Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Discussions > Car Talk
Connect with Facebook

Tags
late, low, response, rpmhelp, throttle

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2007
500bhp Stage 3 Member

Default Late Throttle Response When On Low Rpm...help Me!!!

to all, pls drop some opinions here on my problem......

currently,i had a perdana V6 manual on my ride......my car now facing a low rpm jerking abit when on 2000 rpm-3000rpm (a bit slow to pick up),and i think it's due to late throttle response...
the car is good when in 4000 rpm and above....

PLS HELP ME....
Send User a Private Message Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007
5000BHP! Senior

Send a message via MSN to SkYwAlKeR Send a message via Yahoo to SkYwAlKeR
Default Re: Late Throttle Response When On Low Rpm...help Me!!!

ignition timing ok??.... try advancing it a little...

its kinda normal for slow throttle response for v6 engines... my friend has a 6a10 1.6 v6 engine and he said stock standard, low end response is kinda bad... but how bad is his "bad" i not too sure compare to urs...

tried using any piggyback ecu to remap the air/fuel tuning at lower rpm??...
Old 11-02-2007
2000bhp Senior

i think it got something to do with ur g/box.just my 2 cent.
Old 11-02-2007
500bhp Stage 3 Member

izit useful if i bolt a Apexi S-AFC to my car?.....
Old 11-02-2007
500bhp Stage 3 Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkYwAlKeR View Post
ignition timing ok??.... try advancing it a little...

its kinda normal for slow throttle response for v6 engines... my friend has a 6a10 1.6 v6 engine and he said stock standard, low end response is kinda bad... but how bad is his "bad" i not too sure compare to urs...

tried using any piggyback ecu to remap the air/fuel tuning at lower rpm??...
how's yor fren counter this kind of prob???......
Old 11-02-2007
5000BHP! Senior

Send a message via MSN to SkYwAlKeR Send a message via Yahoo to SkYwAlKeR

errr.... dunno.... never update on his problem adi...
but before this he said might try out megasquirt standalone ecu... but first he need to find the ecu mapping for v6 engine...
Old 11-02-2007
450bhp Turbo Member

check the plugs.. maybe theres a missfire.. the culprit could be the cable plugs as well
Old 11-02-2007

Send a message via Skype™ to TitanRev

Steven, did you replace the clutch. I suspect is clutch slip. Those your car feel like "want to go, dont want to to" ? When its 4000rpm already the car gain its momentum so you don't feel anything abnormal.

Your problem always occur at low RPM and during when the car start to move ?
Old 11-02-2007
500bhp Stage 3 Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanRev View Post
Steven, did you replace the clutch. I suspect is clutch slip. Those your car feel like "want to go, dont want to to" ? When its 4000rpm already the car gain its momentum so you don't feel anything abnormal.

Your problem always occur at low RPM and during when the car start to move ?
yes,bro.....my clutch is slip now...cannot tahan the heat dy.....
actually planning to change the clutch 1,coz in my mind, i thought there'll be no connection between clutch n my throttle response...
thx,bro...really appreciate yor suggestion!
Old 11-02-2007
500bhp Stage 3 Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by LuKa View Post
check the plugs.. maybe theres a missfire.. the culprit could be the cable plugs as well

plug cable hvn't change b4.....and
after i open up& check the plugs,how to know on a plug if there's misfiring...??
Old 11-03-2007

Send a message via Skype™ to TitanRev

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenV6 View Post
yes,bro.....my clutch is slip now...cannot tahan the heat dy.....
actually planning to change the clutch 1,coz in my mind, i thought there'll be no connection between clutch n my throttle response...
thx,bro...really appreciate yor suggestion!
I suggest you replace your clutch. If there's clutch slippage, you can feel it. Cause when the clutch slip the power output from the engine is loss and you will feel the car response is slow. I remember there's a test that you can do to see wether your clutch is still god or not.
1. Engage 1st gear step on the brake, then lift off the clutch rapidly without applying any throttle. If your clutch bites good. Your car will stall immediately. If there's slip you engine will stall rather late. In the most worst case, your engine won't die, if you clutch habis kau kau...i tried this on an old 120Y. clutch finish kau kau...1st gear in, lift off clutch engine won't stall keep running with a very noisy metal grinding sound....

Zerotohundred.com > Car Discussions > Car Talk