Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network   
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Go Back   Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network > Cars > Car Talk > Car Modification

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2008, 02:26 AM   #1
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

200bhp Stage II Member

Trader Ratings: (0)

Default how does hi cam work?

any expertist can brief me why people use hi cam to increase speed? how does it work? what are different with normal cam?
Old 05-29-2008, 02:41 AM   #2

250bhp Stage II Member

Send a message via MSN to boosook

Default Re: how does hi cam work?

its very technical, try reading "how engine works" first at www.howstuffworks.com

for high cam or performance cam, the degree of the "water drop shaped" thingy the moves the valves at the camshaft is different from stock. different degree gives different loop time. longer open loop time will give u more air thus more fuel is mixed thus better combustion = better power.

correct me if im wrong.
Old 05-29-2008, 03:14 AM   #3

2000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDRA View Post
any expertist can brief me why people use hi cam to increase speed? how does it work? what are different with normal cam?
Hi cam are cams that are mounted at hi altitude to snap hi quality images.. They serve to increase speed by using the most advance.... Just listen to boosook.

Last edited by najibkl; 04-02-2008 at 08:44 PM. Reason: Deleted
My SignatureDisplay Signature Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 10:55 AM   #4

5bhp Kid

Quote:
Originally Posted by boosook View Post
its very technical, try reading "how engine works" first at www.howstuffworks.com

for high cam or performance cam, the degree of the "water drop shaped" thingy the moves the valves at the camshaft is different from stock. different degree gives different loop time. longer open loop time will give u more air thus more fuel is mixed thus better combustion = better power.

correct me if im wrong.
"water drop shaped" - the word you are looking for is "cam profile". High cam is where the cam profile loop is bigger to provide more valve lift, and the cam profile curvature is smaller to provide longer time for valve lift (for more air intake or more exhaust out)
Old 05-29-2008, 10:56 AM   #5

5bhp Kid

Quote:
Originally Posted by boosook View Post

correct me if im wrong.
"water drop shaped" - the word you are looking for is "cam profile". High cam is where the cam profile loop is bigger to provide more valve lift, and the cam profile curvature is smaller to provide longer time for valve lift (for more air intake or more exhaust out)

cheers!
Old 05-29-2008, 10:27 PM   #6

2000bhp Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrus View Post
Hi cam are cams that are mounted at hi altitude to snap hi quality images.. They serve to increase speed by using the most advance.... Just listen to boosook.
u made my day.. LOL!
Old 06-04-2008, 03:44 PM   #7

5000BHP! Senior

Send a message via MSN to SkYwAlKeR Send a message via Yahoo to SkYwAlKeR

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrus View Post
sifoo.......
Old 06-22-2008, 11:43 PM   #8

5bhp Kid

Hi,if i change to hi cam...do i need to install piggyback/safc as well?
Old 06-23-2008, 12:36 AM   #9

500bhp Stage 3 Member

Send a message via MSN to clanzkiller

is an option for u...because piggyback/standalone is an ecu which mean to manage your engine...

is better to install if u got the cash...
a safc wlil do
Old 06-23-2008, 01:38 AM   #10

100bhp Junior

Send a message via Yahoo to Choon

Quote:
Originally Posted by retrofit1 View Post
Hi,if i change to hi cam...do i need to install piggyback/safc as well?
anyway, hi cam will exert more stress to your valves because of the more sharp curvature on the cam profile, which might shorten the life of the stock valves.. correct, sifu sekalian?

and now gasoline price went up ad, dun use high cam lo.. use more fuel oni.. haha
Old 06-23-2008, 02:28 AM   #11

5000BHP! Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Choon View Post
anyway, hi cam will exert more stress to your valves because of the more sharp curvature on the cam profile, which might shorten the life of the stock valves.. correct, sifu sekalian?

and now gasoline price went up ad, dun use high cam lo.. use more fuel oni.. haha

nope... valves are not wear n tear item... sharp curvature of the cam lobe means higher lift on valves to allow more air/fuel to go thru....

camshaft with high lift recommended to upgrade stiffer valve spring... stiffer valve spring allows valve to go up and down fast and precise so ur piston wont hit ur valve...
Old 06-23-2008, 03:40 AM   #12

100bhp Junior

Send a message via Yahoo to Choon

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkYwAlKeR View Post
nope... valves are not wear n tear item... sharp curvature of the cam lobe means higher lift on valves to allow more air/fuel to go thru....

camshaft with high lift recommended to upgrade stiffer valve spring... stiffer valve spring allows valve to go up and down fast and precise so ur piston wont hit ur valve...
no ah? i tot i read it somewhere.. when i found the info then i paste back here la.. ahha
Old 06-23-2008, 12:24 PM   #13

5bhp Kid

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkYwAlKeR View Post

sifu sky,i'm using 4g13p...satria mmc batch.i plan to install hicam to increase torque.what duration do you suggest? do i have to change the valve spring as well.how much ar?
Old 06-24-2008, 03:46 AM   #14

5000BHP! Senior

Quote:
Originally Posted by retrofit1 View Post
sifu sky,i'm using 4g13p...satria mmc batch.i plan to install hicam to increase torque.what duration do you suggest? do i have to change the valve spring as well.how much ar?

the normal one, 272 degree would be suitable... reasonable power increase but with minimal (not none) effect on low end and driveability... get it tuned properly and it will perform...

as for valve spring... i'm heard some sifoo using standard valve spring on 292 cams no problem... while the other sifoo using 272 cams on standard valve spring KO'ed....

so, i guess it fairly depends on the condition of ur valve springs... if ur duration and lift of ur highcam is alot and often high revs, it is recommended to upgrade to stiffer valve springs...

my 2 cents...
Old 06-24-2008, 01:27 PM   #15

200bhp Stage II Member

the "hi" on the hi cam usually refers to the "lift" that the cam exert to make the valves move down n up.

a hi cam will make ur valve being pushed down lower to open wider , thus giving less resistance to flow.

the peak of the loob are higher for a hi cam, not neccesarily wider or fatter.
Just to make the valves open wider.

being specific on the term "hi" oni

duration and position of cam is more usual to be described by "long" or "length" and "degree"