Go Back   Zerotohundred.com > Cars > Car Talk > Car Modification

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2008, 03:26 PM   #21
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

100bhp Junior

Trader Ratings: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to Choon

Default Re: Nitrous Express product on Jusco shelf

standard gasoline would have compression ration between 8-12.. 14:1 normally are for HCCI engines, they are the intermediate between gasoline and diesel engine. HCCI (homogeneous charge compression ignition) compresses gasoline-air mixture until it reaches its ignition point, almost similar to diesel. Diesel engine compression ratio ranges from 16:1 to 20+:1 :)
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 07:25 PM   #22

200bhp Stage II Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkYwAlKeR View Post
how much compression ratio needed to feel the difference??...
i dunno lar, but on my bike ,
if my calculation is right,
give or take the head gasket, coz i din measure the thickness the second time when i dissambled it n change to another gasket.
is about 12.5 - 12.8
but i m sure its minimum 12.5
so its always knocking if i m pushing up a hill when the engine is not on the powerband with std petrol

honestly, this NX arr, although i say it works, but arr consider the RM38 per bottle and 1 botol for 1 tank of fuel . . . . .not worth at all using on car lar.
but on kapcai no problem lar, 1 botol will last me long time coz i oni put 4ml per tank.
so 4ml to 4 liter tank is 1:1000 ratio, already enough to eliminate all the knocking

wat jinkl said is true, the problem with over tuned engines with too high compression oni most of the time happen when u suddenly have to drive up a hill. Ur engine dun ping on flat road, but once going up a hill, the extra load will make it ping.
So our normal safe comp ratio around 7 to 11:1 is because the engine will not ping even when the engine load becomes much higher, to be on safe side.
I discussing the problem in general oni lar, leaving out the boring details lar.

So u see some cars nowadays tat runs at 13-14:1 comp ratios, these cars are fitted with knock sensors.
When on normal flat road its no problem wan, no knocking
Oni when suddenly got higher engine load (i.e. going up a very steep hill), den the knock sensor will retard the ignition timing.
This will give advantage in getting better fuel mileage without having to conform to the usual 7 to 11:1 ratio.

I tink all cars shud have this kind of veli high compression ratio + knock sensor configuration lar, rather than putting the fancy vtec n vvt n mivec's system into cars.
higher comp give much more advantages in terms of power n fuel saving.

I was even told by my fren, there was once that SAAB made a car with variable compression ratio engine. It cud change its combustion volume. Interesting things engineers can do.

i dunno y direct injection system r not used on gasoline cars . . . .anyone can discuss y ?
Old 06-26-2008, 08:29 PM   #23

300bhp Nitrous Member

Send a message via Yahoo to papagoines Send a message via Skype™ to papagoines

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarroTT View Post
i dunno y direct injection system r not used on gasoline cars . . . .anyone can discuss y ?
VW got it.. FSI am I correct?
Old 06-26-2008, 09:51 PM   #24

100bhp Junior

Send a message via Yahoo to Choon

got ad direct injection, they call it GDI, gasoline direct injection.. i think mitsu is the pioneer..
Old 06-27-2008, 12:50 AM   #25

200bhp Stage II Member

but dunno y its not widely used

probabli i dunno the mechanism behind direct injection well enough to understand y its not well suited for gasoline cars . . . .
Old 06-27-2008, 09:30 AM   #26

300bhp Nitrous Member

Send a message via Yahoo to papagoines Send a message via Skype™ to papagoines

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkl View Post
actually octane booster is jst a marketing strategy , google up :) u will find out that , octane boosters only have a few percent of t*ul*ne , haha
tht is the main igredient of home brewed race fuel , even 10% of xylene will boost up ur octane from 97 to 99 :) ada berani pakai ? hahahaha

* remember guys, TUNE , TUNEEEE ur car with it , dont simply put in and whack to get best output
found one...

http://volvospeed.com/Reviews/octane_boosters.html

yup, better spend the money on maintenance and tuning...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Choon View Post
got ad direct injection, they call it GDI, gasoline direct injection.. i think mitsu is the pioneer..
yeah.... forgot to mention... here's the resource for more reading
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_direct_injection