Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network   
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network > Cars > Car Talk > Car Modification

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2008, 07:38 PM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

5bhp Kid

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default MIVEC or GSR for 1.3 Iswara

Hey to all the guys out there.I'm planning to do an engine conversion for my 1.3 iswara.I was thinking of either a GSR or MIVEC.I'm looking for handling and pickup.More interested in playing on mountain roads then straight line.Any ideas and advice? I've heard the prices of the MIVEC and GSR are about either 6-8k.Is it true?And how much would it cost to put it into my iswara?Would it be legal?I know the VR4 is out of the question.P.s I'm only 17 and i just got my license.Planning to save.

Thanks...
Old 06-25-2008, 08:32 PM   #2

1000bhp Senior

Default Re: MIVEC or GSR for 1.3 Iswara

If not mistaken, Iswara chasis only allow upgrade to 1.5 only. :briggin:
Old 06-25-2008, 09:04 PM   #3

50bhp Junior

Send a message via MSN to thesyko Send a message via Skype™ to thesyko

then get a mivec lah. 1.3 to 1.6 can clear jpj still. but 1.3 to 1.8 harder. Sumore GSR engine quite heavy. so not that balanced for ur ride already.

Last edited by thesyko; 06-26-2008 at 10:50 AM.
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 09:44 PM   #4

5bhp Kid

what about a 1.6 mivec?
Old 06-26-2008, 12:57 AM   #5

5000BHP! Senior

Send a message via MSN to SkYwAlKeR Send a message via Yahoo to SkYwAlKeR

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anicide View Post
Hey to all the guys out there.I'm planning to do an engine conversion for my 1.3 iswara.I was thinking of either a GSR or MIVEC.I'm looking for handling and pickup.More interested in playing on mountain roads then straight line.Any ideas and advice? I've heard the prices of the MIVEC and GSR are about either 6-8k.Is it true?And how much would it cost to put it into my iswara?Would it be legal?I know the VR4 is out of the question.P.s I'm only 17 and i just got my license.Planning to save.

Thanks...
handling and pickup... mountain roads....

get mivec... NA engine... instant throttle response... no turbo lag...

vr4 is ALMOST plug and play, but definitely illegal...
mivec and gsr is not plug and play... illegal... but not as extreme as vr4...

in short, both is illegal... unless if have the cash to buy kopi and nescafe...

u are only 17 and jz got ur license... i suggest u to learn and master ur driving skill properly before get urself killed driving those monsterous engine in a sub 1tonne car....

Quote:
what about a 1.6 mivec?
mivec is only 1.6...
Old 06-26-2008, 10:33 AM   #6

100bhp Junior

what skywalker says is very true, many had died in a vr4 saga, and vr4 in a saga is not safe at all in mountain roads. Drag is fine.
Old 06-26-2008, 10:51 AM   #7

50bhp Junior

Send a message via MSN to thesyko Send a message via Skype™ to thesyko

if u still want turbo in a saga, then can get the legendary rare mirage turbo aka 4G61t or the NA version 4G61 NA. But let me warn u, damn hard to get the halfcut now. But 101% plug n play for saga lah.
Old 06-26-2008, 12:34 PM   #8

400bhp Turbo Member

17yrs young. Just got licence. Now wants a MIVEC or GSR transplant to do the mountain touge thing.

Ah well.........Kids and parents these days.

What is it with P-platers ? They are getting dumber and braver at the same time.
Old 06-26-2008, 12:52 PM   #9

5bhp Kid

Thanks for the advice guys.I wasn't thinking of going turbo.Cos if i did I'll be understeering into the barrier.so is it legal or illegal for a 1.6 in a iswara.GSR and VR4 are outta the question.I'm paying for the half-cut all by my lonesome self.Any donations?

Last edited by Anicide; 06-26-2008 at 01:16 PM.
Old 06-27-2008, 04:24 AM   #10

5000BHP! Senior

Send a message via MSN to SkYwAlKeR Send a message via Yahoo to SkYwAlKeR

Quote:
Originally Posted by starscream View Post
what skywalker says is very true, many had died in a vr4 saga, and vr4 in a saga is not safe at all in mountain roads. Drag is fine.
saga iswara chassis has excellent impact zone where it crashes into the passenger cabin area...

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesyko View Post
if u still want turbo in a saga, then can get the legendary rare mirage turbo aka 4G61t or the NA version 4G61 NA. But let me warn u, damn hard to get the halfcut now. But 101% plug n play for saga lah.
nope... it is not 100% plug n play... if u opt for 4g61t gearbox, ur driveshaft wont fit... other issues, if not mistaken 4g61t gearbox uses clutch pump... saga iswara uses clutch cable... other tubing connections such as aircond and power steering need to be rellocated...

correct me if wrong...

Quote:
Originally Posted by FVel View Post
17yrs young. Just got licence. Now wants a MIVEC or GSR transplant to do the mountain touge thing.

Ah well.........Kids and parents these days.

What is it with P-platers ? They are getting dumber and braver at the same time.
P is for performance...

Quote:
Thanks for the advice guys.I wasn't thinking of going turbo.Cos if i did I'll be understeering into the barrier.so is it legal or illegal for a 1.6 in a iswara.GSR and VR4 are outta the question.I'm paying for the half-cut all by my lonesome self.Any donations?
1.6 is legal or illegal in iswara depends on what engine it was...
4g92p is almost legal in iswara if didnt alter the engine mounting points in the chassis....
1.6L b16a vtec engine is not legal in iswara because it is a honda engine and engine mountings need serious modifications...
1.6L 4g61t mirage engine is legal in iswara as engine mounting fits....

anyway it is, once u are grown up, u'll soon understand why jpj are so unpredictable...
Old 06-27-2008, 06:34 AM   #11

5bhp Kid

mivec for your iswara and jpj are not bad too
Old 06-28-2008, 08:03 AM   #12

5bhp Kid

oooh.I see.But thesyko says that a 4g61 would be nearly impossible to find.So what are my options?
Old 06-28-2008, 08:27 AM   #13

500bhp Stage 3 Member

Send a message via ICQ to singchaii Send a message via MSN to singchaii

For me, I will still remained back the 4g13 and modified the engine. sometime modification is much more fun and less harass that transplant. If you want more good in pick up, just add highcam, adj cam pulley, PnP, LCP,, WEBER and at last, change your block into 4g15. With light iswara chasis, 4g15 is enough for it.. My car only equip with 272 pipercam highcam, and I can feel the different and I can play with wira 1.5 during climbing hill and crushing highway... You must remember a thing before you go for the power. First, is the braking and another is handling. While iswara having worst rear suspension as it using independent torsion beam. So you think your self.. After transplant, can you able to handle it nicely?

Last edited by singchaii; 06-28-2008 at 08:31 AM.
Old 06-28-2008, 08:50 AM   #14

1000bhp Senior

see a lot of 4G91 in Iswara chasis, performance is not bad as good power to weight ratio.
Old 06-28-2008, 09:20 AM   #15

150bhp Tuned Member

i've seen lot of iswara oversteer during highspeed cornering...no offence but i thing iswara needs more chasis strengthening works b4 going for touge..correct me if im wrong