Unknown leakage near injector area! - Zerotohundred.com
Zerotohundred.com
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos TIMETOATTACK! Store!
Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Car Discussions > Car Problems

LinkBack Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2012, 12:44 PM   #1
5bhp Stock

Liked: 0 / 0 Posts
Default Unknown leakage near injector area!

Hey Bros,

I'm driving a 4g18 with a Bolt on turbo.

I currently have an unknown leakage near my injector area. It only occurs under full boosting at 0.8Bar. when i drive normal without flooring, no issue of leaks at all.

The substance is red in colour and does not evaporate at all. A mechanic told me it may be my injector seal leak and the substance is fuel. However, to my knowledge, fuel will evaporate almost instantly and should not leave behind red substances right? My injector seal next to the leak is also dry and not wet at all. More importantly, when i use a tissue to wipe it off, it does not smell like fuel. Smells more like grease/engine oil.

FYI, i'm using motul engine oil and the oil colour is not red. My radiator fluid is green colour. As u can see in the photo, the leak is not a major leak. Hence i'm unable to trace the source. So any sifu or gurus out there can advise on what this red substance maybe? Please see pictures attached below. Thanks alot!!!

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/440/img2562j.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/860/30698567.jpg/

Last edited by ken_junyi; 04-27-2012 at 12:47 PM.
ken_junyi is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 04-28-2012, 12:41 PM   #2
5bhp Stock

Default Re: Unknown leakage near injector area!

??? Any bros out there care to contribute some advice?? =)
(0)
Old 04-28-2012, 01:06 PM   #3

Liked: 2 / 2 Posts

coolant with some rust...
speedo is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 04-28-2012, 01:55 PM   #4
350bhp Nitrous Member

Liked: 78 / 46 Posts
Garage

red liquid usually are coolant....gear oil / steering oil.....i am not sure about fuel....
Jakk is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
(0)
Old 04-28-2012, 04:50 PM   #5
5bhp Stock

Hmmm but my coolant is green leh... So if it's really coolant, could it mean my head gasket blow?? Because that area is also near my cam cover?

A fren mentioned that it could be the "Gum" that is used between the mating points of the intake manifold to the engine which melt on high heat and start to give way on high pressure...
(0)

Zerotohundred.com > Car Discussions > Car Problems

Previous: Previous Thread | Next Thread :Next
Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Latest Posts
  (wts) rear tail lamp satria gti
Last Post Yesterday 11:23 PM
  (wts)dashboard satria gti uk spec
Last Post Yesterday 11:20 PM
  (wts)Dashboard ek3 virs
Last Post Yesterday 11:16 PM
  (wts) oem proton satria gti steereng wheel
Last Post Yesterday 11:14 PM
  (wts) Proton satria gti uk spec meter mph
Last Post Yesterday 11:09 PM

2000 - 2012 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Tags | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Top