
awesome! till what rpm does it give 6 sparks? msd 6a gives multisparks only up to 3000 if im not mistaken
This CDIS mostly use digital circuits unlike previous old MSD use analog circuits. 6 spark will start to decrease gradually when 2,000 rpm was reached.

Below youtube video link showing the distributor Ignition coil only and my CDIS circuit board during test and development. Note maximum current was 1.8 ampere, therefore ignition coil will be colder. CDIS component will not overheat and note that 6 power transistor have no heatsink for thermal protection.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSzk4...leSparkCDI.mp4 - YouTube

Sorry if i'm out of the topic.

Last edited by Rleo6965; 06-26-2012 at 01:40 PM.
(0)
The Following User Likes Rleo6965 For This Useful Post:
tofu_manic (07-02-2012)
Old 07-02-2012, 01:16 PM   #116
5bhp Stock

Liked: 0 / 0 Posts

Put your car in garage..and don't ever drive it..haha..kidding
abeys is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 07-02-2012, 06:25 PM   #117
2000bhp Senior

Liked: 718 / 465 Posts

the best fuel saving device that i use is....

NGV

6cents per kilometer..

even a hybrid can't beat that

(0)
The Following User Likes D7zul For This Useful Post:
feipepe (07-10-2012)
Old 09-03-2012, 02:56 PM   #118
5bhp Stock

Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
Garage

hey,,did you guys ever heard of Qmax products ?
do these products really work ?
Hadi17 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 09-03-2012, 03:21 PM   #119
2000bhp Senior

Liked: 718 / 465 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hadi17 View Post
hey,,did you guys ever heard of Qmax products ?
do these products really work ?
u mean this 1? How to save fuel in car?Use nanotechnology Qmax nano Fuel Saver products.Manufacturer,Qmax nanotechnology products, aftermarket performance parts to increase horsepower, less pollution, smoother engine, engine response, deisel common rail engine, pet

does infrared effect fuel?

anyhow, if any of u guyz have an infrared camera.. u can take a look at Qmax

anyway, some info on infrared..

(0)
The Following User Likes D7zul For This Useful Post:
Izso (09-04-2012)
Old 09-03-2012, 03:45 PM   #120
csl

Liked: 479 / 209 Posts

Fuel saving, this picture says it all

csl is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
The Following 3 Users Liked csl For This Useful Post:
amrancharger (09-04-2012), Izso (09-04-2012), VTEC LoVeR (01-26-2013)

Zerotohundred.com > Car Discussions > Car Talk

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next
Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Latest Posts
  Honda civic EG9 B18C type R for sale
Last Post Today 04:29 AM
Ducatus
Last Post Today 04:02 AM
  Toyota MRS (M) showroom condition
Last Post Today 01:20 AM
  (wts) rear tail lamp satria gti
Last Post Yesterday 11:23 PM

2000 - 2012 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top