Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network   
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network > Cars > Car Talk > Car Modification

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2008, 06:12 PM   #16
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

100bhp Junior

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default Re: 4G93 performance enhancement

not sure but my mivec is something like what you give, what is your km/h on 5th gear at 3000 rpm?
Old 07-04-2008, 10:52 PM   #17

5bhp Kid

Quote:
Originally Posted by starscream View Post
not sure but my mivec is something like what you give, what is your km/h on 5th gear at 3000 rpm?
5th gear 3000rpm gives 85 to 90kmh
Old 07-05-2008, 12:22 AM   #18

100bhp Junior

guess it's a mivec gb, what is your gb code?
Old 07-05-2008, 03:48 AM   #19

5bhp Kid

Didn't take the code number down. I got the gb off a mechanic who told me it's from a satria GTI. I also checked with a satria GTI owner who said the rpm vs speed seems about right.

Guess I just need to get used to the higher rpm.
Old 07-05-2008, 07:56 AM   #20

1000bhp Senior

GTI gearbox is running with 4.322 FD, however 4.592 in mivec gearbox.
Btw, might have some offset in speedo meter.
For mivec gb, 5th gear with 80km/h is @ 3000rpm
100km/h is @3600rpm.
Old 07-05-2008, 02:14 PM   #21

100bhp Junior

really depends on what your looking for, mivec gb is not really suitable for daily drive on roads like nkve, but in winding roads of speed range of 50km/h to 80km/h, its really fun.
Old 07-06-2008, 10:07 AM   #22

1000bhp Senior

The purpose of mivec gearbox is to recover mivec engine low end torque.
Not all the engine is suit for this gearbox, u may get the lousy result if ur engine torque is designed at low end.
Btw, definately u will get good respone from aggressive gearbox like what starscream mentioned.
Old 07-16-2008, 12:27 PM   #23

5bhp Kid

my gti, 3000rpm at 100km/h only... stock all
Old 07-17-2008, 10:54 AM   #24

5bhp Kid

Send a message via MSN to cstang2

my gti 5th gear at 3000rpm = 110km/h.........
Old 07-20-2008, 11:15 AM   #25

5bhp Kid

Dear gurus, thx for all your inputs.

As you know, I am driving a wira 4g93 (1.8) DOHC with light flywheel and top overhauled. My rims are currently OZ 15".

I have decided to change to light alloy rims at some point.

Would like to consult on the following:
1. Will my steering feel lighter. My present OZ 15" rims are heavy compared to normal 15" rims. So I was hoping that although I am changing to 16" rims, getting a light alloy one will make the steering lighter.
2. Will using light alloy 16" rims make acceleration better, compared with my previous heavy 15" OZ rims?
3. What are among the better light alloy brands I should be looking for and how much will it cost?

Many thx in advance for your advice and comments.
Old 07-20-2008, 02:23 PM   #26

1000bhp Senior

rim weight actually is very subjective question. Is depand on what u looking for.
If u look for high speed stability, u need to have a set heavy rim to support. However, light weight rim is mainly on pick up, handling respone and late braking etc.
Yes, with the same tyre size, u will feel ur steering lighter if use light weight rim.
This is from my experiance when shift from 8kg rim to 5.3kg rim.

Increase on tyre width size equal to increase road surface contact area.mean that will increase more friction.

Recent all the rims from Taiwan with light weight are show good performance and quality build..of coz, with reasonable price as well

Just remember that Taiwan technology is 1 step beyond from us already.

Just my opinion.
Old 07-22-2008, 09:49 PM   #27

5bhp Kid

Why not supercharge it or turbocharge it?...
Old 07-22-2008, 10:21 PM   #28

5000BHP! Senior

Send a message via MSN to SkYwAlKeR Send a message via Yahoo to SkYwAlKeR

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSR06 View Post
Why not supercharge it or turbocharge it?...
if force induction it, no longer NA lor...
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote