Welcome!
to Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network. You are currently an unregistered guest. Why not join Malaysia's largest automotive community? Get your own Member's Profile which immediately grants you access to post topics, classifieds, communicate privately with other members, upload content, find friends and more!
Registration also removes this welcome screen permanently.
the "hi" on the hi cam usually refers to the "lift" that the cam exert to make the valves move down n up.
a hi cam will make ur valve being pushed down lower to open wider , thus giving less resistance to flow.
the peak of the loob are higher for a hi cam, not neccesarily wider or fatter.
Just to make the valves open wider.
being specific on the term "hi" oni
duration and position of cam is more usual to be described by "long" or "length" and "degree"
That's y i tot hi cams will exert more force to your valve.. cause the profile is more sudden.. sharper peak and the curvature more curved.. if you get wat i mean..
all sort of cute names to make it interesting to potential buyers lor
Quote:
Originally Posted by Choon
That's y i tot hi cams will exert more force to your valve.. cause the profile is more sudden.. sharper peak and the curvature more curved.. if you get wat i mean..
thats why u need stiffer valve spring...
Quote:
Originally Posted by retrofit1
What degree will give most good pickup increase?
272 will be reasonable for street use while giving u reasonable driveability....
but if u are those gets vr irritated even ur dashboard vibrate 0.001 scala richter, den dont use highcams....
Quote:
Originally Posted by YuHaNiSa
camshaft more overlap more power,lift hi to open valve more take air and fuel
yeap.... high valve lift allows more air/fuel to enter... longer durations allows air/fuel to be delivered at a longer duration...
both increases power output...
Quote:
Originally Posted by retrofit1
Hi, what i understand is if the duration is high,say 272 above is good for higher rpm or top speed not for pickup right?
depends on what engine u using... if u using those common ones such as evo and so on, stiffer valve springs usually available from performance firm such as HKS and so on...
if u using proton, most prolly u can get from RPW....
Hi, what i understand is if the duration is high,say 272 above is good for higher rpm or top speed not for pickup right?
depends on ur gear ratio (how big ur final drive is) and ur launching rpm (depends on traction - tyres).
if ur gear ratio teruk, n cant launch at hi rpm (as what sky said) then of course 272 n above are lousy. but most of draggers chose very high lift cams, and their pickup are simply out of this world...